Tuesday TV Talk

It’s time for another TV chat session!  Yesterday morning, I was in a hospital waiting room, where the TV was set to The Disney Channel.  After airing Even Stevens: The Next Generation or whatever the fuck they show now, they played a Mickey Mouse short, prompting me to think “Damn, they’re still showing these old ass cartoons?”  Little did I know, it was part of a new series of Mickey Mouse shorts that started back in 2013.  And I gotta say, it was pretty good!  I went on Youtube to see if there were any more, and Disney has been gracious enough to put them all online.  I chose the clip above because I can personally relate to itchy clothing.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. I haven’t been watching anything except for Netflix documentaries I’ve just had on as background noise. I’m not ready to start Daredevil yet, and nothing else is holding my interest (although I did love Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. It’s hilarious and the songs are actually really catchy).

    Also: HI EVERYONE. I love when I actually get to comment in real time. (I’m off for the afternoon because of a dentist appointment, which I already whined about in the Tournament of Hotties post.)

  2. Kate says:

    I heart Mickey. Cute cartoon.

  3. catweazle says:

    I am caught up on The Vampire Diaries! Finally! The flashforwards were a hit or miss device so I’m glad we’re in “three years later” land now and can get on with our lives. I wanted to “UGH” so hard when Damon decided to just take a nap until Bonnie dies so he doesn’t have to live without Elena anymore because fuck you, Damon, Bonnie is awesome now and you should continue being BFFs! I hope it’s not a problem that I don’t watch the Originals since Klaus seems to be in the picture again. Was it just me or did Klaus steal Elijah’s hair? They actually look like they could be brothers now though which is good. What else even happened? Oh right, Matt’s whole thing is… ok I guess? I mean considering he’s been the only human bopping around in a nonstop supernatural murder party for however many years I get why he would side with the Huntress (who by the way would be a more compelling character if that had cast that actress for her performing skills and not her resemblance to Nina Dobrev) but also, come on Matt, just move somewhere else. Still don’t care what the fuck is going on with Tyler or Enzo and his new buddies. Still vomming about Alaroline. But ultimately as long as they don’t ever EVER bring back Jeremy I’ll be happy.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh and I started watching It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia over the weekend! I might like it? I don’t know. I watched the entire first season in a day so there’s that. But the three dudes all kind of look the same except one of them was on The Mindy Project and I kind of still don’t get what is supposed to be different about their personalities because they mainly just seem like a bunch of dumb jerks. Also can somebody reassure me that Danny DeVito isn’t as sucky of a character for the entire series as he is in the beginning of season 2? Because I need to know whether to make the time commitment.

      • Kate says:

        As the series goes on, you realize that they are all hilariously terrible people. There is almost nothing redeeming about them, and that’s the point. Outrageous terribleness. They never learn, never get wise to themselves. They deserve each other. It’s a beautiful thing. Ahhhh, the gang.

    • Sota says:

      The huntress is totally going to turn out to be a Gilbert ancestor, don’t you think? I mean come on the resemblance is uncanny.

      • catweazle says:

        She’s probably secretly Nadia’s daughter or some bullshit like that. Or like Katherine accidentally had Klaus’s baby before becoming a vampire.

        • Sota says:

          Youre so right. They do take that baby away from Katherine and we don’t see what happens to it. Totally could be her.

  4. flanny says:

    Project Runway: Oh Mitchell, what was that thing you made? You deserved very much to go. I’m officially sick of the high-low skirt thing that was big a few years ago that I hated even then. It’s not edgy! It’s confusing and easy. In a shocking turn of events, I was not a fan of Valerie’s dress. The bottom was way too simple, I thought, like she’d just attached a big swath of blue fabric to a really lovely top because she’d run out of time. I agree with the winner, but I like stuff that looks like wood. Sam continues to grate upon my soul.

    Other than that, March Madness interrupted my viewing of The Amazing Race, and then on Sunday I rewatched the second half of Bunheads while spring cleaning. I can’t even tell you guys how much I love that show. I love it more than Gilmore Girls! I SAID IT.

    • martinmegz says:

      Mitchell is one of the least talented designers to ever be on the show, and proof that personality is a big factor in casting. Which is fine, so long as people like him don’t get past the halfway point. What do you think of all the Sam hate? I don’t mind him because I see him as mostly joking when he’s being snarky, while the other designers (ALEXANDER and MITCHELL) are being mean spirited and petty

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I’m not sure Sam is as much a villain as the editors would have us believe, but I do find him annoying. I don’t approve of the constant snark towards him because it is kind of a bullying thing to do. It’s one thing to bitch to the cameras, but these snide comments made to him in front of everyone are childish. I’m glad Kini did not throw a fit in front of the judges when Sam took credit for Kini’s work, but it happened, and all the designers have a grudge about it. Move on or have an open discussion with Sam about it.

