It’s Project Club Time!

Here’s the link to last week’s post. I went to the grocery store and worked out, and I cleaned the apartment but did NOT vacuum, which I have no excuse for. That’s on the list for this week.

I also didn’t write any words, and my revised long-term project goal is to figure out exactly what I want this novel to be and to make an actual plan and outline, because my usual strategy of just winging it is shockingly not proving to be very effective. I’ve always struggled with having too many ideas at once, and that makes it way too easy to convince myself that whichever one I’m working on at the time is no good and I should give up and start another, which is why my drafts folder is full of half-finished nonsense.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. mordonez says:

    I made some headway with extracting the horn parts from a full score into a more a readable chart for Steely Dan’s “My Old School”, with the goal of playing piano and horn parts simultaneously. Still needs some cleanup work though, which will be time consuming.

    Nailed down a couple of loose ends for the piano/keyboard parts in Spoon’s “The Way we Get By” and Split Enz “Message to my Girl”. Other than that, not much–I read most of the book for the book club we’re hosting next week, but I’ve been distracted with my dad in the hospital after some medium serious surgery (he is recovering but cranky, and wants out of the hospital).

    Unlike one of the guitar players in my band, I did NOT just receive a doctorate in theoretical chemistry for some dissertation called (really)

    “Pseudospectral Sampling of Time-dependent Gaussians for Quantum Molecular Dynamics”

  2. nastyemu says:

    My top priorities for 2016 have been
    1) to be healthier and
    2) get a new job.
    I’ve been eating really well and working out almost every day since early November. I’ve lost 20lbs and really don’t miss all the junk food I used to eat. Still miss the beer though.

    My job is dreadful. There are no projects on the horizon of any interest at all to me, and there is no room for advancement. It is easy though, so that’s something. I had an interview last week for a job I was very excited about. The interview went well and they scheduled me to come back in this morning for another one. They emailed me early this morning cancelling the 2nd interview because they had already offered the job to someone else. I had taken the day off so I grabbed a beer and went to see Deadpool. No workout today.

    • flanny says:

      Boooo, that fucking sucks.

    • Ugh, perfect jobs that disappoint are the worst. I thought I was going to get an interview for basically my dream job a few weeks ago and it didn’t work out and it still really smarts. I feel for you. Beer and Deadpool seems like a decent wallowing choice though.

      • nastyemu says:

        It wasn’t even perfect or a “dream job” or anything, which kind of makes this more depressing. Just a company with a good structure that understands how important IT is and budgets and invests accordingly. I’m actually longing for the days I worked in banking and health care.

  3. flanny says:

    Well, I didn’t have another stress dream about work, but I did cry in frustration a lot upon returning home one night. Is this a win? I don’t know. I think I’ve effectively cut myself off from emotion about that project, which is a bummer because in theory it’s my favorite. It’s just a lot of work and a lot of moving parts I have no control over and a lot of time.

    I’m fake taking the day off tomorrow (I’m going in to get a couple things done at the office, since we had a snow day today but I’m going to wear jeans and stay for, like, forty minutes), but this long weekend I’m going to give sourdough a second try. The starter is fermenting away on my counter top. I’ll probably give it a couple more nights to recover from being in the fridge, and then let it proof on Saturday and bake it on Sunday. I’m excited!

  4. I’ve started a new thing that’s sort of an easy version of journaling. I’m calling it my “What did you do today and how did you feel” notebook. I’ve only done it two days, but I’ve been bulleting out some of the big things that happened throughout the day and then drawing a face emoticon next to each one (smiling, sad, angry). I always fail at journaling, but I figure this might be a nice exercise in being more aware of big/small wins and big/small frustrations.

    Otherwise, I haven’t been to the print studio. I did half-clean my storage room and put a shelf in, but there’s still a lot of clutter. I really need to purge more stuff!

  5. catweazle says:

    I failed on all fronts this week but I give myself a pass because work has been crazy. My new short term project is to not completely bomb at my show tomorrow and I feel moderately confident that I will succeed, though others in my class almost certainly won’t (all T all shade to the people in question; we’re only playing six songs for g’s sake!).

    I also have to clean my apartment this weekend because I’m having my family over for the Oscars and the cleaning has to include vacuuming and mopping the kitchen floor because the baby might be coming. There is no better motivator than a baby!

