National Grilled Cheese Month Extravaganza!


According to the internet, April is National Grilled Cheese Month. What a great month! Until I was about nineteen, my experience with grilled cheese can be summed up by the above gif. White bread. American cheese. Butter (margarine). Then in college I discovered that you could put mustard in a grilled cheese sandwich, and then it was a slippery slope to fancy-ish grilled cheeses. Currently my favorite grilled cheese is sourdough bread, sliced ham, honey, apples (sometimes), and brie or Camembert. But this has been my favorite grilled cheese for upwards of three years, so I’m interested in finding new amazing grilled cheeses to try, and what better time to try new things than National Grilled Cheese Month??

So I am asking for your help. Comment with your favorite homemade grilled cheese and I’ll make at least one a week for the duration of April. The more recipes I have the more sandwiches I’ll make. There are just a couple of guidelines.

1) I want them sort of simple. By sort of simple I mean I don’t want to have to make another meal to put inside the grilled cheese. So no mac-n-cheese grilled cheese. Nothing that has to be pre-cooked before going in the bread, although I will make exceptions for bacon. If I can buy it pre-cooked or pre-made at my local midwestern big box grocery store (NOT Walmart), it’s okay.

2) I don’t currently have a panini press or anything of the sort, so it must be able to be grilled on a stove-top skillet. Sadly for my mouth but happily for my heart, that means no deep frying either.

I’ll come up with some sort of rubric and judge the sandwiches I make and at the end of the month someone will win. Will there be a prize? Maybe? I will regret this because I’m becoming more and more lactose intolerant? For sure!

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to National Grilled Cheese Month Extravaganza!

  1. facetaco says:

    Bacon, havarti (or blue cheese if you like blue cheese), and thinly sliced pear between whatever bread you like, because I am no bread snob. It’s the only way I will eat a pear (AKA the AJ Soprano of fruit).

  2. catweazle says:

    It is an abomination to put anything in a grilled cheese sandwich that isn’t cheese! With that in mind, I will share the recipe for the grilled cheese that caused me to gain 10 pounds my senior year of college (the only year I was on the fancy dining plan, which gave me access to this monstrosity). It is very simple: one slice each of cheddar, American, swiss, provolone, and muenster on Texas Toast.

    • flanny says:

      I have frozen Texas toast in my freezer. Do I need to cook it according to directions before making the sandwich? And then do I grill it again?

      • catweazle says:

        Hmm, I don’t know about frozen Texas Toast! I don’t want to make you go out and buy a fresh loaf so I’d say… do whatever feels right?

      • facetaco says:

        I would suggest letting the Texas Toast thaw completely, and then cooking the grilled cheese. This will ensure proper temperature while avoiding a double-cooked mess.

    • catweazle says:

      I just looked up the dining hall menu to double check the kinds of cheese and it looks like they no longer serve this beautiful creation 😦

    • so reddit actually has a grilledcheese sub and once this guy posted a very long rant about how everyone was posting pictures of MELTS NOT GRILLED CHEESE. A melt has other stuff, a grilled cheese is just cheese and bread. It was a wonderful rant to behold.

      I still consider grilled cheeses with stuff in them to be grilled cheese because if I ordered a melt people would get confused.

      • flanny says:

        Oooh, I never even thought about the distinction before!

      • martinmegz says:

        I was coming here to say that if it has more than one non-cheese ingredient, it’s a sandwich not a grilled cheese. So you could have a bacon grilled cheese, for example, but if you have bacon, caramelized onions, and fig jam with cheese then it’s just a delicious sandwich.

  3. artdorkgirl says:

    Ok. So here’s my recipe for a grilled cheese that tastes like some sort of amazing pizza.

    What you need: hearty bread (I usually go with italian); fresh mozzarella, sliced; sun-dried tomatos; arugula or spinach; dijon mustard; salt and pepper

    Assemble: spread a layer of dijon on each slice of bread, then add greens, mozz, and as many sun-dried tomatoes and their oil as you like to one slice. Add a dash of salt and pepper, then put the other slice on top.

    Cook: toast up in olive oil in skillet like a regular grilled cheese. I tend to smoosh it down a bit with a spatula. Once brown on both sides and the cheese is melty, cut in half and enjoy!