      • flanny says:

        I dunno, I feel like Sam is a little dish-it-but-can’t-take-it. That doesn’t excuse the pettiness that is bouncing around the workroom. In all cases, be fucking adults, designers. But also, give people credit when they help you, Sam.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I see your point on Sam. Also, the CHILDREN of Project Runway Junior were more mature than these adults.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I can’t believe Layana was in the bottom! Sorry, Mitchell, it was your time to go.

  5. I am finally caught up on the 100 and I am just very disappointed in Bellamy’s life and choices but I have confidence he is going to win me back. However, I was very distracted in the scene with him and Bryan (Miller’s boyfriend) because they literally look exactly alike.

  6. I finished episode 7 of Daredevil last night. I forgot how violent it can get. Also, I have a weird crush on the Punisher. I should not have a crush on someone so violent and crazy, but there we go. I like that he calls Karen “ma’am.”

    Otherwise, I’ll hold comments until more people have watched.

    • martinmegz says:

      Are you on season 2? I watched the first 4 episodes of season 1 awhile back but didn’t care about it, and now my friend says I have to watch season 2 because it’s like John Wick but I need to know if I have to finish season 1 first?

      • You could probably jump straight in since it’s a new bad guy. There’s some background stuff but not a lot. Though if you didn’t care for the first 4 episodes I have no idea why you would like season 2. It’s pretty much the same.

  7. nastyemu says:

    I was excited for Girls this week because the preview was 100% Shosh, but then she was only like one third of it, but it was still a good episode. I’m sad that it seems like that’s gonna be it for Shosh in Japan, I think there was a lot more they could have done with that. The preview for next week was 100% Marnie. Hopefully it’s not 100% Marnie, because that would be an awful way to finish the weekend.

    Vinyl wasn’t great, but I’m gonna finish the season. Vinyl and Girls are on back to back and this week they both ended with covers of Life On Mars, which was weird. I hated the one on Vinyl.

    • mikaelajm says:

      I’m finally watching Girls from the beginning! I’m getting close to the end of season 4. I’m currently super cranky that Ray is supposedly hung up on Marnie. What the fuck, man, you are so much better than that!

    • FRQ says:

      My friend said Vinyl basically tanks after the first episode, so I wasn’t super encouraged to go back and watch it all.

      • nastyemu says:

        I would disagree with that, but only because I didn’t think the first episode was anything special. So far it’s not a series I would recommend to anyone, even though I’d like to have more people to talk about it with.

  8. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Elementary moved to Sundays. I don’t know if that is good or bad for ratings, but I hope it doesn’t get canceled.

    • catweazle says:

      They can’t take my beloved Elementary away from me! Even though this season has been kind of dull!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        This season has not been as great as the others, but I still love it. The banter! The mystery! Joan Watson’s clothes*!

        *except all these damn neck ties.

    • martinmegz says:

      Maybe they want it there because The Good Wife is ending? I thought Elementary had great ratings. The biggest problem with Sunday CBS shows is that they get bumped by football all the time and people on the east coast have the shows cut off.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Yeah, the DVR cut off half of the last episode, but luckily we caught the error in time to record past the original end time. Don’t mess with me CBS!

        Thanks for the tip that this happens a lot. I’ll set the future recordings with extra time.

        • flanny says:

          If you tune in at the normal time or on the 30 minute mark, CBS will run a little message at the bottom of the screen telling you when to expect the next show to start. “Good Wife will begin at 9:08.” I’m TV useless after 10, so it’s nice they let me know if it’s worth it for me to try to watch the whole thing. I don’t know if it helps your DVR issue, though.

    • flanny says:

      Oooh, is it replacing Good Wife?

      • martinmegz says:

        Hahaha we have the same thoughts on CBS programming at the same moment. Real talk, I watch so much CBS programming. Madam Secretary is fantastic and I still love Survivor.

        • flanny says:

          I’m exclusively CBS Sunday Morning, Amazing Race, and Good Wife. I find myself getting slowly sucked into Hawaii 5-0 and Madam Secretary and then I turn them off because I am still young, goddammit!! Three hours of appointment CBS is enough!

    • FRQ says:

      I feel like Friday and Saturday time slots are the TV graveyards, so it’s probably a good thing?

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am so behind on all of my stories!!! Too much basketball and my parents being here and getting in the way of watching tv.

Comments are closed.