March Madness! (Maybe?)

It’s that time of year again, where people kind of care about college basketball, much like people kind of care about soccer once every 4 years.  But the Cinderella stories!  The mascots!  And most importantly, the completely random predictions of what teams will advance throughout the tournament.  I will be pulling for my dab-friendly hometown team the whole way, but most just want to bet a small amount of money to claim bragging rights.  Your place of work/friend group/knitting circle may be participating in an NCAA pool, but I know we like to do that sort of silly thing here.  Would people here be interested in participating in such a thing?  I could easily setup a bracket via a sports site, and I can offer a prize for the winner.  Here is the full bracket for your viewing pleasure.  I will wait until 8pm-ish EST for people’s thoughts.  If not, I won’t be offended.  Just enjoy this cheerleader violently stomping balloons celebrating the victory of the opposing school’s team.

 

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to March Madness! (Maybe?)

  1. FRQ says:

    Bonus! Fun buttons for all 68 teams.

  2. flanny says:

    I’m interested.

    I looked at the bracket and could not get past the South Conference. 1) KFC Yum! Center. 2) UConn is in the South?

  3. catweazle says:

    Would anybody be interested in a Tournament of Hotties, for those of us who are not sports-oriented?

    • artdorkgirl says:

      You already know my list in the Tournament of Hotties, including this one who was papp’d for the first time in AGES:

      (Yes, yes. The Ginger Prince was there too…)

      • catweazle says:

        Ok, even if it’s just the two of us now that I have this idea in my head I can’t not do it. I’m going to make up a bracket and if anybody has anybody they want to see on it let me know! Otherwise I will include all my faves and then random guesses at who other people find hot. Sorry lady-lovers but this is going to be all dudes.

        • Oooooh, this sounds like fun.

          I would recommend several to all members of 1D, Sam Heughan from Outlander, Nyle from ANTM and Tyler Hoechlin

        • catweazle says:

          Good call on Nyle! I’m having trouble thinking of 64 hotties which is making me question my entire life leading up to this point, so I’m going to add pretty much anybody you guys suggest!

        • artdorkgirl says:

          Well, the league of Handsome British Gents includes Ben, Hiddles, and Tom Hardy. And make sure you get Theresa’s list too: Captain America and the new Sulu.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Adding Idris, Fassy and Chiwetel to Handsome British Gents, and Cary Fukunaga to Gents I’d Like to Make Out With and Maybe More. I’ll be thinking of other non-obvious choices instead of working for the rest of today’s shift.

        • mikaelajm says:

          Eddie Redmayne!! (I am an Eddie Redmayniac, which is a real thing that I just made up and will be very sad if someone has already invented)

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    I would be down for a bracket! I don’t have anyone around trash talk with (Mr. Dork’s firm bans this sort of thing and grad students hate sports! Who knew?!?)

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I LOVE March Madness so I will definitely be down. I always fill out a bracket but never actually compete with anyone, which is such a bummer. But then I always pick my team to win it all, so it’s never been even close to accurate.

  6. Syracuse managed to squeak in, so I guess I’ll pay attention. Though I haven’t looked to see who we’re playing yet.

  7. mordonez says:

    I am in. My long history of not paying a lick of attention to college basketball then taking a flyer on a pool continues!

    With any luck, I’ll simultaneously win my (real life actual) Supreme Court Nominee Pool that I have with 3 other idiots. Come on, Sri!

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    You guys! I just built my brackets using nothing but regional loyalties and my vague knowledge of teams who have won in the past! I can’t lose!!!

  9. old man fatima says:

    I want in on the action, but there is literally no way that I could care less about college basketball and I’m too lazy to pick teams. Just put me down for whichever team is last alphabetically in each bracket. Do I need to follow this somehow? I’m already getting cold feet just thinking about the amount of work this will be.

  10. mikaelajm says:

    I’m in! I love filling out brackets, I enter as many as possible every year. One year I was THISCLOSE to the top 1% on ESPN, but picked the wrong winner in the finals. Womp womp.

  11. I’m in! I love the feeling when I get when my bracket falls apart in the second round, ruining any chance I might have of winning.

  12. gnidrah says:

    I don’t know anything about any of the teams, but provided you can give me one that contains no criminals etc, then I’m in.

  13. Sota says:

    I am game, but I will prob choose teams by flipping a coin or determining which team i pretend like better.

Comments are closed.