How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was relaxing, but I didn’t do a bunch of things I really should’ve–grocery shopping in particular–so I’m kind of annoyed with myself. But in my defense, it was cold outside and I didn’t want to.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Weekend was pretty good – caught up on sleep, ate a lot of food, and got a decent amount of work done.

    We watched the Hateful Eight, and I did not like it!

    • martinmegz says:

      I wish you could tell me if I would like it so I’d know whether to watch it or not. What didn’t you like? Do you normally like Tarantino?

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Jennifer Jason Leigh was decent, but I did not care about any of the characters. The dialogue was clunky – for example, a scene involving instructions on how to open a door. Once in a while, a narrator would start speaking, and it felt out of place. The narrator only spoke two or three times if I remember correctly, so in a 3 hour movie, use it more or not at all. It just seemed like an after thought. I can’t remember if Tarantino has used voice over narration in other movies, which should answer your question on whether or not I like him as a director – meh? Not so much. Mr. Costco loves westerns, and he generally likes Tarantino movies, but he was no fan of the Hateful Eight.

        • martinmegz says:

          This helps a lot, thanks!

        • hotspur says:

          I liked it, but it is not everyone’s cup of tea! It is probably his bloodiest movie yet. And some things… like okay, the opening shot: he holds forever on a statue in the snow while the Morriccone (sp?) theme plays. Way off in the distance we may notice a speck of a stagecoach coming closer. But the camera just stays motionless on the statue, as the snow comes down, and the music plays. It is probably five minutes of this! I was entranced and somehow got more thrilled as it went on, even though nothing was happening. But also, I saw it in 70mm with the big fancy Arclight sound system.

          It is not an easy movie.

      • old man fatima says:

        I like Tarantino and I love westerns, and I was meh about Hateful Eight. It was super slow and Tarantino seemed to enjoy torturing Jennifer Jason Leigh a little too much for my comfort.

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    You guys…my life has been insane this last month and it’s finally slowing down. But that’s in the future because I got back from DC Thursday and then I went to the Cape with my friend on Saturday. The Cape in the off-season is great because you can see the beach and you can find a cheap hotel, and it’s still really pretty in peaceful. The bad part is a lot of stuff is closed. How do the people who live their make money during the off-season? I don’t understand beach economy, I guess.

    However, I had the most amazing clams from one of the only seafood shacks that was open. A+, would order the clams again. My friend got a lobster roll, which she devoured before I could ask if she liked it, so I assume it was pretty good too.

    • They don’t make any money! I lived on Martha’s Vineyard for a summer and most of the locals are basically below poverty level. 3 rainy weekends can ruin businesses. On the plus side, it meant that I could go down as summer help because that’s the only time they need people.

      I love the Cape, so many great childhood vacations there.

  3. Kate says:

    We saw Boss. Nope. Not good. Melissa, I love you but this was a mess.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Yeah…it didn’t look great. But there’s really not much out right now.

    • martinmegz says:

      Ever since seeing the commercials I’d been thinking, doesn’t she kind of have better options for material at this point? Can’t she write her own ticket? Then I learned that she and her husband wrote the movie so I guess she did write her own ticket and it was just not good.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I love Kristen Bell, so I know I will end up watching this on HBO on a Sunday afternoon someday, but I also know that I will probably regret that decision.

      • Kate says:

        No it’d be a good HBO Saturday afternoon movie. Not a good million dollar opening weekend theater movie. I want my million back.

  4. catweazle says:

    I unexpectedly ended up spending Saturday afternoon/evening with my sister and the baaaaaby. He is so cute! At Easter brunch we did a toast and clinked glasses and ever since then he insists on holding up his sippy cup and waiting for somebody to cheers him at meals. And he also has started taking food off his mom’s plate, grabbing her chin and yanking her mouth open, putting the food in her mouth, and then shoving her mouth shut. It is super cute to watch but I am really glad that I’m not on the receiving end because baby hands are always covered in drool and random detritus.

    Also yesterday my mom came to my place to drop off my New Kids on the Block comforter from my childhood bedroom that she no longer has room for in her apartment. I missed it so much! Once upon a time I had this whole bedding set but the comforter is all that remains:

    • Sota says:

      I remember being super jealous of one of my friend’s older sister because she had the whole NKOTB bed set too. SO COOL.

      • catweazle says:

        My older sister and I were big NKOTB fans and we shared a bedroom, and one day we came home from school and went upstairs to find our beds made up in full, hot pink NKOTB splendor. No surprise gift has ever topped that one.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      My mom threw me a New Kids on the Block themed birthday party back in the day. I’m pretty sure she even made a bag toss game and incorporated the song Step by Step somehow, but I might be remembering this all wrong.

      I definitely had some of these giant buttons…

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was great! We took the kid to her grandparents house and went to party all weekend without her! We went to Top Golf which is a cool thing and then went to dinner at a steak house (it was okay…not as good as some other places I’ve been in town) and then out to Mr. Truck’s favorite bar. Lots of fun. Then slept in Sunday and went and picked the kid back up.

  6. nastyemu says:

    We mostly stayed in and it was nice. Finally saw The Big Short, I liked it!

