Unnecessary Movie Assignment #19: Operation Mistake Binge!

We assigned Emily Rose on January 13 and posted the review on February 23. That means we got our response time down from half a year to 6 weeks. Pretty good! But not great if there’s an emergency.

That’s why this time we’re going to try a new system, called Operation Mistake Binge. I think you will find it slightly self-serving! The way it works is, I’m going to crack open one of my box sets and watch every movie in a single franchise. This will lead to more movies faster BUT shorter reviews of each. I think. I really have not thought this through at all. We’re going to be flying blind on a rocket cycle, as they say.

What box sets are in the mix, you wonder? Well, there’s the Godzilla box set. There’s the James Bond box set — in fact, it is on my bucket list to review, in order, all the James Bonds for you (I have the stupidest bucket list). But what I’m going to start with is the Universal Horror box set I bought in January 2015 because it was 67% off and I had an Amazon gift card. It has all the “classic” Mummy movies! All the Frankensteins. All the Creature From the Black Lagoons… And what I’m going to Mistake-Binge is the Dracula franchise. I’m just finishing up reading the Bram Stoker book, so I am down to subject myself to this.

I will start with Dracula (1931), then get on Dracula’s Daughter, then maybe tolerate Son of Dracula, and finally drag myself through House of Dracula. Basically all the Bela Lugosi originals. That already is probably too much Dracula, so I might not continue into the “crossovers” like House of Frankenstein (featuring Dracula). But who knows! Remember: Flying blind. Rocket cycle.

And together, we will turn March into Dracula Month!

I feel bad about doing this to you but let’s be honest, you weren’t going to pick better stuff. So please, in the comments, invent more Dracula titles for me to watch, such as Sisterwife of Dracula and Toolshed of Dracula. Then when I am near defeat, I will have your titles to comfort me with thoughts of how much better or worse it could be.

About hotspur

hotspur is the videogum name of Luke Rooney, who usually makes the Kessel Run in 17 or 18 parsecs because, like, what is the rush? We will get to Kessel when we get to Kessel, just sit down and enjoy the run for chrissakes.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Unnecessary Movie Assignment #19: Operation Mistake Binge!

  1. Sota says:

    This will probably be a welcome palate cleanser from the rest of those Draculas.

  2. nastyemu says:

    Look Who’s Dracula-ing Too

  3. mordonez says:

    Scream, Blacula, Scream, largely about the growing likelihood that an orange haired freakazoid racist demagogue will become the presidential nominee of a major party.

  4. flanny says:

    Dracula’s Kitten–it’s about a vampire gorilla who speaks in sign language and has a kitten. It’s very very heartwarming.

    We’re digging out from a foot or so of heavy, wet snow this morning, and I saw a firetruck get stuck in the parking lot of my apartment complex. Also not great if there’s an emergency!

  5. catweazle says:

    Red Fang: In which Dracula adopts a wolf puppy

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    2Drac2la

  7. Sota says:

    Drac Biggalo: Undead Giggalo

  8. Sota says:

    Dracula Wars: Episode 1 The Phantom Reflection

    (I googled…apparently Dracula doesn’t have a shadow or a reflection in a mirror. I never knew.)

  9. Please include Dracula 3000 on your list. It was (might be still) on Netflix! If not, I will gladly pay the $0.01 (plus shipping) to send this masterpiece to you.

  10. martinmegz says:

    I don’t know why you’re doing this to yourself but selfishly I’m thrilled about it because #entertainment

Comments are closed.