My Not So Glamorous But Very White Recap Of The 88th Academy Awards

The mother of all entertainment awards graced our TV presence last night.  With the emphasis on the #OscarsSoWhite controversy, show MC Chris Rock focused most of his material on diversity in Hollywood.  I felt that while many of his points were valid, the joke-telling was hit or miss.  That being said, he was a serviceable host.  He didn’t start off so hot, but after hitting rock bottom, he regained his footing and somewhat made up for it.  Ultimately it was just an okay show (at best) that honored what IMO were a crop of merely good movies.  However, it’s still the best award show I have seen this year.  This is how low our standards have become.

Here are more of my thoughts:

  • New to the awards: presenter fun facts for people who never heard of IMDB
  • Also new to the ceremony: the Thanks ticker.   This gives winners a chance to make sure they thanks everyone in their lives, and give them time to make that magical shining Oscar moment

  • Apparently Mad Max: Fury Road was a good looking movie.  Some people didn’t care, though.
  • I’m happy our good friend Andy Serkis got his time to shine.
  • C-3PO’s arm wasn’t red, meaning this ceremony was non-canonical (though an exception can be made for Jacon Trenblay’s reaction).
  • It’s been 20 years since the debut of Toy Story?!

  • Confessiongum: I thought Inside Out was overrated.
  • Mark Rylance just screwed over everyone’s Oscar pool (assuming Oscar pools were/are/will be a thing)
  • Thanks for the comedic boost, Louis.
  • Just a great way to introduce a movie about a woman who was kidnapped and sexually abused for almost a decade.
  • To think that could have been Thom Yorke winning that Oscar.  Also, I don’t know much about Oscar history, but something tells me other gay individuals had won one before.
  • OUR LONG NATIONAL NIGHTMARE IS OVER

  • Spotlight wins.  Cookies are devoured.

What did you guys think?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Movies, TV and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to My Not So Glamorous But Very White Recap Of The 88th Academy Awards

  1. flanny says:

    Guys, I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I enjoyed this year’s Oscars more than I have in a while. Yesterday also emphasized to me something I’d noticed when watching other awards shows: it really does help when they show clips of the movie they’re talking about. I laughed a lot at Chris Rock, and I went into the evening with no opinion on Kevin Hart and now I want to watch Chris Rock and Kevin Hart all the time. What a smile that Kevin Hart has! I might have had three glasses of wine before watching the show.

    My very favorite part, though, was when Tina Fey said, “That thing where a bear lives.” I laughed very hard and typed it into the notepad on my phone so I can always remember it.

    BB8 for Oscars 2017 host!!!

  2. Nope, I am going to politely disagree. INSIDE OUT WAS THE BEST. It made me cry all the cries.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I enjoyed the story very much, and it was great voice acting all around, but I did not like the animation style of the feelings characters. I don’t think I saw any of the others in the category, so I don’t have an opinion on whether or not it deserved the Oscar. I did really like the acceptance speech of the guys who won for Inside Out.

  3. I did not watch the Oscars, but I did order Fury Road on Amazon Now because the dish soap I needed (but was too lazy to leave the house to buy) was only $4 and I needed $11 more to hit the minimum.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I only watched the first half (first third maybe? 2 hours)
    Agreed about Louis. Agreed about Inside Out!!!
    I thought all the stuff Chris Rock did about the oscarssowhite was really good (especially loved Tracy Morgan as the Danish girl!!!) but I was really bummed out that there wasn’t ANYTHING about other minorities! Add to that, I was super bummed out that he said that only asking women what they’re wearing isn’t sexist! The joke was that you don’t ask men what they’re wearing because they’re all wearing the same thing, but saying that it’s not sexist totally misses the big picture and systemic issues around focusing on how girls and women look above all else. I haven’t seen anyone else talk about this and I find it really surprising amidst all of this equal pay/women & minorities in hollywood stuff! He also said that men and women should compete in the same acting categories because there’s no physical disadvantage for women (compared to women’s vs men’s sports) which may technically be true but also parts for women are completely different and significantly harder to come by. It’s like he said: Leo gets a great role every year.
    It was just strange to see him take such a hard line when we’re all getting screwed here.

  5. mikaelajm says:

    I’m glad you included that last screencap, because one of my favorite moments was that guy on the right just CHOWING DOWN on a Girl Scout cookie, no shame, no attention to the cameras. I also loved that Chris Rock ended with “Black Lives Matter,” and the juxtaposition of his poignant final comment with that dude chomping on a cookie was perfect.