  7. martinmegz says:

    I tried for three days in a row to simulate working from home to see if I could do it, and it turns out I cannot! I slept so much this weekend it was crazy. So I turned down the offer for now and we’ll see if it makes more sense down the line. I really wanted to talk myself into shaking up my life, but I would for sure end up working 3p to 3a and never having human contact again.

    Right now I’m waiting to hear if Pearl Jam is going to cancel their North Carolina concert like The Boss did. I would be disappointed to have the concert taken away from me, but I could certainly handle it in this case because I think it’s important to take a stand against the discriminatory law there. However, the two days’ notice Springsteen gave is bullshit — give your fans a chance to cancel their reservations and try to recoup some of their money. I have a lot of complicated thoughts on the moral questions surrounding all of this but I’ll spare you guys the ins and outs.

  8. Sota says:

    My weekend was pretty chill. I ran my whole family to the airport in two trips. Biked 11 miles on Saturday, Sunday I went for a nice long walk and then babysat for my cousin’s kid who is THE CUTEST. I also tried on all my summer clothes and planned my packing for my whole California trip too. I am usually not one of those people who plans this far in advance, but its a 10 day trip, with the new BF, meeting his family and attending all my friend’s wedding events and so I felt the need to plan ahead. Oh and did I mention I am only packing a carry on? GAME ON. Expert packer level to be achieved!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Gallon sized ziploc bags for stuff that can be wrinkled and it doesn’t matter. You can squish all the air out and they’ll take up less space. Plus, you can stash your dirty clothes in them and keep your clean clothes clean!

  9. Sota says:

    ps. Theresa’s line about “in my defense, it was cold outside and I didn’t want to.” reminded me of this:

    • catweazle says:

      Quotes and outfits like that are the reason Phoebe is my favorite.

    • martinmegz says:

      I can’t find a gif but I always think about this Rachel quote

    • I did go today, but continued to be lazy by trying to get all my shopping done at the natural food store that’s super close to my work (and where I do regularly get stuff), and as a result spent like five dollars for paper towels and am still out of contact solution. It’s the punishment I deserve.

  10. Eating 6 meals over the course of a Lord of the Rings marathon actually gets excruciating after a while, but my friends and I made such good food we couldn’t help but eat it. I ate so many potatoes on Saturday, too many potatoes really.

    Yesterday was rainy and gross, but I managed to run errands and get a pedicure, plus the finishing plans for Japan (leave saturday!). Overall a good weekend!

  11. flanny says:

    I ate a lot of grilled cheese and hung out with my cat a lot. However, on Sunday you could tell she was like, “Are you ever going to go to work again? I want my apartment back.” Also on Sunday I didn’t let myself watch TV until I had written a certain number of words which seems insurmountable. But guess what, it was surmountable! i was watching TV by 3pm. Nothing good is on on Sunday afternoons!

  12. hotspur says:

    I got to go to Harry Potter World, which just opened here. My friend had a spare ticket and I glommed onto his family. It was the pricey “cut every line ticket,” so if we liked something, we just went on it again immediately. Honestly the ride inside Hogwarts was spectacular, and walking through Hogsmeade in the rain (it was raining) was perfect. It made me giddy but also sad that all this crap isn’t real. Magic should be real and I should have been born in England or Scotland. Or Ireland. Also Wales.

  13. old man fatima says:

    I had a very dog-centric weekend. I volunteered the whole weekend for the dog rescue, selling raffle tickets at the grocery store on Saturday and manning a booth at the Dog Expo on Sunday. It was good, but I didn’t get nearly enough relaxing in!

    I did finally finish Serial while painting, and I really liked this season but it is giving me a lot of thoughts! Is anyone else following it? What do you all think of Beau? Or Bowe, which I think is just how people who don’t know how to spell Beau spell Beau. I think he is an idiot and shouldn’t have been in the army in the first place, and probably shouldn’t be in it now even in an administrative position because there is just too much ill-will toward him, and I think he put a lot of people in danger and indirectly caused some injuries, but I don’t think he was responsible for those deaths. I also think that 5 years with the Taliban is enough of a punishment and that people who want to see him punished further aren’t really getting the point of prison? It should be about public safety, rehabilitation, punishment, in that order. He’s not a threat to the public, he is not likely to re-offend, and he has had more than enough punishment. I think when people look at it from an emotional place, they want punishment to be the #1 priority, and they want to be the ones handing out that punishment. I can definitely see how people in the military and with ties to the military would be super angry about how it all went down, though.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I thought this season of Serial was good but not nearly as good as the first season. I agree with everything you said – he didn’t “desert” per se, just did something really really stupid and a lot of other people didn’t handle it well. He definitely should not have been in the army and he definitely had enough terrible experiences to last a lifetime of punishment.
      I felt like this season was interesting, but I don’t think it was as compelling because I felt like I had a pretty good understanding of what happened at the beginning of the season even though there were a lot of interesting new points along the way (whereas with last season it felt like every week gave me a totally new point of view).

      • old man fatima says:

        I disagree. I thought this season was way more compelling, mostly because it was so different. There are ten thousand murder mysteries out there (I watch/listen to all of them), so even though season 1 was super interesting it felt kind of old hat. This season was a bit more cut and dried, and less of a mystery, but it was a much more unique subject matter. Brotima did two tours and I’m really interested to see what he has to say about it. I just got him onto Serial and he’s still on the first season.

Comments are closed.