So, How Was Your Day?

My day was equal parts fun and not fun, because I had some major dental work done (some cosmetic, some not), which is obviously not world’s most enjoyable experience, but that also meant I got home early and could relax and putz around and get some writing done, which feels indulgent on a weekday afternoon even when half your face is swollen and numb.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. flanny says:

    I am officially on the hunt for a new cat, and I’m going to try to be very wise about it. I had given up looking at Petfinder for Lent, and here it is, less than a week until Easter, and I have broken down. I spent all of last night and my lunch today basically on the site. There’s a tabby at the Humane Society by my house that has “making biscuits” listed as her favorite hobby, so I am already pretty into her, but then there’s another one there with a big face named Pepsi, so I guess I’ll try to go meet them both soon!

    But this evening I’m going to a book launch for my favorite professor’s new novel. He’s very funny and I think in the past he’s just done short story collections, so I’m very excited to get a whole novel’s-worth of hilarity.

  2. Sota says:

    I am in a fuzzy happy cloud over here. The gentleman that I am interested in was visiting me for the last week and we had SO MUCH fun together. It was even better than expected. I am going out to visit him next month, and then we will have to figure out if we are going to try to make this work for real…aka someone would have to move. That is a big conversation to have, but regardless I am just so happy about all of it. I can barely focus on work or do anything. Its a good thing that I have the Tournament of Hotties to keep me distracted from my distractedness. Hahaha.

  3. catweazle says:

    I stayed up late watching Drag Race and drinking champagne and talking Tinder strategies with my friend last night so today I am tired and hungover. A few minutes ago I was fantasizing about getting home and putting on my soft octopus nightgown and falling asleep to Gilmore Girls but then I remembered I have to go to a work happy hour and my heart broke. This also means I won’t be able to write about Drag Race until tomorrow night, sorry guys!

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    I’m finally done with the Boston Public Library!! 3 weeks of staring at microfilm, but I’m free!! I’m so happy!! I’m still going to have to go to NYC one more time after next week, but I think I should be done with the first phase of my research by May!

    I also just got offered another teaching gig for next fall! Now I just need a job between now and then.

  5. Today is fine except that Power Point is evil and I almost lost a day’s worth of work because when you “save as” it doesn’t save your progress in the original file. This is why as much as keynote is awful, “duplicate” makes way more sense to me.

    Also, I have a new/old work crush and it’s bad. Sometimes I love work crushes, but only the ones that will go no where. This one seems like it could, which would be the worst idea. Hopefully I snap out of it soon.

    • old man fatima says:

      Just spread office rumors until he quits in shame, and then you can date him!!

      • I would do that except at the moment he’s my only ally on a very hard internal initiative. Which is part of the reason this crush exists…ugh.

        • old man fatima says:

          That does put you in a pickle. Do you want to create or remove barriers to this relationship? I have more ideas for the former, if that sways your decision.

        • Haven’t decided yet. I’m giving myself the weekend to figure things out. Because I also can’t tell if I have this crush because I’m lonely and want attention or if it’s a full-on one, and I would be a jerk if it was the first reason. I don’t want to be a jerk.

  6. mikaelajm says:

    I had an exciting but extremely anxiety-inducing phone conversation with my advisor about finishing up my dissertation over the next couple of weeks–the major catch being that I will also be out of commission for almost a week with the biggest work event of the year. She seems optimistic and she’s never let me down before, but…yikes.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Oh man! I’m so scared on your behalf, but also impressed that you can talk about being finished! Good luck!!

      • mikaelajm says:

        Thank you so much!! I really didn’t think things would move this quickly, but I think she (and the department in general) is more interested in wrapping things up than in seeing the best dissertation that I could produce, if that makes sense. Anyway, I’m so glad you are making progress and have a job lined up for the fall!!

  7. hotspur says:

    My back has decided not to function this week. I woke up fine Monday and by the time I got to work I could barely stand. So now I’m hopped up on Advil, and I’m okay with sitting (except my legs tingle), and I can walk (with the shuffling gait of a 90-year-old), but the transition from sitting to standing takes a minute. I’m treating it like time travel — I get to see how I’ll live in the year 2067! — and I have a doctor appointment on Saturday. (By doctor I mean acupuncturist.)

