It’s Project Club Time!

I’m not feeling great this week, so I was worried I didn’t accomplished my goals, but I checked last week’s post, and I totally have! Three workout sessions: check. They were half-assed, but there was three of them. More writing: check. Cleaning before my parents came over: check. Hooray for reasonable goal-setting!

This week, I need to write more, as usual, and amp up the workouts to include strength training.

 

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    When we started this back in January, I listed out some goals, and have accomplished zero of them. I’ve avoided Project Club for the last few weeks because I knew I was setting myself up for failure, but I’m back and ready to get some stuff done!

    – Work website – The design is 99% done, but I don’t consider this project completed until the site is live. Our IT guy “doesn’t do web,” so I have to figure out how to get it from the local server on my computer to the world wide web. Spoiler alert – I don’t know how to do that.

    – Organize stuff around the house – There is a ridiculously large pile of mail on our dining room table. More than half of it is probably junk mail, but it still needs to be sorted. Also need to organize the pantry and dresser.

    – Go to the bank!

    – Clean out my car – I wanted to do this yesterday, but no such luck.

    – Make blueberry pancakes and/or bake the pumpkin pie that is in the freezer. Last time I baked a frozen pie, I injured myself. Which tells you how great of a cook I am!

    • summerestherson says:

      Please tell me more of the frozen pie injury…

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I burned multiple fingers! The instructions said to cook pie on a cookie sheet. I removed the sheet (with potholders) but the pie had to back in the oven, and without thinking, I just grabbed the cookie sheet to put it back in. Luckily only one finger started to blister, and by the end of the night, it had mostly gone away.

        Silver lining – the pie was good!

  2. flanny says:

    I was actually doing a really good job being creative until I got sick and then couldn’t think in a straight line. But today I’m at about 80% and I’m ready to get back in the game. I also found a doctor in my insurance website! So now my goal for next week will be to call that doctor and make an appointment.

  3. FRQ says:

    It’s been some time since I updated the club on my cultural enrichment project, so I’ll spill my guts on everything that’s happened. Since January, I’ve taken tai chi classes from three different instructors. The first one was through my gym, which is a college gym (P.S. I work for a college). The class was taught by students, and it had seemingly no structure and felt like a bunch of college kids dicking around. The 2nd set of classes was taught through this healing arts center. While I respect what they do, the tai chi they teach is a watered down, new age version of it, and it is not at all what I was looking for. The 3rd set of classes, well, I enjoyed! However, the school’s location and hours were inconvenient for me, and what I was learning wasn’t interesting enough to interfere with the rest of my life. On top of that, when I told the instructor about my decision, he wouldn’t accept my resignation, and kept badgering me about staying on with the fervor of a telemarketer. I was not having that shit.

    This week I decided to depart from tai chi and pursue a different martial art: aikido. I observed a class last week, and I really liked what I saw. I signed up for (yet another) trial period, and had my first class on Tuesday. The results were mixed. The head instructor is a cool guy, and the techniques taught in class were cool. However, the class’s pace was a bit fast, and with all the hand and foot coordination it was overwhelming. Also, the senior student who was helping me learn the ropes was kind of a dick. Every time I’d do something incorrectly, he’d scold me in a condescending tone. Okay, 1) I’m not a child, don’t fucking talk to me like that and 2) IT WAS MY FIRST GODDAMN DAY.

    But as I stated, subject matter was pretty interesting, so hopefully things will pick up in my next class tonight. Otherwise I will not enjoy the next couple of months.

    • hotspur says:

      Interesting! Hopefully what seems like a fast pace today will come to feel like a comfortable pace as you settle in.

  4. catweazle says:

    I haven’t really finished any projects I’ve ever talked about on here but I DID manage to drop some stuff off at the dry cleaners on Monday which you wouldn’t think would be a difficult thing since it’s literally around the corner from my apartment but for some reason it seems impossible to actually do.

    I am going to go back to the very beginning now and try to actually start working on my pitiful movie blog which has only one entry. Literally all I have to do to finish the 12 Years a Slave post is add some screen caps but I’ve been putting it off almost as long as the OC recap that I am going to now add to my project list (though that may be more long term, as apparently recapping Drag Race in a timely manner has become impossible for me).

    • summerestherson says:

      Ha, I’ve been meaning to drop some stuff at the Goodwill donation site not even a mile from me and I have yet to do it. All the stuff is still sitting next to my door waiting to be taken to the car!

      • catweazle says:

        I have three trash bags full of clothes and shoes to donate that have been sitting on my bedroom floor for literally years.

        • Sota says:

          If youre anything like me you end up digging into those donation bags and randomly wearing things you swore you were never going to see again.

  5. hotspur says:

    I plan to finish a movie review for you guys tonight. Saturday a friend and his family fly into town, so my project time gets gimped for the next seven days, so I’m not going to set any real goals except the movie review. Which just needs screengrabs now. So it’s feasible!

  6. summerestherson says:

    OHMYGOSH Y’ALL.

    My friend texted me out of the blue saying she won a trip to an all inclusive resort in Punta Cana in June and did I want to go with her???? All I have to pay for is my plane ticket and I was like UMMMM YEAH I THINK SO.

