It’s Project Club Time!

(Last week’s post.) I did okay this week, considering that it’s been busy and stressful. I only wrote about 1,000 words, but I figured some things out about what I’m actually hoping to accomplish with this novel, and I feel better about where it’s going.

Short-term goals: I did not vacuum. Gross. You’re gross, self. You need to vacuum! Other short-term goals for this week: do the giant load of laundry I’ve been putting off, make concrete plans with friends now that the weather’s finally less Hoth-y, and do some yoga. Maybe I’ll really go for broke and take a walk outside!

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. catweazle says:

    I managed to accomplish my short-term goals of not completely blowing it at the show and cleaning my apartment (though the mopping was in vain because the baby didn’t come!). I also accomplished a goal I hadn’t even set by starting to flip my closet! I would have put it off a few more weeks but since I will be in LA next week I need some of my spring clothes.

    Speaking of which, my new short-term project is to hang out with LA Monsters next week! Who will be around and wants to party with me? It’s a work trip but my shift is being moved super early so I’ll be out at 2:30 every day and ready to tear it up with whoever’s around.

    • hotspur says:

      What part of town are you in? What days? I will attempt to appear!

      • catweazle says:

        I’m staying at an airport hotel so I’m going to have to trek out to wherever you all are at. If we want to just do one big meetup I’m thinking Thursday night if that works for people.

        • hotspur says:

          I work near LAX! Also martinmegs is on the west side, so we can meet around Culver City by 5:30-ish super easy, probably.

        • catweazle says:

          Excellent! I’ll take the detailed planning to Facebook.

        • martinmegz says:

          Yeah let me know! Culver City totally works. Also my friend owns a dive bar and an adjoining pizza place near LAX, it’s a fun place to meet up. http://melodylax.com/

        • Commentatrix says:

          Yes, I can also do… something, probably. All I’d need to do is put my dog with a friend because I’d have to come straight from work and that’s just too long for him to be home alone. Yay! Are you going to be tearing it up business-style with our mutual acquaintance KS while you’re here?

    • Sota says:

      Those LA monsters get to have all the fun! You guys have meet ups all the time! #jealous

  2. Sota says:

    Well I apparently didn’t make any project plans last week. I guess I am on an every other week participation plan. Whatever.

    My newest (and dorkiest) thing I have been doing is wearing St Patricks Day themed socks. I realized I have like 10 pairs of St Paddy’s themed socks…I don’t even know why I own so many. But I joked to my bro that I was gonna wear themed socks every day of March and he laughed really hard at it. So with a few laundry days mixed in, I think I will do it. No I have no idea why, but apparently that is what I am doing with my life.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am working on scheduling some non-baby time. I kind of want to just get some this weekend, separate from dinner with a girlfriend.
    Ordered prints for the frames!
    Spent a bunch of money on new clothes! They all look great! That probably covers my bonus allotment (I’ll spend the rest on the closet organization).
    I set aside a ton of boots to be taken to goodwill, so my next project will be going through my clothes and the rest of my shoes. Let’s call it the “back wall” sorting.
    No decorations for the kid’s first birthday party yet…add that to next week!

  4. hotspur says:

    Hooray: I finished up volume 1 of the ebook series I’m gonna ask you all to buy soon! There’s a print proof on order from Createspace as we speak, and that’s quite a relief, let me tell you. I’ll get it next week in the ol’ mail, and if it looks decent, I’ll put this thing up for e-sale! Well, up for preorder anyway.

    I want to put volume 2 up at the same time so no one has to wait for it, but volume 2 is still being rewritten. Last week I changed 2 or 3 plot points that weren’t working, and this week has brought me the largely failed experience of polishing those into readable shape.

    Because I’m going out of town this weekend and didn’t want to not write last night, I got home, counted my underwear to make sure I could get to Monday without pausing to do laundry… and then fell asleep at, like, 8:15. I don’t even remember feeling tired first. It was like my body just shut down because it did not want to face all the rewriting I wanted it to do. How am I ever going to finish this project?

  5. flanny says:

    Sourdough turned out better than the last time, but it was still inedible. I think I overprooved it and then underbaked it. But I’m going to keep trying.

    My short-term project is also to hang out with L.A. Monsters! I think all the pieces of my vacation have finally fallen into place, so I can just relax a bit and let them happen! Sunday evening I have some time on my own at a VERY fancy hotel in Chinatown so my goal is to either nap or write during that time. I do wonder what I’ll end up doing! Monday I’m going with my brother and his boyfriend to Disneyland. My goal there is to convince them to go on the Indiana Jones ride at least 44 times. I would literally pay the $100 admission fee even if the only attraction in Disney was the Indiana Jones ride. I love that thing.

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m very excited for our Saturday adventure! Also, in Sydney I went to this place called Scenic World and rode the steepest passenger railway in the world (52° incline) and they played the Indiana Jones theme song during the ride. It was a very thrilling 30 seconds.

  6. The next 4 weeks are going to consist of 11 hour work days (or more). My only goal is to actually make dinner and not resort to take-out. And not become a total ball of stress.

  7. mikaelajm says:

    I think I failed in all my March 1st-related goals. One was to run a 10K by then. I am close but not there. The other was dissertation related and I’m definitely behind. And I still haven’t taken care of those gd prescriptions (although I have tried). Ahhhhh.

Comments are closed.