Tuesday TV Talk

The only thing that will lessen my despair over the UNC loss in last night’s NCAA final is talking about my favorite shows. So let’s get to it!

The 100 – Oh man, this was a roughhhhh episode. The ongoing theme this season has been the characters complete helplessness in the face of political despots whose actions are destroying any chance they could have at long-term survival. Especially during this election season, it’s a little too real. Ontari and Pike can come off as cartoon villains at times, but they also feel pretty authentic when you realize that most people are short-sighted, power hungry monsters. I also have to wonder if Jason Rothenberg was regretting everything in his life between the uproar after killing off a major queer character and then immediatly two episodes later killing off a major POC character. However, while I get why people are upset when minority characters, I think it really minimizes the conversation and ignores the fact that a) literally everyone dies on The 100 and b) there are about 2 straight, white dudes on the entire show – Kane and Jasper (Bellamy is actually played by a half-Filipino actor).  I also think that there has been a serious problem of developing the characters and understanding where they are coming from with their motivations. Bellamy stands out the most but Monty is another good examples of characters that we see doing things but have no explanation for why.

The Magicians – I binge-watched the first season of the Magicians on Friday (isn’t unemployment grand) and I really enjoyed it! Quentin is kind of my spirit animal when it comes to just his general awkwardness about literally everything and Penny is hilarious. The scene where Quentin hides behind the tree to get away from Penny is probably my favorite in the entire series. I’d also be lying if I didn’t say I kind of ship Quentin and Elliot…

Shadowhunters – This show is…not great. But it’s kind of fun and the “actors” are pretty and I watched a full episode, so I guess the jokes on me.

Emmerdale – Liv is kind of adorable with her delinquent behavior and general village terrorism. She is basically a mini-Aaron, it’s fun. It was also nice to see Adam, Vic, Andy and Robert spending some time together that didn’t have anyone trying to kill anyone (literally – all of those characters have attempted/committed at least one murder). I was kind of sad that Aaron was excluded from the birthday festivities since he’s good friends with Victoria as well and everyone knows that all I want in life is my uncomfortable bar scene where everyone realizes that Aaron has slept with them and their closest relatives. Pretty please Emmerdale? I ask so little of you.

Broad City – Awww, Abi and Trey are kind of a weirdly cute couple. It was pretty obvious that Abi was going to get robbed by the hot French guy as soon as they made him hot, but I’m glad it gave the opportunity for Abi and Trey to spend some time together. I do think that Abi’s lie to Ilana is going to come back to haunt her though because of course it will. I also thought the scene with Ilana and Blake Griffin was a little bit too weird for the sake of being weird that it lost a lot of potentially funny moments. They were kind of cute though. Is it weird I would like to see more of them?

This Week’s Show You Should Be Watch: (in this special feature, I will tell you about a show that I love that I think everyone should watch)

A 9-episode British series about zombies, In The Flesh is smart, complex and absolutely beautifully shot. The story starts in the post-zombie apocalypse when a cure for zombieism has been discovered and Kieron, a teenage zombie must return to his family and face what he did as a zombie, the discrimination of his small town and trying to re-integrate himself with his family. The series deals with huge themes like bigorty, discrimination, LGBT rights and terrorism using zombie symbolism. There’s a whole lot more to it than that but you just have to watch to truly understand the artful nuance to this show.

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Speaking of zombies…Can we please talk about The Walking Dead finale? [SPOILERS BELOW HERE DUH]
    It was so terrible. so terrible. If you haven’t read the comic books (I have not), this whole Negan build up is really misplaced – we don’t know what we’re supposed to be scared of yet and I didn’t find him that scary or charming. Also the rest of the episode was very boring.
    Also I’m guessing I don’t have to mention the cliffhanger because not only was it cheap, it was lazy and taking your fanbase for granted.

    • nastyemu says:

      I quit watching a few episodes into the season after the prison/governor stuff, and I feel so good about that. They did a cheap cliffhanger with The Governer too (I think the midseason finale, which shouldn’t be a thing), and that was one of many reasons I stopped watching.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        The show has basically done exactly that every half season since then – you think they’re safe, then there’s a new threat and they confront that threat in the midseason finale and then again in the season finale with a LOT of filler in between. It’s infuriating because there is so much story to be told in the comics (and the pace of the series is SO MUCH slower) (mr truck reads the comics) and the whole thing feels like such a gimmick.

        • nastyemu says:

          So are people mad because they put the cliffhanger at the end instead of the middle, or was it worse than that?