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    HOW THE HELL HAVE I LIVED THIS LONG AND NEVER HAD A GRILLED CHEESE SANDWICH WITH MUSTARD IN IT???? Do you know how much I love grilled cheese? More than that, do you have any idea how much I love mustard??? I’m freaking out a little bit. I feel confused and betrayed and like I don’t even know my life anymore.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Get thee to a kitchen!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        You’re right. Think not of all the grilled cheese sandwiches with mustard I’ve missed in my life, I must think of all the grilled cheese sandwiches with mustard I’ve yet to consume in my life. So many options. Honey, stone ground, yellow, garlic, dijon, etc etc etc. So much life left to live!

    • martinmegz says:

      The Greek place by my office has a BLT with deli mustard instead of mayo and it’s delicious.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Mr Truck once got the following from room service at the Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas (so they get credit for this “recipe”): gouda, gruyere, applewood smoked bacon, fig marmalade on “griddled san francisco sourdough bread”. We’ve tried to recreate it, but can’t find fig marmalade – turns out there are tons of jellies and jams that are AWESOME on grilled cheese. so do all that and swap out any number of jellies – strawberry or raspberry are good, we’ve done apple, and a couple more unique fruits I can’t remember. It’s dynamite. The sweet of the jelly hits the salt of the cheese and bacon. I want to go to there.

    • flanny says:

      You had me at “gruyere” and then we got married at “applewood smoked bacon” and got side-by-side plots in a cemetery overlooking a stream at “jellies and jams.”

    • My mom likes to make a simple grilled cheese with cheddar and then put grape jelly on top when it’s done. I prefer apricot or raspberry, but it really is tasty!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        yeah I could see that working! Apricot is another one of the jellies we tried on the above sandwich. I can’t remember which was the best but that probably just means they were all good.

  6. During summers in college and high school when I worked at the local farmstand I would go home everyday for lunch and make a grilled cheese. Every damn day. And I could still eat them everyday.

    Also, as much as butter is great, i recommend trying mayo in place of butter. It gets it crispy. Also, parmesan on the outside! So crispy. I own two cast iron skillets, so I’ll put the sandwich in one and then heat the other and place it on top, a makeshift panini.

    Fav combos:
    -whole wheat, sharp chedder, honey mustard, cucumbers (really good, I swear)
    -sourdough, goat cheese, parmesan, fresh mozzarella, tomato
    -cheddar, apple, peanut butter (maybe even caramelized onions!)
    -mushrooms, gouda

    Now I want a grilled cheese for dinner!

  7. FRQ says:

    I haven’t had a grilled cheese sandwich in probably over a decade. I am sorry I cannot help. 😦

  8. hotspur says:

    Years ago, I confided to a girlfriend that it was my dream to some day have a sandwich named after me. It would be something simple and universal — grilled cheese with slices of tomato, and I wouldn’t even require a specific cheese or bread. I wanted it to be a 1 am kind of thing, or a nice quick lunch kind of thing, or even a decent breakfast. “I got hungry, so I made a Rooney.” A basic variation on the basic grilled cheese that you could ask for by name. “Can you make me a Rooney?” Anyway, she told a friend, who then went back to her home town, where she worked summers in a family restaurant — and supposedly, that friend added it to the menu. So, true fact (never verified): There is a grilled cheese sandwich named after me in a restaurant in Ohio.

  9. Kate says:

    Ok no matter which of these delicious sounding grilled cheese sandwiches you choose, get yourself a cup of tomato soup to go with it and dunk. Dunk I say!

  10. Sota says:

    I just went back in my Instagram pics all the way to 2012 to find a pic of the menu at Harlem Public where they have my very favorite…The Loaded Grilled Cheese. I can only see part of the recipe in the pic, but this is the recipe:

    Thick grilled bread (this is the part I cannot read), New York State cheddar, jalapeno jack and brie cheeses melted with candied maple bacon, guacamole and crushed Doritos.

    Here is a pic of it that I did not take…

    OMG brb, booking a flight to NYC now…

  11. catweazle says:

    I ate a grilled cheese sandwich for lunch because of this post. Just cheddar on wheat bread, but still. Delicious.

Comments are closed.