So, How Was Your Day?

I’ve been in an audit all morning.   I have taken a few moments to shove cereal into my face.   I hope you had a slightly more thrilling day.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. mikaelajm says:

    My day’s been better than a usual Wednesday! My coworkers and I held a meeting over brunch, so everything else has automatically been improved.

  2. old man fatima says:

    It’s not been a good week, my friends!

    On Monday a bunch of co-workers were in the lunch room complaining about the #oscarssowhite thing, saying that if black people want to win Oscars, they just need to learn to be better actors and stop making everything about race. “There weren’t any good black roles this year, what do they expect to get an Oscar for?” (as if that’s not the exact point) These were the same people who were ranting last week about a Sikh suing the airport for racial profiling because they made him take off his turban to check for bombs. They were like “You could hide anything in there!” and I said “I could hide way more in what I’m wearing right now than you could in a turban.” But nobody was having it. They said it is just exhausting how minorities make everything about race, and “I’m not racist, but these people are really getting on my nerves.” I want to go to HR because they are making me super uncomfortable, but both times I was the only person who said anything so it will be super obvious that I’m the one who complained.

    AND THEN I had to do something for a very tetchy, very important client who is already pretty annoyed with us because of all the cock ups from my predecessor (who has the same first name as me, so they obviously think everything is my fault). I didn’t want to fuck it up, so I asked the group supervisor if what I thought needed to be done was correct, and she was like “No, you can see on this date that the client messed up by doing this, so this one isn’t our fault” and she drafted an email to them saying as much and told me to send it. So I did. And immediately, the big boss lawyer started freaking out because it was 100% wrong and 100% our fault. I didn’t want to say “she made me do it” because there’s nothing more infuriating when you’re already angry at someone than them passing the buck like that, but after he chewed me out for it he called the supervisor in to yell at me in front of her and tell her not to let me do anything on my own any more and she didn’t say anything about it! She’s been super nice to me since then, but no dice lady! I was gearing up to ask for that raise, which I think is pretty solidly out of the realm of possibility at this point.

    I need all the beers but pay day isn’t until tomorrow and also I’m tutoring some uni students at the library after work for some extra cash to pay that ridiculous electric bill so I won’t get any beers at all! SOMEONE GIVE ME A BEER!!

    • old man fatima says:

      Sorry to be the most complainey person in Christendom, but also just got a group email for a friend’s bachelorette next month. Why does everyone always want to do pole dancing and pedicures and wear horrible matching “sexy” outfits? I don’t have 200$ for pedicures and pole dancing and I am too old to wear a burlesque outfit to a dance club to test out our new pole dancing moves! We are all too old to wear burlesque outfits to a dance club to test out our new pole dancing moves!!

      • Sota says:

        It’s a long standing fact that every person planning a wedding or a wedding adjacent event loses their GD minds. I have currently purchased 4 dresses of varying shades of purple and lavender for a wedding in April because we are wearing matching color shades to the bachlorette party and also I have now been requested to coordinate in color for the wedding despite the fact that I am not IN the wedding and I am mostly just a glorified usher. I love my friend and I don’t mind doing things like this because i love her, but also…do you know how hard it is to find a purple dress that you like and doesnt look too casual or too bridal and flatters your body and is affordable???? Harder than you would think! WOOF. /RANT OVER

        • Sota says:

          Thats my long-winded self-pitying way of saying, I feel your pain OMF.

        • old man fatima says:

          I thought I was lucking out, because 4 of my friends are getting married this summer, but all in their home towns and I can’t afford to travel. My brother is getting married ~2000 miles away and I am his best man, so that excuses me from the rest of the wedding nonsense this summer. Everyone was like “Well, let’s have a fun group bachelorette here before the weddings since everyone can’t make it!” which didn’t sound too bad. But UGH. We are in our mid-thirties! Why do we have to act like 18 year olds? And why does everything have to be “sexy”?? It’s so much WORK. I just want to get wine-drunk and hang out!!

        • Sota says:

          Yikes. Well I am glad that so far I have not been invited to anything where the requirement is to dress sexy. I guess I am fine with purple now. LOL. I have 3 weddings this summer (two are distance weddings Im traveling for…$$$$$) so there is still time for some party to pop up that requires it. I do not envy you.

      • mikaelajm says:

        Oh no, that’s horrifying.

    • Commentatrix says:

      So basically everyone at your job is a huge jerk?! When did that happen?