  6. Sota says:


    The thoughts on Mad Max Fury Road were VERY mixed at the party I was at. My brother and I saw it in the theater and loved it. A few other friends did not like it AT all. I think that can be chalked up to bad viewing on an airplane…but its not the kind of movie for everyone.

    I am THRILLED for my boyfriend Leo. I will pretend that he won for Aviator instead of this, but everything he does is fantastic…so win.

    Basically the rest of the party I spent playing with my cousin’s kid, who is just the cutest kid. The only time he payed attention to the tv was when BB8 came out…he stood and pointed at him and said “BB8! BB8!” which was just GOSH DARN ADORABLE.

    • FRQ says:

      I’ve experienced a lot of that with Mad Max, as well. Like you said, I think it’s mostly the case of “not being one’s thing”, but that doesn’t make it a bad movie.

      • Sota says:

        Agreed 100%. I was the happiest that it won for costumes and production design. Those awesome car designs were CERTAINLY worth every single award.

        • flanny says:

          Can we talk about the lady who won for costume design? Her studded leather jacket and scarf? I love her. And she won for a Room with A View, which is 100% the opposite kind of costume! The coolest!

        • Sota says:

          I thought she was awesome too! Did you see there is a thing going around about all the men who werent clapping for her? Not cool dudes.

    • flanny says:

      I did the same thing with BB8. Love that little guy!

    • hotspur says:

      Huh. I never met anyone who disliked Fury Road, but I do think it needs the big screen (Gravity had a similar big screen thing maybe — people who saw it in the theater were blown away, people who saw it at home noticed lots of story flaws). I can’t even guess what the criticism of Fury Road would be, though. I mean it is a perfect movie of its kind, so you’d have to really hate its kind. Even then, it transcends its kind with great characters and world-building. And from a purely technical standpoint — to have so many moving parts and track them all so well… It’s objectively solid-to-great. I would have been pleased to see it win best director. (I didn’t see Revenant, tho.)

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    There’s a joke here about how Leo couldn’t win with Scorsese and he finally won under a different director, who won twice in a row, but I’m just not able to make it.
    Isn’t it weird, I guess?

  8. Sota says:

    This was a fantastic moment too…Tom Hooper just raising his hand. Im right here!

  9. artdorkgirl says:

    I was very excited that the few movies I chose to see last year all won (Mad Max, Amy, Son of Saul) but Sam Smith…kid…calm yourself. That was not a good song. I also enjoyed seeing celebrities eat Girl Scout cookies and share them with each other.

    I thought Chris Rock did ok? But did it seem like the people actually running the show had no idea what was going on? There were so many weird “pan to..oh…nothing I guess” or “we’re having a problem with diversity, let’s not let women or minorities make their points”. C, Oscars. Just a C.

  10. flanny says:

    Can we also do Gabe a solid (sort of) and discuss Frida Pinto’s former co-star Dev Patel? Wowza. Dude’s looking good.

    • Sota says:

      He looked awesome! Also…Jason Segel looked surprisingly great last night too!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I just saw him in a movie called The Road Within about a young man with Tourette’s who takes a road trip with a guy who has OCD and a girl who has anorexia. Patel plays the guy with OCD. It was not my favorite movie, but Patel and the actor who plays the character with Tourette’s did very good work..

  11. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Based on the fashion choices of some of the winners from Mad Max, I’m thinking that movie was probably pretty damn fun to work on.

    I’m a big fan of Chris Rock, so I enjoyed him as a host. I’m also glad there was not a song and dance opening number.

    I still have not seen the Revenant, but I love Innaritu, so I’m happy to see him win twice in a row. Also, the Revenant’s cinematographer has apparently won three years in a row! Good job, cinematographer!

    • Commentatrix says:

      I watched the show with people who think Inaritu is so overrated and absolutely hated that he won twice and his cinematographer thrice. I was like, shrugshrugshrug!

  12. mordonez says:

    I was bewlidered..BEWILDERED I TELL YOU at the decision to play people off with “Ride of the Valkyries”. Really people? We’re going pretend to care about race and diversity, and we’re going to interrupt people’s speeches with Wagner?!

  13. martinmegz says:

    I enjoyed the show very much even though I think these shows would be so much better with real speeches, not laundry lists of thank yous, which was the point of the bottom scroll. The Stacey Dash thing was straight up weird but I think the joke was aimed at her maybe and she just doesn’t get it? I loved Louis C.K.’s commentary (this award is going home in a Honda Civic!) and Tracy Morgan.

    Did you guys watch Kimmel’s after show? The Matt Damon/Ben Affleck stuff was hilarious and he did great parodies of Creed with Tracy Morgan and Batman vs. Superman. Solid program.

Comments are closed.