Homeless Monsters Tournament of Hotties: Other Non-North American Foxes Part 2

We’re inching closer to the end of the first round of voting, with only two half-brackets to examine! Today, we tackle Part 2 of the Other Non-North American Foxes division.

David Tennant (6) vs. Colin Farrell (11)

If you’ve watched Jessica Jones, please try to put that out of your mind when considering David Tennant. He was adorable in plenty of things before playing the Creepiest Creep in Creeptown! Most would cite Doctor Who, but I’m going to give a special shoutout to my current favorite movie to put on when I’m too drunk to go to sleep and need something pleasant but stupid to lull me to slumber: The Decoy Bride. I don’t know what the following GIF is from but if you do, please tell me because that eyeliner is working in mysterious ways.

Colin Farrell is the bad-boy counterpoint to the somewhat milquetoast David Tennant. He’s got a charming accent, a handsome face, and eyebrows that could land him in the Honorary Peter Gallagher Hall of Fame. Don’t pretend you don’t want to climb into the tub and share that bottle with him!

 

James McAvoy (3) vs. Godfrey Gao (14)

James McAvoy is a bit of a puzzle to me, because he is undeniably foxy but I have never seen him in a single movie that wasn’t terrible. Make better choices, James! Like, for example, calling me! My number is [REDACTED]!

On the opposite side of the coin, I have never seen any movies Godfrey Gao is in! Possibly because the only thing he’s been in Stateside is The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. So how do I even know who he is? Because I’ve taken a lot of Buzzfeed quizzes and he seemed to keep popping up in the “Pick a celebrity to date” choices. And I can see why!

 

Diego Luna (7) vs. Rodrigo Santoro (10)

The crush I had on Diego Luna circa 2005 was epic. First ignited by watching him make out with his buddy Gael Garcia Bernal in Y Tu Mama Tambien, it was cemented by one of my all time favorite movies, Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights. There are criminally few GIFs of him in recent years so let’s take a trip back to that movie and be super jelly of Romola Garai for a sec.

Rodrigo Santoro is the standard-bearer for the male side of the “putting glasses on an improbably hot person makes them believable as an intellectual” movie cliche. And as long as we’re visiting the early ’00s, let us gaze upon him in that pivotal role!

 

Ewan McGregor (2) vs. Romain Duris (15)

If you know me, you know that nudity parity in film and television is VERY important to me. Precious few movies and shows pass the Catweazle Test (for every pair of boobs, you must also show a wang), but Ewan McGregor spent a good chunk of the ’90s singlehandedly working to end that with his work in movie like The Pillow Book and my all-time fave, Velvet Goldmine. He may not let it all hang out as much these days, but he’s still keeping it foxy.

Finally we have Romain Duris, who, if you know him at all, you probably know from L’Auberge Espagnole and its sequesl (Russian Dolls and Chinese Puzzle). If you are wondering how hot he is, the answer is “hot enough to have played Audrey Tautou’s love interest in multiple movies.” But apparently he is a niche interest because there are no quality GIFs to be found! I must resort to instructing you all to view this still picture and then be jealous of the lady in this GIF.

 

Voting will close on Friday at 11PM ET. You can view the full bracket here!

About catweazle

Catweazle is an 11th century wizard trying to make his way through the modern world while living in a disused water tower with his pet toad.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Homeless Monsters Tournament of Hotties: Other Non-North American Foxes Part 2

  1. summerestherson says:

    That gif of David Tennant is from Fright Night which Colin Farrell was also in. Colin Farrell was a vampire and David Tennant was like a fake David Blaine Vegas magician type person. And yes, his eyeliner and leather pants totally work for him in that movie. (DAVID TENNANT OVER COLIN FARRELL ALL THE WAY.)

    The first time I ever saw James McAvoy was as Mr. Tumnus and it made me uncomfortable and confused that I was attracted to a faun. I also find him really attractive in X-Men for some reason, I think mostly because all he does in those movies is be angsty and sad about Michael Fassbender.

