Tuesday TV Talk

So I am currently unemployed as of last week. My first official act was to lay on my couch for an entire day and watch 10 episodes of The Flash. It was a solid day. So let’s get down to discussing our shows!

The Flash – I know that it was a million years ago but the Earth-2 episodes were amazing. I would definitely be down for an entire spin-off of Earth-2 with Iris wearing super awesome outfits, Barry being a hot mess and Cisco being evil. The scene where Barry talked to his Earth-2 mom on the phone broke my heart a lot though as this show is wont to do.

RuPaul’s Drag Race – So, I’ve actually never watched this show but last Friday I watched the first three episodes of the new season and it was really fun! So far my favorites are Thorgy, Bob and ChiChi. I think I will for sure stick with this show for the season at least.

Emmerdale – ugh, I forgot how much Holly sucks. The only redemptive thing I can possibly imagine with her return is the potential for a scene with Holly, Victoria, Finn, Robert and Adam all drinking a beer with Aaron in the Woolpack and someone making a snarky comment about how Aaron’s had his way with all of them. If this also results in someone revealing to Robert that Aaron lost his virginity to Robert’s sister and pointing out that Aaron has slept with Adam’s sister, wife, brother and brother-in-law, all the better (god I love soap operas). This is my dream. Emmerdale, make it happen. Also, the story with Ashley and his dementia continues to be heartbreaking.

I feel like I for sure watched a lot more shows this week that I had feelings about but honestly, I forget what they were. So take it away from here!

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. flanny says:

    Well, I am heartbroken about Project Runway. My girl Valerie was eliminated. 😦

    But in bigger news, Grantchester is back!

    DON’T WORRY ABOUT ME I AM FINE.

    • summerestherson says:

      GRANTCHESTER!!!

      How depressing was that ep though? Felt like a bummer way to start a season, shirtlessness notwithstanding.

      • flanny says:

        All the episodes are kind of sad! But it looks so pretty in Grantchester that I forget how sad it can be until I’m too deep into the episode!

        • summerestherson says:

          I know they’re all like that because of all the murder in this tiny, tiny village, but this was like… the Anglican church covering up a rape and a botched abortion and possible paternal sexual abuse and I was like WHOA SLOW DOWN GRANTCHESTER I need another scene of Sidney and Geordie hanging out playing backgammon or something! Also needed more Dickens the dog.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was mad that Valerie went home for that outfit. There were a few looks that were worse in my opinion.

      • flanny says:

        It seemed like they kicked her off because they thought she wasn’t showing off her talent as much as she could. So why wouldn’t you keep her on so you could keep seeing her talent? I dunno, I feel like Valerie’s outfits were the ones I was always excited to see and the ones that had a consistent look and style. What does everyone else design? I couldn’t even tell you.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Agreed. Hers were always good. In the past, I have really liked Kini’s work, but I’m not really into most of what he has made this season. I love Emily because I appreciate fashion forward streetwear that I will never be cool enough to wear. Plus she has made some badass hoodies, and that is my favorite item of clothing. i have no idea what Alexander is ever going to make – I’m thinking he will be going home soon. Top two should probably be Ken and Dom.

  2. Kate says:

    I don’t watch the Flash, but he was on last night’s Supergirl! Such a nice cute boy! He and Supergirl were like an adorable brother/sister team.

  3. Sota says:

    My friend who I mooched my Netflix from moved to china and cancelled her account. I keep meaning to sign up, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet because I haven’t been home much. I guess I just need to make sure I get signed up before Kimmy Schmidt comes back.

    I did LOL pretty hard at the fact that my parents are big fans of Cooper Barrett’s Guide to Surviving Life (I think thats the title). If you knew how conservative my parents are you would be shocked at this too, but I have watched a few eps with them, and it has some fun moments for sure. Also the show the ONeals I want to watch but I haven’t gotten around to it. Maybe tonight.

    I think I am caught up on TVD. Now I cant remember if there is one more for me to watch. I should prob look into that.

    • flanny says:

      RE O’Neals: I’m just very happy that Ryan Laserbeam from hit children’s television show True Jackson VP got another job.

  4. FRQ says:

    So there has been some talk around the blogosphere about how Broad City has jumped the shark. Do you guys agree? I think the last 2-3 episodes were weaker than usual, but Jesus is it still better than most comedies out there. Are we as a TV watching society to the point where we deem a show dead after a handful of subpar episodes?

    • nastyemu says:

      I’m a few episodes behind, but that can’t possibly be the case. The Co-op episode was barely a month ago and it was fucking great.

    • flanny says:

      Pffft, people just need something to thinkpiece about.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’m at least 3 episodes behind. This season has not been as strong in my opinion, but there are still way too many hilarious moments per episode that I can’t agree it has jumped the shark.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I haven’t felt that it’s worse at all but even if it is, it’s still better than most everything else on TV right now…

    • FRQ says:

      I’ve learned a valuable lesson today: we are right and every one else can go fuck themselves.

  5. nastyemu says:

    Girls was, against the wishes of everyone, 100% Marnie this week. But, it wasn’t bad? She’s remains THE WORST, and I still don’t think her character is recognizable as an actual human, but it was entertaining. Ultimately it just made me more upset that Shosh never got her own episode in Japan (assuming she’s done in Japan). More Shosh and more Ray please.

    I drove a lot on Sunday so I ended up napping through most of Vinyl. That may be the proper way to watch it.

