So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was fine, but completely unremarkable, and I don’t have much to say about it. I did laundry? That needed to be done, so, good. I had macaroni and cheese for lunch and it was tasty? Things are just thrill-a-minute over here, guys.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    Work is crazy and it’s been snowing really hard all day. I’m supposed to go see the whole cast of the upcoming season of Drag Race perform tonight but I’m probably going to end up skipping it because it looks like I’m probably going to have to stay at least an hour late at work and the weather is too disgusting. The only thing getting me through right now is a fantasy of going back to my apartment, putting on cozy pajamas, eating a tater tot pizza and drinking hot chocolate cocktails. It seems meant to be really because I bought whipped cream flavored vodka yesterday! But on the other hand I want to see the new queens and judge them before the season starts! Decisions!

    • mikaelajm says:

      I desperately need to know more about “tater tot pizza.”

      • catweazle says:

        A bar near where I used to live served them. It was basically just a personal pizza with a few tater tots on top but it was risky to order them because sometimes they wouldn’t do a great job of cooking the tots and you would get an ice cold bite which was very bad.

        I now make them myself using frozen mini-pizzas (DiGiorno gets the best results) and frozen tater tots. It takes like 30 minutes in the oven and while I miss the true deep-fried tot flavor it’s still very good.

  2. hotspur says:

    I did laundry on Sunday and hated it. But I’d put it off for so long that I was down to the underwear that is so tight it makes me queasy. I can’t use the machine in the basement of my apartment building because there are fleas in the basement, so I gotta carry everything around the corner to a laundromat. That makes laundry a 2-hour hole in my day, 3 if there’s sheets and towels. Years ago I lived in a house that had its own machine and I could put in a load and then accomplish other stuff. Needing socks did not bring my world to a halt. Okay, that’s enough complaining, what am I, Barbara Ehrenreich? Anyway it sucks.

    • I don’t mind the laundromat because then laundry is done in less time, even if I do have go back and forth a lot (I am fortunate to have a ‘mat a block away so I can go home while things run). With only one machine in my old apartment’s basement it meant spending 3-4 hours doing it. I do miss in-unit, though.

    • Commentatrix says:

      Solid Barb Ehrenreich joke!

  3. I’ve managed to wake up and exercise two days in a row! Very proud of me. It helps me get out any weird stress I have (hi, ex-bf drama).

    It’s snowing a fair bit right now, but doesn’t seem to be sticking. I’m still dreading my commute home. Today is pretty alright, lots of work to do but I like doing it. My clients for this project are pretty awesome so far, which is pretty big because I’m in a business where your client basically determines your happiness for however long the project is. Pain in the ass client= stressed, angry, tired. Good client= still stressed (but not as much), motivated, satisfied.

    Otherwise there’s trivia and bed to look forward to.

    • martinmegz says:

      What’s the drama???? I have almost a whole week until the next episode of The Bachelor so I would love to hear your stories.

      • I’m still talking to a few of his friends, one in particular I’ve hung out with a few times. He’s trying to be good about not mentioning the ex. On Monday, though, he texted me “don’t hook up with [ex] if he contacts you.” After a little back and forth he told me that ex got fired that day, so I shouldn’t “pity bang” him. I then admitted to the friend that I had stalked ex’s twitter and he’s totally dating someone (or has gone on a date or two), so ex would probably not be contacting me. Friend didn’t know that and immediately felt bad.

        But of course, now I’m dying to know all the dirty details of: why ex got fired AND why his friend felt the need to warn me about things. And of course, neither piece of information will make me feel good. So instead, I bike out my frustration.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Nice work on working out!
      I’m in the same boat where I’ve been doing it and it really does make me feel great!
      It’s like a shower – I never want to do it, but I’m always glad I did!

  4. mikaelajm says:

    Today is my day full of meetings, and in between I just feel restless and unproductive. I think I’ve had Indian food for lunch every day this week. I’ve been listening to the Hamilton soundtrack obsessively and don’t know what took me so long. It’s very windy outside today. The end.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I have the day off, which is great because the weather is snowy.

    I’m going to cut my own hair today – wish me luck.

    In other exciting news, I plan to pay some bills and vacuum the house.