      • old man fatima says:

        Not everyone, just like 4 people! But it’s the one person I work most closely (other than the lawyers) with and the 3 people who tend to also eat in the lunch room when I’m there 😦

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Not great but not bad. I set my alarm later to skip my morning workout (I am scheduled to work out 5 days a week but have decided to skip a day a week sometimes) but then I woke up about 10 minutes before I would have to get up for my workout so I got up anyway. Otherwise I’ve been in kind of a funk for no real reason. My boss often asks me questions about an email and I get so annoyed when the answer is in the body of the email. That’s about 40% of the time; 55% of the time he just ignores emails from me altogether; 5% of the time I want to say, “you’re 25 years older than the target audience for this, so it’s okay that you don’t understand,” but it’s sort of my job to explain things to him so that’s on me. Also he’s supposed to be including me on more stuff and he sort of is but on a MUCH smaller scale than I had hoped.

    • flanny says:

      I supervise a dozen students and I sent out an email a couple of weeks ago with a whole bunch of instructions about their job in it that I wanted them to read, so at the very top of the email I said, “There’s a lot of very important info in this. Please read it all and email me back to confirm that you got this email.” They literally could have read that first sentence and emailed me and not even read the email, whatever, that’s fine. About half of them emailed me back, and then another handful asked me questions that were in the email.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yep, back to the old academic “it’s in the syllabus!”…
        I think I’m just annoyed because it would be very hard for me to not look like a dick if I just said, “it’s in the body of the email” or “go read the email and if you’re still confused, read it again.” over and over.

        • flanny says:

          I mean, it sounds like he’s a dick. Maybe just be a dick back?

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          I’m trying to repair the relationship. He’s not trying to be a dick, he just misses stuff all the time and it’s just annoying because I try not to make those kinds of mistakes (I would be very embarrassed if I asked a question that someone had already answered). I have been trying to get him to understand my strengths and allow me to pick up slack where he has weaknesses (we’re actually very complementary as far as that goes) and it’s just been a whole lot of nothing which is frustrating from a “utilization of resources” aspect and pretty annoying from a “i’m trying to be more involved” aspect.

  4. flanny says:

    Tomorrow is my last day of work before glorious, glorious spring break, but I have so much to do before then it’s making me crazy. I’m trying to do it all today because I know tomorrow I’ll be useless and anything that comes up I’ll be like:

    Plus I’m still coordinating stuff I’m doing for spring break and it’s stressing me out! I just want to get to LA and then get me to the bar, monsters!! (JK, let’s do all our plans and then get me to the bar.)

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    I don’t know, you guys. I just don’t know. I was feeling pretty good after getting some research done last week. I have a plan forward and have requested a bunch of material for me to look at here in town so that’s cool. But I just applied for a job that wants letters of rec, which would be fine, but then my advisor starts grilling me about why I need this job (because I like electricity), surely I wouldn’t think of working while doing research (umm…) and what if I get a grant (I won’t!). It was just really frustrating. : (

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I don’t want to plant an evil seed, but is there a chance he or she just doesn’t want to lose you?

      • artdorkgirl says:

        The job is here in town though, and she’s retired, so I don’t know? That would be lovely to think about though…

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah, if she’s retired that wouldn’t make any sense. Maybe it’s that old academic hazing/bullshit about “back when I was getting MY PhD…” where professors think that you don’t have to take a job while you finish because there used to be more jobs available and advisers were better about helping students matriculate because they weren’t cheap labor the way they are now? Also possibly I’m just a cynic about the academic world.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          I’m feeling that today…

    • mikaelajm says:

      Sending you all of the hugs.

  6. Sota says:

    Today is pretty darn good. In exactly two weeks I will be on vacation with the guy I like. Today I got a really complimentary email from a client about how awesome I am and she copied my boss, and we ordered pie just for fun…so I am on my second slice of DELICIOUS DUTCH APPLE PIE. Basically I am a happy camper.

  7. catweazle says:

    I slept until 10:30, watched two episodes of 30 Rock, took a shower, went on a coffee date with a tall handsome cello teacher, and then walked the mile and a half home. Now I am about to each a frozen breakfast sandwich and try to force myself to do the laundry I’ve been putting off. I’m bummed that I have to go back to work tomorrow but I feel like I’ve really taken lazy advantage of my mini vacation!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I like the idea of a mid-week, mid-day coffee date, but I am against the idea of a date without alcohol (but props to you if there was in fact alcohol).

  8. Well, I forgot to make the How Was Your Day post, which should give you a good idea of how my day was going.

    Also, I nearly passed out at work for no discernible reason. I have no idea what happened–it felt kind of like the onset of food poisoning (the shakes, the sweats, the weakness) but there was no actual digestive distress, and I’d eaten breakfast, so I don’t think it could be a low blood sugar thing, but yeah, almost fainted dead away like a gothic heroine in front of the copy machine. I just barely made it to the bathroom in time to sit in a stall and put my head between my knees.

    I’ve felt completely fine since, so, ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Comments are closed.