    So, I need to get my ass in gear and lose a million pounds and get in the gym because I AM GOING TO A RESORT IN THE CARIBBEAN IN 2.5 MONTHS!

    My projects are basically to stick to my diet and exercise every single weekday.

    • Sota says:

      YESSS THATS AWESOME!

    • FRQ says:

      Man, that’s an incentive if I’ve ever heard one.

    • nastyemu says:

      Woooo that’s awesome. Buy your tourist pass ahead of time online so you don’t have to wait in line at the airport after you land. It’s almost certainly not included in the free trip.
      http://www.dgii.gov.do/tarjetaTuristica/en/about/Paginas/default.aspx

      • summerestherson says:

        Ooh, thanks for the heads up! I had no idea that was a thing.

        • nastyemu says:

          Here’s a few more DR tips:
          1) Most of the resorts there have time share programs. When you arrive and check in they will try to get you to schedule an “information session” or something like that. Just keep saying no. They will probably make you feel bad about it, but don’t do it.
          2) Learn some Spanish. The front desk, hosts/hostesses, bartenders, and entertainment staff will probably all speak excellent English, but most of the other staff probably won’t.
          3) The beaches there are public. If you’re on the beach you will be approached by people from off the resort trying to sell you excursions. Say no.
          4) Check a bag and pack lots of sunscreen. Seriously, the sun is like, right there, and sunscreen is really expensive at the resort.

        • summerestherson says:

          Thank you!!! Do you have any idea about passport requirements there? Because my passport expires in September, and I just read an article about some countries wanting you to have at least 6 months of validity on your passport and now I’m freaking out because I also read that it’s taking the State Dept. a long time to process passports!!! And I’m like “Should I pay to expedite my passport, but it expires in September, this is silly! Ahhhh!” I looked on the State Dept. website about the DR but I couldn’t find anything about length of passport validity, so I think I might just call the consulate?

  7. Sota says:

    Pretty hit or miss on my goals from last week:
    #1 Register to do my fitness test with my trainer. I have been slackkkking big time and if i want to do the bike race in August, I need to get my training plan going.
    Result: I made the appt with my trainer but then I got sick this week and cancelled it. So now my new goal will need to be to reschedule it. Also, additional goal to give my bike a tune up.
    #2 Start organizing what I need for my April vacation. Make a list of anything I need to buy before I go.
    Result: Yes! I started this. Tried on some clothes over the weekend and set them aside. I haven’t yet started the list, but I will do that today!
    #3 Start my taxes
    Result: Nope
    #4 Go to the carwash
    Result: Nope
    #5 Adding this goal…Need to make a workout/eating plan for the next week

  8. nastyemu says:

    I’ve kept working out daily and eating well, and tonight I’m playing basketball for the first time in several years. I know I’ll end up being sore in a day or two, but I’m excited to see where my actual fitness level is. Hopefully I don’t get murdered, because the people I’m playing with are strangers I found on reddit.

    My only other project is my continued job search, and there’s nothing new to report.

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I accomplished all of my goals! Pre-baby weight – check! back to workout routine – check! take awesome photos of my kid – check!! figure out this stupid closet plan – check!!!
    Now my projects are: continue my weight loss! mail back some pants (I have the shit printed out I just have to tape it shut and take it to the post office, ugh.). get my emissions checked. schedule this closet project and box my shit up and go through it. dye my hair! I’m going to do at-home balayge ombre. It might be awesome or it might be terrible!

  10. catweazle says:

    Oh also, I finished a work project today that I’ve been procrastinating on for weeks! It’s all very boring but basically I wrote a 15 page instructional document and it was due tomorrow so I’m very glad to be finished with it! I will celebrate with pizza rolls and beer tonight!

  11. old man fatima says:

    I think I hit nearly everything I wanted to this week except that I wanted to be done all the painting, and I still have some painting to do because I hate it more than anything so I’ll put it off forever!

    House stuff left to do:
    1. front door trim, trim in the new bathroom
    2. fucking painting
    3. caulking around the baseboards
    4. clean the yard

    Non-house stuff:
    1. get my winter tries switched for all seasons because SPRING IS HEEEEEERE!!
    2. oil change
    3. vet checkup? I’m not sure on this one. The cat is due for shots, but the dog isn’t due until August and she’s the only one who ever goes anywhere or does anything, so I feel like we should go on her schedule. Like, what can Mycroft catch from the inside of my house, where he stays in one spot for 90% of the day? But I also don’t want my vet to see that I missed his shots and give me Judgmental Eyes.

    Fitness:
    1. start running again. I used to run every day, and now not running mixed with living with a man who is fond of late night snacks means I’ve gained weight and I’m not happy about it! Plus I just like to run. When we move in May I’ll be a 5 min walk from Point Pleasant Park, which is 75 hectares of ocean-side trails and old ghosty ruins and things. I’ll have no excuse. They also do Shakespeare by the Sea in that park, and MEC does a 5 km run followed by an hour of yoga for free every Sunday there.
    2. grow a pair and stop joining Fatiman for his late night snacks. It doesn’t matter how delicious they are, nobody needs to make and eat an entire batch of oat cakes at 10 pm. The bastard does cross fit and runs, so he can get away with it (boo hoo I have a fit man who bakes, what a terrible life I lead)

Comments are closed.