    • hotspur says:

      This is a good gif. I only watched the first season of Girls and sometimes thought it was super overrated, but I definitely recognized Shosh as a girl I knew well and loved to death in my age 21-25 NYC era.

      • nastyemu says:

        I’m an old man so I couldn’t even make it through the first season. Fortunately Femu kept watching and eventually I caught on and caught up. Everyone hates on Lena Dunham so much that I don’t think any blogs even write about the show anymore, but the character development that’s happened over the last five years is right there with the best shows of the era. Marnie is still THE WORST though.

  6. I have two episodes of Dare Devil left! And honestly, some of the violence and gore is starting to get to me. I was eating dinner during one Punisher scene last night and almost threw up. Love the show, but I honestly like the fight scenes better when it’s martial arts stuff rather than poke eyeballs out stuff.

    Has anyone watched it? Should we have a discussion about it?

    • I’m about halfway through the season! And eh, I dunno. I like it but it isn’t really gripping me like it did last season. I’m really enjoying everyone yelling at Matt, though, because I love him dearly, but he deserves it.

      (Also: that stairwell fight! SO GOOD.)

      • I think it might be a little bloated. There are a lot of great individual moments, but it doesn’t feel as tightened. Too many bad guys! Though just wait, there’s some really awesome stuff in the back half.

  7. Sota says:

    Oh also…bummer about the unemployment. Glad you have tv to keep you company during this time. 😦

  8. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    iZombie continues to be fantastic!

    Is anyone watching Hap and Leonard? It’s decent, a little too slow at times, but since it’s only 6 episodes, I’m in for the whole season.

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am enjoying lots and lots of stuff. The Americans is a great show! Full Frontal with Samantha Bee continues to kill it. John Oliver also. As I said up there, Broad City is still the best ever.

    • Is The Americans finally back? It’s been so long I barely remember what happened last season.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yeah it’s been on for a couple of weeks now. Last season ended with a big deal thing that you’ll remember once you start watching the new season!!

        • Oh I definitely remember that! But that’s pretty much it. I’ll have to scan some imdb summaries before starting this season.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Couplea murders here, some espionage there, lots of Martha being the saddest character on television ever…you get the gist. I’m the same way where I forget everything and want to rewatch the whole previous season but who has time for that?

  10. Sota says:

    OH! I forgot I wanted to share this with you guy, my brother sent it to me yesterday…

    Netflix Party is a Chrome extension for watching Netflix remotely with friends, e.g., for movie nights with that long-distance special someone. It synchronizes video playback and adds group chat.

    https://www.netflixparty.com/

    • summerestherson says:

      What a great thing!!!

    • flanny says:

      Should we watch something as a family?

      • nastyemu says:

        We were supposed to watch The X-Files together! (I’m not bitter, I generally avoid adding more tv shows to my queue in favor of video game time)

      • FRQ says:

        Kimmy Schmidt?

        • nastyemu says:

          Obviously I will watch Kimmy with you guys, but this is also going to be a high priority show for me and Femu(and probably everyone else), which means whenever we watch it together I will have either have already seen it or will probably have to watch it again, which is why my recommendation was a less popular show, which I think people are less likely to want to watch more than one at a time.

        • FRQ says:

          It sounds like we need to start small, like with a movie.

        • nastyemu says:

          A movie is a great idea. Has anyone seen Dracula 3000?

      • nastyemu says:

        Can I nominate Love? I watched the first episode and I didn’t hate it but without people to complain about it to I probably won’t watch any more. You’re The Worst just seemed so much better.

        • flanny says:

          I watched Love and I say your time is better spent doing almost anything.

        • nastyemu says:

          I’m not sure why I said I didn’t hate it, because I absolutely hated the main guy. So yeah, let’s not watch that. Also, You’re The Worst was good. There should be a HuluPlusParty.com or something.

  11. old man fatima says:

    I know I said I was going to take a break from the farm shows because I was too sad when Edwardian Farm ended, but we watched all of World War Two Farm and I regret nothing. I didn’t think it would be very interesting because all the equipment is modern and they don’t have to slake quicklime in a gigantic kiln to de-acidify the soil or anything, but it was intense! Everything is rationed! And the govt made everyone farm ALL of their land and graded them on it, so they had to pull out hedgerows and try to till clay and the little patches of grass beside the road to get a decent flax crop or their excuse for dodging the draft would be revoked! Ruth was not at the top of her game because she had to make bread from silage and make cakes out of mashed potato and jam, and dresses out of flour sacks (her flour sack dress was ON POINT, though), but the boys were in fine form. Also, it introduced the word “ensile” into our vocab, which means to put silage into a silo, a silo being a container that holds silage and silage being the thing you ensile into a silo. Lots of very circular definitions! But it’s becoming a problem, because during a sexy moment Fatiman used the word “ensile” as part of dirty talk, so I think we should take some time away from the farm shows for a little while.

    • nastyemu says:

      Did Fatiman refer to his penis as a silo? Please hi-five him for me if he did.

      • old man fatima says:

        I guess in this scenario his penis would have been the silage, to my vagina’s silo.

        • nastyemu says:

          Ah, shit. I don’t recommend anyone do what I just did and re-read your original comment but replacing silage/silo with penis/vagina.
          Sorry.

    • Sota says:

      This is amazing. Spicing up your dirty talk with farm lingo is amazing! Farm erotica actually might be a new thing for you to write!

Comments are closed.