Tuesday TV Talk

Hello fellow Monsters, it’s time for another chat about our favorite thing, TV shows. I am still in catch-up mode from the last few weeks (my DVR is making me feel VERY guilty) but here are my thoughts of the week!

The 100 – BELLAMMMYYYYY WHYYYYYYYYYY?!?! Ugh, I get what they are doing this season and unfortunately, Kane and Abby’s helplessness as they watch Pike destroy everything they’ve worked so hard to build feels a little too real. But I think the writing for Bellamy has been very weak and hasn’t done enough to justify why he’s completely changed. I also don’t understand why Monty is part of Pike’s crew. That seems weird and out of character for him. I am glad that Jasper can still make me laugh out loud, even in his overwhelming misery and if this show hurts my precious Raven, I will hurt them back. Also, this show needs more Miller.

“Look how cute and non-genocidal we are!”

American Crime – Still not thrilled with the shooting twist although it was fun to see Leslie losing it. There wasn’t a whole lot that went on this week, they are clearly setting it up for the last two episodes but I am way less excited than I was 2 weeks ago.

Emmerdale – While I am glad that Robert hasn’t totally lost his edge, I’m not sure why he thinks his schemes will work. They literally never work Robert, stop trying to be slick! Also, the show needs to stop paying attention to sociopathic teen rapist Lachlan and dead-eyed Gabby. They are terrible, terrible children and Gabby is really taking away from the incredibly touching and powerful story they are doing with Ashley because she’s awful.

And, of course, That ’70s Show remains popular in syndication.

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. FRQ says:

    I would just like to say that Abby impersonating Ilana is my favorite thing of 2016

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m all caught up on Broad City, Baskets, and Elementary. Need to catch up on iZombie, Better Call Saul, and the Walking Dead. I’m still mad at the Walking Dead for being the worst on the episode before last, so I’m not too concerned with seeing that right away. And the Oscars took priority on Sunday night.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    We caught up on Billions this weekend. I feel like I should have an opinion on that show and I will continue to watch it, but I don’t really feel strongly one way or another. I just can’t figure out what it is I’m supposed to be excited about.
    A+ Broad City, all around!
    John Oliver & Sam Bee are the best things to happen to late night in a long time! (yes T yes shade, Trevor Noah!)
    I’m really enjoying Better Call Saul but haven’t seen last night’s yet.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I saw a preview for Billions, and it’s not a show for me, but I bet it would be a great show to work on. Driving fancy cars, hanging out on yachts, wearing expensive clothes, etc.

  4. flanny says:

    I watched an old episode of Empty Nest the other night, and was saddened to see that our shared name had blinded young me to the fact that Carol Weston is the very worst. That neighbor guy is still pretty great though.

    • flanny says:

      The same channel that shows Empty Nest shows Dear John, which was appointment television for me from age six to ten, I guess. And it is still very funny. Kirk! I love you forever! What’s wrong with me?

  5. nastyemu says:

    I’m still watching Vinyl. They probably could have shrunk the 4 hours that have aired so far into 2.5 or so, but the latest episode was definitely the best so far. 1970s Juno Temple is my new favorite thing.

    • Kate says:

      Vinyl’s pretty good. Billions is an interesting look at how the top 1/10 of 1% lives. Plus I like that actor who stars in it. He’s been playing Americans for so long his real British accent sounds fake on the talk shows. I’m keeping both shows in the on demand lineup.

    • nastyemu says:

      Did you guys know there’s like a million pictures of Juno Temple with red hair? I’ll just see you next week.

  6. Sota says:

    Love – I finished the rest of season 1, and I don’t feel great about it. I cant decide if I hate the characters only a little bit or a lot. I think the real winner of the show is the Australian roommate, she was funny. I want her to have her own show and find loooove!

    Fuller House – Yep, I watched this entire season and it was chock full of nostalgia and super cheesy dialogue and repeated storylines. I still liked it a lot more than I thought I would, and it was overall pretty good.

    Still working on Parks and Rec season 6 too.

    ps. When do we get Gilmore Girls revival eps? Come on Netflix…step on it!

    • flanny says:

      Agreed so much on Love. I feel like I have been the Australian roommate with friends before so I quickly turned anti-Mickey. Like, when it ended up that Grandpa escaped through Mickey’s door and she didn’t even apologize to the roommate? FUCK YOU, MICKEY.

    • nastyemu says:

      As I said last week, I gave up on Love. However, it reminded me to go back and finish You’re The Worst. It’s pretty good!