    (Have you guys tried acupuncture? I never have, so maybe it will turn out to not be the thing I need… But she takes my insurance, and her website says it’s good for the lower back.)

    • flanny says:

      I’m a white woman, so I’m going to ask if you’ve looked into some yoga poses for your back. I had some lower back pain a couple of years ago, and doing some cat/cow combined with child’s pose helped me out a lot. Plus you get to pretend you’re a cat! (See above for my opinion on cats.)

      • hotspur says:

        I live in California, so yoga was one of the first things I thought of. I have a YouTube that cost six dollars so it must be great, but its poses require me to get on the floor. I couldn’t figure out how to get down there, or how I might get back up. A friend who is a yoga teacher gave me a standing pose to try, and I could not get even close to it. A standing pose. “Fuuuuuuck that”–my skeleton. Maybe tonight while full of Advil I will try again.

    • old man fatima says:

      I had some lower back pain once and my doctor tried to tell me my estrogen was low so my uterus had dropped (nope, pinched nerve). Have you had your estrogen checked? Do you even know the position of your uterus?

  8. old man fatima says:

    My day was pretty good. Fatiman is between contracts for a few weeks as of tomorrow, so I’m going to get my very own house husband! Coming home every day to a home cooked meal and an already walked dog, just imagine. Life’s about to get good.

    I missed TV Talk yesterday, is anyone else watching season 4 of the Mindy Project? I hate Danny so much. I already thought their dynamic was super gross and insulting, and this season he is just making me so angry.

    • martinmegz says:

      What’s he doing? I want to know but not badly enough to watch. Did she have the baby yet?

      • old man fatima says:

        Ok, well spoilers obviously. And if anyone is on the fence, except for Danny this season is really great. He decided that she’s such a good mom she should stay at home and have more kids. He bullied her into giving up her career, including her own new fertility business, and tried to sneakily get her pregnant even though she has told him she doesn’t want more kids right now and does want to go back to work. He also left her alone with their new born for a few months and wouldn’t tell her when he was coming home, while she was back at work and being essentially a single mom. The season ends with him calling off the wedding and essentially giving her a “do what I want or gtfo” ultimatum. I hope he doesn’t have a come to Jesus moment. She was doing just great as a single mom while he was off in California. She needs to reconnect with her girlfriends and move back into her own apt again, and also Adam Polly needs to come back permanently. And also I’m much too emotionally invested in this character.

        It *is* a good season though, much better than 3. We meet her parents and they are DELIGHTFUL. They have a new southern gentleman doctor and he’s great. Basically every scene that Danny isn’t in is really funny and enjoyable. But ugh, fucking Danny. They do a flashback to her first day at work, and it turns out she was hired by accident and Danny wants her gone so he bullies her and is a gross bastard and creates this awful, hostile work environment and tells her she was hired by mistake! But then as she’s quitting he helps her move an armoire and everything’s ok? Like, Mindy! Leave! There are other OBGYN practices in New York I’m pretty sure!!

        Mostly, I watch it for the outfits. She gives me serious closet envy.

        • I only watched until he went to California and haven’t caught up, but it bothered me so much that he was adamant that she be a stay at home mom. I want to like Danny, but man is he a jerk.

  9. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Remember how I said the first day of spring was my reset button to act like a grown up? That is not going well.

    I have gotten less than 6 hours of sleep for days and days. I would love to get a solid 6-7 hours of sleep as soon as possible. Part of this is my lack of self control. Maybe watching TWO episodes of the Walking dead on a weeknight was not a great idea. But I keep waking up before my alarm goes off even though I’m so tired, and I don’t know how to solve that.

    I went out to dinner last night, so I got nothing productive done in the evening. I did not eat a pop tart, but brought chocolate cake home from the restaurant, so that is kind of a wash.

    Here is hoping tonight I can be productive AND get some sleep.

Comments are closed.