So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was okay! Pretty unremarkable. I did laundry and stuffed my face with bread, because my dad brought me a loaf of homemade rye when he came up for Easter, and obviously I can’t risk it going stale.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. summerestherson says:

    Work has been tolerable today, except there’s rumors about staffing cuts swirling around, so that’s always unsettling! I know based on actual performance I am not in any danger, but I also know that sometimes that doesn’t matter when corporations start chopping. *fingers crossed*

  2. flanny says:

    Yesterday I got home from work and though, “Oh I have a little bit of a sore throat.” And then by 8:30 yesterday night I was feverish and could barely swallow. I went to bed then and tossed and turned all night. I thought maybe I would go in to work because I think by the time my alarm had gone off I just felt clammy, not feverish, but then i got out of bed and immediately ran into my door jam so I didn’t feel like operating a moving vehicle was the best option. So it’s been hot liquids and soup and toast in bed all day and I feel better except that my nose is starting to run now, so I guess this is a cold. Cool.

  3. Sota says:

    My day is alright. Yesterday I woke up with a sore throat (Hi Flanny!) and now im all congested and annoyed about it. So far its not a full fledged cold…I keep praying it is just allergies instead. I got chinese food for lunch and was completely unimpressed. They totally skimped on the amount of chicken they gave me and it was cold. Not cool. I should have known better than to eat anywhere except my favorite chinese place, but I feel iffy and didnt want to walk another 3 blocks. Won’t make that mistake again. Other than that….we have a client in the office all afternoon, so I will be stuck in meetings, but it probably means I will get to eat some of the cookies we got for the clients…so I guess its not so bad after all.

  4. catweazle says:

    I am back to work after a five day weekend. I decided to celebrate the end of my “vacation” by ordering takeout last night from a new gay sports bar near me. Judging by my order, what makes them gay is the fact that their mozzarella sticks are a lot longer and more phallic than other mozzarella sticks. But unfortunately they also had some kind of like multigrain breading so the taste of seeds and herbs totally overwhelmed the cheese. F-

    Apparently I am still mad about it today and right now somebody in this office is eating something that smells like bacon so to use a word I really hate, I am currently “hangry.” My coworkers polished off the rest of the leftover Christmas candy I had in my candy dish while I was gone so I can’t even do anything about it until I get home in four hours!

  5. old man fatima says:

    I have a bit of a cold, which isn’t really enough to call in sick for but I called in sick anyway! Working in foreclosures is mentally and emotionally exhausting and yesterday was particularly tough and I felt I needed it. Also, we’ve been working on the house every spare moment and last weekend AND next weekend will be spent entirely with Fatiman’s family, who are amazing but sometimes I like a little quiet “me” time. I cleaned the house top to bottom and got groceries and new super cute oven mitts (see below) and took the dogs (we’re dogsitting for Fatiman’s parents this week)(plus Chompsky, obv) for a nice long walk. I am debating making ginger cookies. I’d like to, but then I’ll eat them. What a dilemma. Now just snuggled up between dogs for a bit of Netflix. Not too bad at all.

    • martinmegz says:

      Easy justification for calling in sick: it’s the thoughtful thing to do. Why risk infecting your coworkers with your cold when maybe their immune systems are strong enough to handle it like yours did?

  6. I had a margarita at lunch and now my face feels bright red. Otherwise I am doing some boring work and trying not to fall asleep.

    I also got an email from the managing partner being all “it’s been two months since you restarted, let’s catch up!” I really like and respect him, but for whatever reason I am super nervous about this? I’ve never heard of the managing partner meeting with a new hire? Though I’m not really a new hire, I’m an old hire that was laid off and rehired. So I guess it’s abnormal. I also just need to get over the panic that I might get laid off again. They wanted me back for a reason, I need to own it.

  7. FRQ says:

    My day has been alright, but last night I had a crazy dream. I dreamt that I flew to New York for an interview to work at Sony (no specific division, just them). On my way to their HQ, I ran into Lena Dunham, who apparently needed help solving a riddle, where the clues could only be solved when a woman enters a parallel universe, and all men are sillouhettes, but with words written on them. After helping her solve said mystery, it was revealed that 1) she was dating one of my best friends for some reason and 2) she was the one interviewing me for the job,. Somehow my performance did not pass muster, and I was not considered for the position. I was given a Sony baseball cap as a consolation, and was sent on my way home.