    • catweazle says:

      I absolutely loathe Gus and Mickey mainly just makes me feel sad, though I agree Bertie is the best and she deserves a better roomie. But seriously, Gus makes me want to vom. I think we were somehow supposed to sympathize with him in the episode where they go to the magic thing but oh my god I wanted to slap his dumb face.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Flanny, I forgot to mention Project Runway. Are you caught up?

    I was not sad about who went home. Stella should stick to talking about leather because every time she talked to her teammate, she sounded like kind of a jerk. Kini’s teammate was pretty shady. I agreed with the winners of this challenge.

    • flanny says:

      Oh my gosh, what happened to Stella during this episode? She just snapped at Valerie out of nowhere! Was there something we missed out on in the editing?

      I kind of couldn’t believe that they liked Mitchell’s pink pleasure thing so much, even though he was in the bottom. It looked so thrown together and unfinished, like something that would be on PR Juniors (in a bad way). And more princessy than pleasure, so even his theme I didn’t get. But all the judges raved about it, so it must have looked way better in person somehow.

      And that white dress that won? I would wear that in every color.

  8. I haven’t been watching much recently (besides Lucy Worsley’s historical documentaries on YouTube, which are amazing), so I’m reminding myself of two shows I want to watch, once I have the time/energy to get obsessive about something new: You’re The Worst and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. I’ve heard lots of good things about both.

    • nastyemu says:

      The only good thing to come out of me trying to watch Love was that it reminded me to finish You’re The Worst. I forgot how much I love Aya Cash. For those keeping track, Aya Cash and Juno Temple are my 2016 girlfriends.

  9. mordonez says:

    Magicians–pretty good job this week, didn’t piss me off too much. However, it did elide a few of my favorite pages where (spoiler alert) everybody turns into geese and flies to Antarctica.

    It would have been hard to translate into TV a good long stretch of narration about what it was like to suddenly find one’s self to be a goose.

  10. martinmegz says:

    The Bachelor is in love with two women! Although he had sex with three women!

    http://www.vineroulette.com/v/YOU-CAN-HAVE-ONE-WIFE-NewGirl-hXdTaEYPKAO

    • nastyemu says:

      OMG, I didn’t think anyone else here watched it. This is my first time ever watching other than Bachelor in Paradise or Bachelor Pad (which are the best). He’s like 100% going to propose to Lauren, right? JoJo is great but her family is fucking insane and her mom was literally drinking wine from the bottle during his visit. After last week I was sure it was between Lauren and Caila, and the only reason he kept Jojo was because he didn’t want to keep Amanda and her kids around any longer than necessary. Don’t fuck this up, Ben!

      • Commentatrix says:

        I don’t watch the show, but “don’t fuck this up, Ben” elicited a gusty lol.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Ahh I love the Bachelor! Lauren is definitely going to win. JoJo is fine and all, but Lauren has been in 1st place from the start! The ONLY way JoJo wins is if Ben does the whole “Lauren is too perfect and I can’t be myself around her because of how perfect she is” which is a thing I’ve seen bachelors do in the past.
        My favorite part of this week was when Ben was talking about how cute his date with Lauren was because the turtles were cute, she was cute, and that old man teaching them was pretty cute too.
        Ben is the perfect bachelor because he’s well-spoken, classically handsome while still being the kind of guy your parents LOVE, but just bland enough to not ruffle any feathers. I can’t wait until he runs for president.
        Also Caila made me too sad this week – she was too excited about going to surprise him!! Good for her for calling out “hey did you know you were going to let me go before or after we went to the bone zone?”

        • martinmegz says:

          I think Ben is the first Bachelor in a long time that’s actually a good catch, so I’m not finding myself yelling that the women going home are the real winners. That being said, he was so much more articulate as a contestant so I think being the lead takes a big toll on people. Most cave in under the attention and adoration, but I think Ben’s just straight up tired. He seems like a really good guy, though!

          I can’t stand phony Caila. Her entire run on the show was an audition for Bachelorette.

      • martinmegz says:

        I am unashamed of my love for this show. I get so excited to watch these beautiful idiots make fools of themselves every week (although this season the final women were all smart and self-possessed). One of life’s great joys is a gorgeous 23-year-old crying about how if she hasn’t found her husband by now she never will. Ben said yesterday on GMA I think that he’s engaged so this might actually work out!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I love when they have sex with three women! He had legit dark circles under his eyes this week!

Comments are closed.