    • catweazle says:

      I shall be Netflixing that movie shortly! I haven’t seen that Narnia shit or any of the X-Mens so I am basing my opinion mostly on Becoming Jane and Trance.

    • old man fatima says:

      I legit thought David Tennant was Russel Brand for 75% of Fright Night, and then at one point he says something and it sounds exactly like Doctor Who and I was like “ooooohhhhhhhhhh, ok.”

      It’s a surprisingly enjoyable movie.

    • Erika says:

      Usually I’m not that interested in McAvoy. He seems like a cool dude, and he’s a good actor, but I don’t find him that attractive. But as Professor X, I do think he’s attractive. It’s kind of weird. And I can’t explain this with my tragic drunk explanation for why I find Haymitch Abernathy and Rust Cohle attractive when Harrelson and McConaughey are otherwise kind of meh for me.

  2. gnidrah says:

    Ooooooh ooh time for my Ewan McGregor story!

    My cousin was dropping her daughter off at school, and her daughter opened the car door, got out of the car and who should ride his bike into her, but EM. And my cousin, in her infinite wisdom, could think of nothing better to shout out than, “EWAN MCGREGOR!!!”

    That’s the story.

    (Please read Your Voice In My Head and you will look at Colin Farrell in a whole new light)

    • This is a great story but because I’m a cyclist my immediate reaction was “you could’ve killed the biker! Always look before opening doors!”

      • Sota says:

        It would have been a very dark turn in the story if Gnid’s cousin’s daughter killed Ewan McGregor.

      • gnidrah says:

        The story only really works if you can hear my cousin’s shrill British accent telling him off like a school marm. Plus, my cousin’s daughter was tiny and was fully out of the car, so there were no doors involved!

        Anyways it was supposed to be a bit of a laugh so I will leave it there. I don’t want to upset anyone!

    • summerestherson says:

      This is the best! Ugh, if only 1) he wasn’t married and 2) instead of your cousin’s daughter it was an adult female (ie: me) this would make a great meet-cute! *sighs*

    • martinmegz says:

      I did the next best thing to reading the book, I googled a summary. That’s actually exactly how I expected Colin Farrell to act in a relationship. Is there something more in the book than the story about how he broke up with her? To be honest, the fact that he did it in person kind of impresses me. I guess I haven’t really dated any nice guys ever.

      • gnidrah says:

        Ugh, fat finger! The downvote is for Colin though.

        Basically yes, that’s the book although there’s a lot of other stuff about her life too, how she became a journalist on a music magazine, stationed in NYC, at the age of about 14 (guess how that went?!) and her issues with mental health. It touched me a great deal and I still cry buckets whenever I read it.

    • catweazle says:

      In my head, he looked like this during that story:

  3. flanny says:

    Again, Jude Law and Ewan are/were best friends, so a win for Ewan is a win for Jude. (Maybe? Are they friends anymore? Who are your friends now, Jude? I worry.)

    • Sota says:

      I like the Flanny’s bracket is dictated by how many degrees of separation each specific hot guy is from best friendship with Jude.

  4. hotspur says:

    I applied my Trainspotting rule and voted for Ewan. Looking forward to the next bracket when I get to vote for the guy who played Spud.

  5. old man fatima says:

    Ewan McGregor is a mega babe, but when I was an impressionable youth I saw a great movie called Gadjo Dilo about a young man played by Romain Duris who goes to Romania searching for a singer on a tape his father had and falls in with a family of Roma. It’s such a good movie (if it isn’t, I haven’t seen it since 1998 and I don’t want to hear about its failures) and Romain Duris has been in my wheelhouse ever since.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    Guys!! I know it’s late, but I wanted you to know I got to cast my votes!!

  7. Simon Spidermonk says:

    I was going to comment that David Tennant vs Colin Farrell is the most hilariously unbalanced match-up so far, only to find out that COLIN FARRELL IS WINNING!! What kind of Twilight Zone, Bizarro World bullshit is this?!?

Comments are closed.