How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was nice! I was lazy Saturday, and just read and watched Daredevil (liking but not loving Season 2 so far), and then on Sunday my parents came up and we went out for our fancy steak dinner, which was excellent. Fancy steak dinners might be a new Easter tradition.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    Really good weekend! I ate so much sugar and told my 5yo nephew “NO” and “STOP” about 100 times, but it was fun. My older niece, who is 19, called her dad out for being a little bit sexist (he was mad the women’s college hockey championship was on tv and even though the men’s wasn’t) and I also noticed she has a “feminist” sticker on her laptop, so basically I love her so much. HOWEVER, on the drive back to her college she wasn’t able to identify Criminal by Fiona Apple until the refrain and then she said she didn’t know any other FA songs except for Paper Bag, which she knew from Bridesmaids. I’ve failed her.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      She’s missing out on so many great songs! I love Fiona Apple!

      • flanny says:

        I told her that if she is ever in a gathering with a bunch of women my age to just mention Fiona Apple and they will all freak out. SHE SPEAKS TO OUR SOULS FOR SOME REASON.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was really great! Friday I took the day off to celebrate my kid’s first birthday which was really nice. We took some pictures and gave her some cake and that was all great! Then the next day we went to the park and then hung out the rest of the day and yesterday we went to my in-laws house for Easter/Birthday and that was fun as well! She’s very cute and now she’s 1 year old! Also, I hit my weight loss goal (at least the first goal – not done yet but hit the first huge milestone)! Way to go, me!

  3. hotspur says:

    Mine was off to a fun start — Saturday I tried acupuncture and it made me feel a little better. But also she told me to lay off coffee for two weeks. By the end of the day, that was all I could think about. I became scattered and ineffective.

    Sunday I was slightly more effective, and then got a bananas headache that required a four-hour nap. I blame the lack of coffee. But I ended the weekend by watching Dracula, which I was supposed to watch five weeks ago, so that’s something.

    Oh! Also, I was almost hit by a car. I was in a crosswalk, legally. The driver was adjusting his phone or something. It was alarming to see a driver and his passenger looking down until the last second, when the passenger looked up and was like, “Dude.” Then they veered. But didn’t really slow down? You guys, always keep your eyes on the road! Especially when making left-hand turns at 25 mph through busy intersections with crosswalks.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I had said I would eat, sleep, work, and watch the new Hunger Games, and I did all of these things except for the movie. We caught up on shows instead. The finale of the Walking Dead better be good because this season has been hit or miss.

    We ended up going to Mr. Costco’s family’s house for Easter – my plate included mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, green beans, and a brownie with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups baked into it. Potatoes and dessert – that’s a well balanced meal, right?

  5. catweazle says:

    I got my Nord and played with it a lot! I am annoyed though because the carrying case I bought for it is way too big so now I have to go back to Guitar Center and deal with their shitbag employees. But oh well!

    Yesterday I played with the baby sooooo much! He is getting so close to talking. He’s said “Mom,” “Dad,” “night night” and “bye bye” so far and he seems to understand what adults are saying a lot of the time. How the f do babies learn so much so fast???

    • hotspur says:

      Babies are amazing learners. I remember when my friend’s kid was 18 months, maybe two, we handed her a storage bag with super complicated seals on it, and she immediately started turning it over in her hands with a look of total concentration as she figured out how to open it. Which she was not supposed to be able to do. We had to take it away, because we’d only handed it to her as a joke and didn’t actually want her getting in. Man, the look of focus as she figured it out!

      As my scientific friend said while confiscating it, “And that’s why we’re on the top of the food chain.”

      • old man fatima says:

        One of Fatiman’s nephews is like that. The other 3 are super hyper mega-boys, but the middle one just goes off into the corner with something and reverse engineers it like a little genius. He’s 5.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Because they are blank slates. It’s amazing.
      My kid has learned that clapping is a response when you like something and HOLY SHIT THAT IS THE CUTEST THING EVER!!!!

  6. flanny says:

    Oh, Theresa! I thought of you multiple times this weekend because I slept in my sister’s family’s basement and they have for some reason a larger-than-life Captain America cut-out propped up against the wall down there. He was basically looming over me as I slept each night.

  7. martinmegz says:

    I was supposed to write two articles and finish ten hours of research on a freelance project but instead I wrote one article and watched many episodes of Sports Night and finished the book my mom sent me. I really don’t know what happened to the weekend, why does it go by so fast? And why couldn’t I have an alien dad who gave me the power to stop time by touching my fingers together?