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          I think mad that there was a cliffhanger for this particular event – we know he killed someone but don’t know who – there was also a lot of buildup about how gut-wrenching this season finale was and then it was this stupid, cheap ploy.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I hated the finale so much. Not finding out who is on the other end of that bat is cheap, especially since they have been dragging out Negan’s introduction for at least 6 episodes. By the time the next season rolls around, I will care even less about who it was, so any impact it might have had is gone now.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Oh, and my guess is that Abraham is the one that gets killed. That is not who it was in the comics, but I don’t think they will stick to the comics in this case. How much do you want to bet we won’t even find out until the end of the first episode or later? Next season will start with Carol and Morgan or we’ll check in with Alexandria. Anything to keep dragging out cheap cliffhangers.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          I was thinking it was Sasha or someone else on the 2nd level (not one of the original 5 that are left). I feel like they’re definitely not going to do the same as the comic books for a couple of different reasons but most of all just because those last 5 original cast members (Rick, Daryl, Glenn, Carol, & Carl? are we counting Carl??) are too crucial – they know people will be too upset. (Which is part of what sucks about this whole thing – it’s like they want to leave the option open in case they change their minds)

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        One more thing! I did actually enjoy Andrew Lincoln’s performance as Rick this episode. The fear and realization that there is no way out of this situation was a new side of Rick.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah, but I kept wanting him to be like, “yeah, well, I killed a bunch of your men, so maybe you should be a little scared of me, right?”

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          True. That attack that Rick’s group pulled off at the compound was pretty impressive. In this situation, they were way outnumbered. Not that they haven’t gotten out of some crazy shit in the past. This is almost why the cliffhanger gimmick they pulled is worse – there are plenty of other things to come back for next season. What happens after someone gets killed? Will they fight back? Will they start working for Negan? Who are those guys on horseback? Is Enid still stuck in the closet?

    • martinmegz says:

      That ending with the cheesy effect of blood on the camera was so stupid. You’re totally right, if I hadn’t read spoilers about the comic book character, Negan would be meaningless to me. We had to watch them riding around in an RV for 85 minutes then they totally sucked the suspense and emotion out of the episode by not showing who died. It was such a stupid idea. I wonder if they’re just happy to get people talking about the show, or if they think now that they made a mistake.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        They must’ve seen the backlash on the internet right away because there were interviews on Monday where they were already defending the cliffhanger.
        I agree completely about the blood on the camera. So stupid!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          They’ve done that blood on the camera trick before, and it is terrible every single time. Why do I still watch this show? lol

  2. nastyemu says:

    Sorry, I’m behind on everything! I’ll try to do better next week.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    iZombie is my favorite thing on TV right now. There is so much going on right now, but somehow they manage to balance all the story lines.

    Hap and Leonard was completely bonkers in the latest episode, which I believe was episode 5 of 6. I’m not sure it’s a show I would recommend since the first few episodes were very slow and kind of dull, but damn, it was an intense and violent hour of television.

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      iZombie is the show I look forward to the most as well. It’s fun and goofy but also really smart.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I think I might be done with The 100. I loved the first season so much, but this season super sucks. I just let episodes sit on my DVR for a week until I have nothing else to watch.

    Is anyone watching Billions? It’s an interesting show because it’s compelling and Damien Lewis is great, but also the writing is pretty terrible, but I burned through the whole season in a weekend so I do like it. Otherwise I guess I’m only really excited about New Girl and Limitless right now. March Madness was tough on the TV schedule.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I like Billions but I’m starting to really hate Paul Giamatti’s character. Maybe that’s the point, but I think it would be more interesting if you liked and hated both of them equally.

      • martinmegz says:

        Do you think if the actors played opposite roles that we would sympathize less with Axe and more with Chuck? I feel like the bad stuff that Axe does is revealed more subtly, but also that the actor is just so incredibly likable. But after what Chuck did at the end of the last episode, that guy is dead to me and I’m rooting for the inside traders.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          That’s a really good question because they’re both playing smug assholes but Damien Lewis is really a lot more likeable. I don’t know if the casting would make a difference because either way, Axe is a guy who should be an asshole but does lots of good stuff (charity) and is a real work-for-everything-he-has kind of character – it’s like we expect to hate him but we actually like him (whereas with Chuck we should like him because he’s fighting for “good” but he’s got a rich family and is motivated by personal glory rather than justice, so we expect to like him but actually hate him which makes us hate him even more?). I think.

    • Commentatrix says:

      My eyes are also watching and rolling hard at Billions A+ TURN OF PHRASE HIGH FIVE.

Comments are closed.