So, How Was Your Day?

It’s 65 degrees here today, so you know what? My day is fan-freaking-tastic.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I woke up before my alarm went off, and I had an allergy attack at 4 AM. So, I am exhausted. I might have cashed in a sick day, but work is busy, so I can’t today. This weekend better be relaxing!

    Last night, I watched Room. Very good performances, well done movie.

    Tonight I will hopefully be able to catch up on some laundry and work stuff before I fall asleep.

    Also, our weather is warm enough for a light jacket, and I am so happy about that!

  2. hotspur says:

    It’s nice here too! I didn’t bring my book (I am STILL reading Dracula, I am the worst) or I’d sit outside on lunchbreak.

    Meanwhile I’m reading some marketing stuff and weirded out by people who write “inclusive of” when they just mean “including.” On the scale of terrible things I sometimes read at work, this one barely charts — I just think it is interesting. I mean the way having to write thoughts down sort of thwarts them sometimes. Like, you wouldn’t think “inclusive of,” would you?* But then sometimes that is what you end up typing.

    *Oh my god, what if you would think “inclusive of”? No! No, it is too much to consider, such a mind.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Sometimes I think people just use this bulky wording because they think it makes them sound smarter (it does not) because “including” is such a simple word but “inclusive of” is a PHRASE!!

      • hotspur says:

        Yeah, definitely, but sometimes I think it is not done with any goal in mind. More like it’s only a sort of anxiety about how to get a thought across. I mean, it takes school and practice to learn how to write your thoughts directly — it’s not necessarily a natural skill. And the way school teaches English is not always a help. Think how many friends you had in HS who hated reading — but then, how was reading taught? A lot of it is going down the wrong rabbit hole — “On page 200, what do the peanuts symbolize?” So people end up feeling anxious about reading because prose is presented as this secret code to crack, and that anxiety spills into writing, and that’s how we get “inclusive of.” MAYBE. Anyway it’s interesting. To me.

        • old man fatima says:

          Have you read 100 Years of Solitude, or seen the documentary about it, My Macondo? In it, Gabriel Garcia Marquez tells a story about how his son had to read one of his short stories in literature class and his teacher, not knowing who his father was, asked him to write an essay on the significance of the clock in a certain scene. So he asked his dad, and Gabo said it doesn’t mean anything, it’s just a clock. People have clocks in their homes, so I put a clock in this home. Anyway, the kid had to invent some fanciful significance for this clock so he wouldn’t fail the course. I like that story.

        • hotspur says:

          Ha, nice. I never heard that one. I have read only the first 80 pages or so of 100 Years. I know everyone loves it and I can’t remember why I didn’t.

          Maybe there was a clock that felt poorly justified.

  3. mikaelajm says:

    Not bad, Bob! It’s beautiful here too (75). The next month is really crazy for me, both work-wise and dissertation-wise, so I’m trying to get into gear to kill it, but I am anxious about it. Also, my headphones are acting funny, which is not great timing!

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been okay except for a couple of things: they installed this giant screen with a small computer attached that I’m going to use as a giant video message and updates board and the guy installing it set up a password and didn’t tell me what it is and when I asked him, he gave me one that didn’t work. So what can I do? I’m trying to reinstall it hoping it’ll let me put in a new password but omg how do you send the wrong password??? Also other people have started complaining to me about my boss and I just can’t.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Update: reinstalling the software did not work. I’m so angry I can’t even handle it.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Can you call the guy who installed it?

      Recently, I asked our IT guy for help with something, and his answer was basically, “I don’t do that,” but it is definitely something our IT guy should do. But now I have to figure it out, which is terrible because I don’t know what I’m doing, and will probably spend a LOT of time on the phone with tech support.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yeah I was able to track him down and we figured it out. He was just busy and forgetful. Guess I need to add “be more patient with people” back to my project list. :-/

  5. catweazle says:

    I’ve been in lots of meetings the last couple of days which is not super fun but is the entire reason I’m in LA in the first place so I can’t really complain. I have a few more hours to power through before I can go back to the hotel and take a nap before going to an office happy hour. Very exciting stuff. I should turn my life into a book.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      OOO! And after all the meetings calm down, we can talk RuPaul’s Drag Race maybe??? I HAVE THOUGHTS!!!