  8. Sota says:

    Thing that has been making me laugh all day… Why does the American Eagle website’s Easter Bunny look SO STONED???

  9. FRQ says:

    My family was in town over the weekend, and they had a great time! We did some touristy things, ate at a bunch of amazing restaurants, and redecorated my apartment. I generally prefer to make my own way and not have my parents pay for stuff, who am I to turn down their intense desiire to buy me a sofa and curtains?

    • old man fatima says:

      Tell us about this sofa and curtains. Did you score, or does your place look like a grandmas house now and you need to make some slip covers asap?

      • FRQ says:

        Definite score. My parents have good taste and would never allow my place to look like the Liberace House of Crap.

  10. I drank too much! It happens. Hung out with coworkers Friday, friends Saturday and Sunday. Went to the United Center and saw Syracuse come back with a win on Sunday. It was glorious, I was yelling so much. My only hope at the beginning of the game was that we wouldn’t embarrass ourselves and would maybe lose by less than ten. So them winning was wonderful.

    Of course, my bracket is destroyed now. Thanks, Nova, for being the only team I predicted going to the Final Four. Do well! but don’t be Cuse if we play in the final.

    Oh March, the only time I’m a sports fan.

  11. old man fatima says:

    I spent it with Fatiman’s family. His mom turns 65 on Wed, so his sister flew in from the UK to surprise her. We picked her up at the airport and nobody suspected a thing and we were going to film the reaction as we brought her in the house, but we were the last to arrive and had to park across the road, so everyone saw us before we got into the house and we missed all the good freaking out. The food was great and the nephews were cute and I finally learned the family card game that nobody outside of the family seems to have ever heard of, and I came pretty close to winning! I was partnered with Fatiman at first, but his mom took pity on me and switched with him because he’s terrible at it. It involves bidding on the number of points you’ll get, and he is a wild, reckless man who makes insane bids without his partner’s consent. 40 for 130, Fatiman?? How can we ever make that, we don’t even have any 5s!! I’ve watched them play a zillion times without figuring the game out, so I’m pretty glad I finally took the plunge.

    • hotspur says:

      I must learn more about this game. Have they named it? I love arcane “our family alone in the world plays this” card games!

      In high school my circle of friends played Full Contact Egyptian Ratscrew. The family mainly stuck to Bullshit and Uno.

      • old man fatima says:

        They call it “Auction.” It has 500 rules. His mom is so good at it, according to his dad, because of her alliance with the devil. You have to bid on your hand, and the first team to 120 wins. Fatiman always ends up with -200 points because he calls every impossible bid that comes into his head. The ranking of the cards is nonsensical, and is different for each suit. Cards are dealt until two people have Jacks, and that’s how you pick partners. Ace of hearts is the highest, and then 5 of the trump suit, and then it’s all over the board (they needed to draw me a diagram). Everyone gets a chance to bid, or hold, or pass.The team with the highest bid are the ones who earn or lose points. Everyone has 5 cards, and puts down one card per hand, and highest card takes the pile. You get 5 points per pile and 10 points for the pile with the highest card in that round. You can do straight bids between 20 and 30, or bonkers bids like “120 for 30” or “60 for 100,” which have been explained to me but I have no idea what they mean. Fatiman is pretty much the only one who ever bids them, so I assume they’re insane. Although once he called one of these nutty bids and won the whole game with one hand, and he uses that to argue that they are tactical bids and not just the ramblings of a madman.

      • Commentatrix says:

        My family has one of these too, and it’s Canasta, and it’s supes fun. You can play with two decks or cards or a rummy set, but everyone in my extended family has fancy rummy sets with wooden stands and nice tiles because we don’t mess around.

  12. artdorkgirl says:

    I have a cold but I stayed home and made amazing food this weekend. Saturday night I made cheese enchiladas and FINALLY got the red sauce right! Then Sunday I’m made sort of the faux-beef bourgenon (sp?) with mashed potatoes. OMG YUM.

    Now I’m in NYC. I’m so fancy you guys.

  13. i used to comment occasionally as “kenneth ellen” on videogum but I totaled my car today so I am now tipsy enough to contribute. I feel like I know you all even though I don’t, at all! Maybe in the future I will be less creepy and more normal. Apologies in advance now .

Comments are closed.