Self-Aggrandizement Corner: I Wrote a Book

Double-Cover-620.jpg

The cover artist did a great job, right? He kicked ass. His name is Steve Morris and I’ve known him since second grade. When we were 15 I said if I ever wrote a book, he’d be the first person I’d call to do the cover. Twelve centuries later, I stuck to that, and he said yes. I should mention that he’s actually a professional cover artist now. He does covers for Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics.

Which is funny, because my book features vampires. And teens. A combination that has sort of caught on, the past 20 years. And now here’s my addition to the mythology, post Joss Whedon and Stephanie Meyer. (This is my official announcement post — no more just jamming it into a comment section.)

I want to thank you monsters, sincerely, for helping. “What’s that??” you cry, “We didn’t do crap! We’re jerks!” Well, except you’ve been super cool for years. That’s been a boon to my sanity, but additionally, posting here every day has made me a better writer. I would not have predicted this result when I first started commenting at videogum, but it’s true. I used to “surf” into some rando site, then get bollixed up in a thread under some snarky post, sweating out what internet persona to invent for myself. Should I be the Cynical Guy, the Cool Guy, the Guy With Relevant Factoids — how would Hunter Thompson handle it, orrr should I be more of a Henry Adams??  And so on. (Henry Adams?) Bollixed! But gradually at videogum, I noticed I was among friends. It was okay if I just wrote what I was thinking. And so I started to do that. I relaxed. And that made me a better writer.

Really, I guess, that’s a fancy way of saying I don’t even try anymore, and I blame you guys.

But the book is official now! You can preorder the ebook of volume 1 and get it Monday. (I priced volume 1 at 99 cents, but it is easily worth $1.15.) Or you can buy the print version of volume 1 and they’ll ship it right away.  You can also preorder the ebook of volume 2 and get it in May.

Okay, that’ll do.  I find any sort of “Look at me!” moment to be uncomfortable, and I hate being salesy, so let’s wrap this up. I hope you guys aren’t like, “Oof, hotspur’s gone ShamWow.”  It’s just that, the way the Amazon works is, the more people buy a thing, the more the site’s algorithm promotes it. So if you throw 99 cents in for vol 1, that ends up helping it to reach even more readers beyond our merry band.  And I thank you heartily.

As for the cover artist, Steve, I’m thrilled to ShamWow for him: You can look at some of his art here and buy some here.

About hotspur

hotspur is the videogum name of Luke Rooney, who usually makes the Kessel Run in 17 or 18 parsecs because, like, what is the rush? We will get to Kessel when we get to Kessel, just sit down and enjoy the run for chrissakes.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Self-Aggrandizement Corner: I Wrote a Book

  1. summerestherson says:

    8THIS IS SO EXCITING HOTSPUR!!! Congratulations, man! Who’s cool now, GARY?!

    (Also, did this post accidentally go up early a few days ago? Because I think I very blearily looked at it on my phone half-asleep, and then thought I must’ve fever dreamed it.)

  2. FRQ says:

    I would like to note that the “must buys” tag was my doing. Hotspur is not a self-centered prick (probably?).

    • hotspur says:

      I have other blind spots, though! Like forgetting to add tags, apparently, so thanks, FRQ. (And to answer summerestherson above, yes! I posted this accidentally and took it down in under a minute. That was traumatic, so I asked to have my posting abilities revoked and made FRQ schedule it.)

      I genuinely do not love self-promotion. I feel uncomfortable just watching other people do it, so welcome to my nightmare, but also: I mean it when I say thanks to you guys.

  3. nastyemu says:

    Congrats!

  4. flanny says:

    The physical version will be delivered to my doorstep on Monday! And I also accidentally bought a kindle version that will be automatically delivered to my android device because I don’t have a kindle! 2016! What a time to be alive!

  5. Sota says:

    Cheers hotspur! So happy for you! I will be ordering it for sure! When they make it into a movie, all of the HM family will expect to be invited to the premiere FYI.

  6. hotspur says:

    Thanks for buying it. I am humbled. (Flanny bought it twice! That’s terrifying!) I’m proud to say that your efforts have raised me to the #93 rank in Books > Teens > Literature & Fiction > Social & Family Issues > Dating & Sex. Woo-Hoo! Top 100! That’s so fun!

    And now, permit me to distract us from the me part of this (whew) by pointing out something I discovered yesterday about our old friend Kelly Conaboy — did you guys know she is in the New Yorker now? Because guess fucking what:
    http://www.newyorker.com/humor/daily-shouts/if-i-were-a-ballerina?mbid=social_twitter

    • FRQ says:

      Follow up question: what format of the book results in more money in your pocket? I know nothing about the literary industry, so forgive my ignorance.

      • hotspur says:

        Moneywise, they both are almost totally worthless unless they start to sell like hotcakes — then it adds up. This is basically the plot from Office Space, where they are scamming fractions of a cent so they can go live on a beach (and keep writing).

        A more real answer is that the print version sends about $1.40 my way and the ebook sends 35 cents (in both cases, I split it with a cowriter and cover artist) — BUT the ebook stands more chance of “breaking through” because of Amazon’s ranking system. So it is better to sell 30 ebooks than 30 softcovers, I think. I think. It’s a bit mysterious to me, too.

    • Kate says:

      😀
      That’s my girl.

    • old man fatima says:

      I’m going to buy it in a week once the thrill has worn off these goons so we can keep the sales plowing ahead.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This is so awesome!!! Congrats!!!!

  8. Kate says:

    I bought one I bought one! It’ll be no time ’til it’s made into a movie. Hotspur will become a Hollywood big wig.

  9. artdorkgirl says:

    THIS IS THE BEST NEWS!!!!

Comments are closed.