      • catweazle says:

        Ughhh I know I wanted to write about it this week but I don’t have my computer with me and I thought about just writing a short post so we could talk about it but I liked it so much that I want to write a proper recap! So we’ll have to wait until Monday I’m afraid 😦

  6. Sota says:

    Today is a good day. Theres a bunch of work stuff going on, so I have a lot to do, but I am struggling to stay focused. Next week I have a short week because my gentleman friend is coming to visit for a few days. Can’t wait to get away from work and do a little staycationing and enjoying my hometown through the eyes of a tourist! Hoping that the weather can hold out a little bit longer and stay nice so I don’t have to wear so many layers. I am so sick of layers. BRING ON THE SUNDRESSES AND SANDALS! I know, I know, its only March, but these last couple days of high 60s have spoiled me into thinking it should be like that all the time now.

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    I opened the windows today! It’s 70 degrees! WOOOO

    I spent most of this great day in the library, so as soon as I got home (basically 10 minutes ago) I had some cookies because I am an adult.

  8. mordonez says:

    Today is not bad. I accomplished some things. I sent some old cable boxes back to the cable company after realizing there was nothing I could do to rescue that season of Archer that episode of iZombie because the boxes had been deactivated, and therefore WOULDN”T EVEN LET ME GET TO THE DVR. Argh

    Also, work is mildly messy as we try to automate a bunch of email responses and client surveys–not directly my responsibility, but it’s still working less well than it could.

    I’m “working” from the hospital this afternoon, where my dad FINALLY seems to be on the mend-he’s still here almost three weeks after surgery, which had not been the plan, but I think we’re turning the corner.

    Tonight I’m going to class where we will play some Depehche Mode, Joy Division, Cocteau Twins, and Magnetic Fields, then I’m dashing to a club to hear a phenomenal organ player, so it should be a nice night .Then tomorrow, I’m seeing The Who (who?).

  9. flanny says:

    My brother and I did somewhat touristy stuff here in San Diego, but the real news is that my bad luck vacation will not end! I am constipated, so I am not the bundle of energy I’d like to be. Fingers crossed that I’ll be feeling better in 6-12 hours.

  10. old man fatima says:

    I’m so sorry to let you guys down, but I didn’t take any photos at the doggy play date. Two other friends and 3 other dogs joined us, so we went to the park instead and it was dark immediately because it’s still sort of winter. I tried to get some with the flash, but it just made the dogs look ridiculous.

    The foster corgi is SO CUTE and SO LONG. I love him very much! And all the dogs played together, even Chompsky who is usually super socially awkward and afraid of other dogs! She got bowled over while running with the doberman and I thought that would spook her for sure, but she just got back up and kept on having a good time. I’m so proud of her!

  11. old man fatima says:

    Oh, and I had asked people on fb for podcast recommendations and someone (maybe one of you?) suggested Tanis. Is anyone else listening to this?? It’s so good! Very spooky, Theresa I think you would especially like it!

    • I’ve heard good things about that one and The Black Tapes (I think that’s what it’s called). Spooky podcasts freak me out in a not-fun way, though. I love creepy stuff, but I can only handle reading about it. Hearing/seeing it is too much for my overactive imagination.

  12. Commentatrix says:

    Oh man, my day was fucking busy, as was my week, as was my month. But like, I am crushing it at work, and it is just so goddamn refreshing to be able to solve problems and make quantifiable progress everyday at a job that is pleasantly stimulating. I don’t think I’ve ever had that before, and it’s actually kind of unbelievable? Am I… growing up? Of course, I have no free time and have that feeling where if I skip a day of work everything might fall apart and I’ll never be able to catch back up, but that’s probably not true, so take a chill pill, Trix.

    • Sota says:

      Feeling like you are solving problems, making progress and are stimulated in your job is a dream come true. Relish in this Trix!

Comments are closed.