    I guess the moral of the story is Flonase before bed isn’t for everyone.

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has had some ups and downs. I was annoyed about something with my boss but I’m trying to deal with stuff with him better. Then someone asked for my input on something and I’m embarrassed by how much it meant to me to have my opinion asked. I go back and forth with this job because I love this industry and what I’m doing very much but I know I can do more (and I’m bored half the time) but I don’t think this boss will ever let me shine or advance. Plus there just aren’t any comparable jobs in this town right now.

  9. martinmegz says:

    Well I need some major life advice. I got offered a job that pays a little bit more than my current job, with equity that could be worth a lot in the future if the company succeeds. It would be more challenging work and a step up in my career but without the current 100% job security I have now. I could quit my job that’s pretty easy and flexible and secure for a better job then end up unemployed in 6 months. Pop quiz, hotshots. What do you do?

    • old man fatima says:

      I did this last winter and ended up unemployed and flip flopping between jobs for most of a year. I think it could be a very good move though, under the right circumstances! What kind of odds does this new company have of survival? How integral would your role be? My trouble was that I took a job whose sole purpose was to fix a poorly run company, but then the boss hated that someone was trying to make changes (even though that’s what I was hired for) and blocked everything I tried to do, so the company just remained poorly run.

      Let’s say the worst happens and the new job tanks. What is the industry like in your area? Would having held this position, even for a short time, be a boost to your employability? Also, do you have enough of a savings to deal with potential unemployment?

      • martinmegz says:

        I think the company will certainly survive, the risk is them being unhappy with my performance and firing me, which they did to someone in the past. It’s a new role running content so they can focus on business. As far as savings, I’d have two months before having to move home to my parents or cash in my simple IRA, so not much of a buffer.

        • old man fatima says:

          Oh gosh, if the company is stable I say go for it! You can do this! Read up on the job, put in some extra hours in the beginning, really show them that you are more than willing to work on any weaknesses you find. Better money, more responsibility, greater job satisfaction, future payoffs??? Lady, get out there!

        • hotspur says:

          Would you be producing most of the content, so it is all about whether they like your personal style, or would you be overseeing a staff? Would you have ability to hire or fire or manage that staff?

        • martinmegz says:

          Hotspur, I’d be managing a team so presumably if someone’s work was bad I could ask to boot them. Another factor in this is that I’d be working from home with no actual human contact but also no need to wear pants.

      • artdorkgirl says:

        Don’t ask a person who’s quit two perfectly fine jobs to go “to school” for job advice. Can I tell you about painting?

    • mordonez says:

      If, worst case, the start-up tanks, I think it’s reasonably well understood that “the start up tanked” is a good reason to be looking for work. You’d have 6-12 months of personal awesomeness and innovation and having-put-in-longish-hours-that-couldn’t-save-the-noble-but-doomed enterprise to put on your resume to go along with whatever you’ve been doing to date.

      Are you sort of comfortable with there being jobs available in your industry if this doesn’t work out? Like, you’re pretty sure that a year from now you won’t be assistant managing a Starbucks because suddenly there are no jobs in your field? If so, I would say go for it, BUT I am talking out of both sides of my mouth. I’ve stayed in what has become an increasingly easier and low-stress job for years, because it pays pretty well and I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

      Alternatively, if what you are most about is having a job that supports the portion of your life outside of work that you find more interesting (for me, increasingly, that’s playing music), then maybe you stick with what you know.

      • martinmegz says:

        I have a wide range of fields that I could work in. I honestly don’t know how long it would take to find a new job, I haven’t looked for one in 10 years. I wasn’t even looking for this, it just happened! I like my life a lot, but what if another 10 years go by and nothing changed? Would I be okay with that? I have to move on at some point, I just really hate change.

  10. artdorkgirl says:

    You guys!! I’m still sick with this stupid cold (shout-out to my sisters in sickdom!) so I had to skip trivia in Brooklyn last night. However, I am currently getting hammered on some sort of microbrew cider at an English pub so whatever!!! I’ve turned into a data miner on this research trip, which I hope turns into real dissertation gold.

    Other than that, I kinda just want to go home and snuggle my cats.

Comments are closed.