    I’m revising my music goal since I officially gave up on the RPM Challenge to avoid driving myself insane with shame and guilt but I did end up writing a substantial enough amount of material that I do want to make it into an honest-to-g album so my new long term project is to keep working on it and use the lack of a deadline not as an excuse to be lazy but an opportunity to actually focus on making it sound good.

    • mordonez says:

      See you there–we’re on right after you. Monsters, you could come out and see TWO of your own perform if you want.

      • catweazle says:

        We’re kind of a disaster this session so don’t judge us too harshly. Usually we’re pretty ok but too many people missed too many classes this time and nobody knows what they’re doing. Should be an entertaining trainwreck!

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My decision about asking to be on a specific team was sort of made for me and I don’t officially know what it is, but I have a very strong suspicion that it’s the worst of both worlds (I was considering asking to be either on one project or under a new boss and I think what’s going to happen is that I’ll stay with my boss on the project I’m less qualified for/interested in). My boss has promised to be less annoying and I’m trying very hard to look at the positive of the other project, and nothing is official, this is just based on my gut, but it’s still a little bit of a bummer.
    I said that I would schedule/plan some non-baby time with a girlfriend or by myself and I have yet to do that so that will carry over for next week.
    I have continued to lose weight kind of slowly (in fact I may have gained a pound or two as a result of my birthday weekend followed by my mom’s being in town) and that issue is sort of next to the issue where I don’t have clothes that I like and that I feel comfortable or look good in. Basically I would like to be losing weight much more quickly because I don’t want to buy a bunch of clothes that fit now if they won’t fit in the future and also I just don’t have that many clothes in my current size (and the ones I do have don’t look great because I’m bigger than I’d like to be). All that just to say that I think I’m going to suck it up and spend a little money for clothes even if I (hopefully) don’t fit into them in a month or two.
    My original goal was to get down to my pre-baby weight by the kid’s first birthday and I’m on track for that (I have a month left and 6 (ish) lbs to go) so I don’t want to be too hard on myself, but it’s annoying to get up an hour early 5 days a week and limit if I’m not getting very quick results.

    More short term projects:
    Pick some images to have printed for some frames we bought for the upstairs
    Get a little more serious about making decorations for the kid’s first birthday
    Pick what I’m going to spend my yearly bonus on (last year I didn’t decide and it just got lumped into our general monthly income and that’s kind of sad.)
    Longer term:
    pick a closet organization plan
    get rid of a bunch of shoes/clothes.

  7. old man fatima says:

    We were maniacs this weekend! We put down a new kitchen floor and spray painted and installed a new chandelier. We also did some painting and put up some trim and baseboards. And, which watching my historical farm show I was inspired to make a rag rug from old sheets. It looked huge when I was making it, but here you can see that it is barely big enough for Mycroft, a small cat, to sit upon!

    Next weekend we’re going to do the patching and priming and paint the ceilings, the following weekend we’ll paint the walls and do the rest of the trim and then do a big clean AND THEN WE ARE DONE THIS BONKERS FRENZY OF ACTIVITY!! Actually, and then we’ll need to start purging and packing to get ready for the move in May.

  8. I have not done any writing in the last week, which is my main goal. Work has been very boring and tedious and I feel like I’m in that “back from vacation and don’t want to do things” mode that means I get home and immediatly turn on the TV and crawl into bed instead of doing life things. I also have not been to the gym all week.

    My goals right now are to finish my pilot by March 1st ( I know I put this every week but eventually it has to happen…right?) and also to go to the gym at least 5 times.

  9. mikaelajm says:

    I haven’t made much progress on any of my goals (though not zero), but I’m posting mostly to hold myself accountable for an ongoing small project that’s driving me bonkers: getting the correct prescriptions to the correct pharmacy (my insurance changed this year). By next Thursday, I will have that done, by golly!

    That 10K may have to run itself, though.

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I have not completed any of the list that I have been posting here since we started this project club.

    I made a list on Sunday of everything I have to do, which had 45 items on it. Some are small, like paying the cable bill. Some are more time consuming, such as completing an event logo or launching our new website for work. So far, I have done 14 items, and by Sunday, should be able to finish at least 10 more.

    And I still have not gone to the bank. 😦

Comments are closed.