    • old man fatima says:

      I always cut my own hair, it’s a piece of cake. Except that time I cut bangs, but they’re coming in nicely now. Cutting your own hair is the tits!

  6. Sota says:

    My week is going great! Basically I am the heart eye emoji walking around in human form this week. Don’t try to get me to do work or anything but stare off dreamily into space okay?

  7. flanny says:

    A winter weather warning started this morning at 10am, and I was heading into work late, leaving my apartment at 10am, so I though I’d be fine. Nope! The snow started at, like, 7:30 and by ten the roads were already gross. So I got to the office just in time to join a telephone interview, and then I left the interview early and ran a meeting for graduating seniors and THEN went to the black history month speaker. It was snowing so steadily the whole time I was at work, so i left work at 3 and got home after 4. My commute usually is about 40 minutes. So now I’m hunkered down for the night (and probably tomorrow morning).

    Yesterday, knowing that HDTGM was featuring it in their next episode, I watched Teen Witch. Like Small Wonder, somehow this movie 100% missed me and I hadn’t even heard about it until a few years ago. Guys, I didn’t enjoy it at all! Not even ironically. I didn’t even hate-watch it. I just hated it. Am I a joyless monster???

    • catweazle says:

      It’s really only worth watching for this part:

    • martinmegz says:

      I thought HDTGM was supposed to be HTGAWM and was extra confused for a few seconds

    • old man fatima says:

      I’ve been catching up on old episodes. I laughed out loud the entire way home on public transport like a straight up crazy person listening to the Con Air one.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I can’t wait to watch it with Mr. Truck. I loved this movie when I was the appropriate age for it and watched it awhile ago for some reason and was totally (not at all) surprised when it didn’t hit that nostalgia spot of “oh it’s bad, but it’s cute how bad it was and how oblivious I was to the badness back then” the way Hackers did.

  8. I was very busy all day but it was kind of strange. I heard that my promotion has been approved but won’t go through until March which is great but two of my bosses made a point to tell me that it means I’ll be working longer hours and expected to answer emails on nights and weekends which is a thing I already do. Just strange they would make a point of mentioning it like “here’s your promotion, but remember that we own you now!!!”
    For the record I’m in no way complaining and this promotion is long overdue, but sometimes people are so weird!

    • flanny says:

      Congrats!! Will this solve some of the work annoyances you’ve been having?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I really hope so! Part of it was that my boss made a point to say that he’s going to try to do better and I appreciate that but only time will tell.

  9. Commentatrix says:

    My day really has been thrill-a-minute! The good: my project is gaining a lot of traction and the response has been very positive so far. The bad: doing well also means being extremely busy and having to work late hours, boo. Also, let me tell you guys about my new desk neighbor, who is the worst.

    First off, my very first impression of the guy was comprised of getting to work only to find his backpack on my chair and a bunch of his shit strewn about my desk. I was all, “Hello…” and he was all, [30-year-smoker’s-voice-plus-movie-villain-accent]: “Sorry, I tend to spread out wherever I go.” LOL NOT A REAL APOLOGY MISTER.

    THEN, he not only turned out to be a super heavy breather (at one point he yawned and I literally felt it in my bones), but he also kept his phone on not-silent the entire day, and I swear to God he got a notification every 20 minutes at a super loud volume. Like, dude, 10-15 of us are sharing this relatively small space, show some consideration?

    AND THEN. At one point I was looking for this printout of the office map because I needed to get somewhere new, and I couldn’t find it even though it’s always on my desk. And you guessed it! Not only did homeboy take my map, but HE HAD SCRIBBLED A NOTE ON THE BACK. Because I am deficient and a non-confrontational moron, I asked him, “Do you need this?” to which he made a dismissive hand gesture as if to say, “Nah,” without even so much as an insincere apology. WOW AMIRITE?

    Obviously, this is small potatoes and I know it shouldn’t anger me, and it doesn’t really, but I’m just like, idk, BOUNDARIES, you know? I think my commute just saps me dry of whatever small amount of patience I start the day out with, so by the time I get to work, my levels are pretty much in the red zone.

    But overall, yeah, life is grand!

Comments are closed.