What’s On Our Collective Bookshelf?


It’s been some time since we all talked about what we were reading, so let’s catch each other up. What are you reading right now? I MEAN BESIDES HOTSPUR’S BOOK, GUYS! That’s a given. (Plus some of us are waiting for the print version, so no spoilers.)

I went to the library on Thursday to pick up the latest book for my book club, but we won’t be meeting for a month, so I decided to grab something else to pass the next couple of weeks. I dawdled around the new fiction display in the hopes that I could find something 1) written by a woman, and 2) in a genre I wouldn’t usually be interested in. Those are a couple of the book-picking guidelines I’m trying to follow in 2016.

And that’s how I ended up with Rosamund Lupton’s The Quality of Silence. It’s about a British lady astrophysicist (!) and her deaf pre-teen daughter who journey into the Alaskan wilderness during that-time-of-the-year-when-it’s-always-night in order to find her husband, who is presumed dead by the authorities after a suspicious accident. This is very much not something I would normally try, but I have to say I’m enjoying it! It’s low-key thrilling and suspenseful, and it’s nice to read about someplace that is colder than where I am now. I’m a little under halfway through, and I want to finish writing this post so that I can get back to it!

What about you guys? BESIDES HOTSPUR’S BOOK, geez, I just said that!

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s On Our Collective Bookshelf?

  1. catweazle says:

    I am reading Iggy Pop: Open Up and Bleed which is, you guessed it, a biography of Iggy Pop! I’m like halfway through and at the point where Iggy got so fucked up on drugs that he was checked into a mental institution, so that’s fun. Also fun: reading about all the 14-year-old girls he had relationships/relations with in the 70s. I know it was different time or whatever but nooooooooooooooooooooo. I should probably never read biographies of men whose art I like because inevitably there’s going to be something that makes me want to vom.

    Anyway, that is my train book, and I also have my home book which I only read when I’m eating a meal at my kitchen table. Which is fairly rare, so I’ve been working my way through the Princess Diaries Royal Wedding book for months now when I could probably have read the whole thing in a day if I had any kind of attention span. It’s fun and all but SPOILERS AHEAD I am very unhappy about the turn it just took in saddling Mia with an unexpected pregnancy which she is apparently going to go through with?

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’ve been meaning to read the Veronica Mars books since they came out. What kind of fan am I? Geez, costco.

    I saw a random post on Facebook that called this book a cross between Veronica Mars and Shakespeare. They had me at Veronica Mars.
    http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25528801-exit-pursued-by-a-bear

    I honestly don’t make a lot of time to read, but my Goodreads list is lengthy (not with all Veronica Mars related things), so I better get to it.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am currently reading The Alienist and I’m about halfway through. It’s gonna be a show on TNT from Cary Fukunaga so I want to finish it before I see that. It has its moments but I’ll reserve judgment until I finish it. It will probably be very creepy but good.

  4. Simon Spidermonk says:

    Wait, hotspur has a book? What is it? How’d I miss this?

    • hotspur says:

      You missed it because I only mentioned it in one comment in one thread last week. That’s how great I am at marketing! SO let me thank our flaniel for flogging it here (thanks!) and let you know that I will make a real post about it later this week (cue the drumroll).

    • hotspur says:

      It would be smart of me to actually put a link here. So this will teleport you to Amazon:
      http://tinyurl.com/clique1spur
      That’s the ebook, and tomorrow (I believe) the print version becomes available for pre-order. Soon, I will jam a real post on these blog pages in which I Explain Everything. But till then, how about a tiny url under a post where flanny was very kind to bring this up / kick me in the butt.

  5. martinmegz says:

    I’m going to see Pearl Jam in North and South Carolina next month so I tacked on a stop in Charleston because it looks like a beautiful city. Last week I got a surprise package at work and found that my mom sent me a book set in Charleston, Pat Conroy’s South of Broad! When I thanked her on Facebook, she commented that she thinks there might be some sex scenes so I should skip over those pages. Moms! Hahaha.

    • flanny says:

      Time Traveler’s Wife takes place in the small resort-ish town where my mother grew up, and I just couldn’t recommend it to her because it was too sexy. Daughters!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      One of my favorite movies, Last of the Mohicans, was filmed in North Carolina. I looked up some of the areas they filmed in, but saw a lot of warnings about how dangerous it was to wander about. I would still check it out from a safe viewing point if I ever get to North Carolina. Also, there is apparently an abandoned Wizard of Oz theme park in NC, so yeah, i need to plan a trip there.

  6. I just finished The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson, which I liked but didn’t love. I think the last thing I read that I was super into was the Johannes Cabal series by Jonathan Howard, which is a dark, snarky delight.

  7. hotspur says:

    I am 20 pages from finishing Dracula by Bram Stoker. This book — I really enjoy it, within reason, but I started it in November. It became the book I read while doing laundry, and I just don’t do laundry often. I really hate doing laundry; I’ve purchased almost a month’s supply of underwear to really cut down on how often I have to do it. I suppose that’s equal to saying I like Dracula so much, I’ve read it in four sittings. Usually I take longer to read a book.

    Also wtf Dracula is world’s top vampire, but he doesn’t sparkle at all? He should sparkle the most.

Comments are closed.