National Grilled Cheese Month: Truck’s Hotel Jammer

 photo 0409161250a_zpsz1q6bogi.jpg
When National Grilled Cheese Month suggestions started rolling onto the comments section last week, I did not play hard to get when it came to Truckasaurus’s Las Vegas hotel-based suggestion. It seemed like the perfect way to kick off this most holy of months.  It was fairly complicated, since the bacon needed to be made beforehand. There were multiple kinds of cheese, and fancy cheese from the fancy cheese display at that. And with the jelly there was a surprising ingredient. On an unseasonably cold April Saturday, it sounded like a delicious start of my National Grilled Cheese Month celebration.

 photo 0409161226_zpsxi9r7bvs.jpg
I braved a post-snowstorm, late Saturday morning grocery store crowd to get my ingredients.  Like Truck, I also didn’t find fig marmalade at the grocery store, so I went with my favorite raspberry preserves, since I needed to buy some anyway.  Finding the correct cheeses was the most difficult part, since both gouda and gruyere come in apple smoked versions, and I thought that it might make it difficult to truly appreciate the flavor of the applewood smoked bacon, but luckily, with some perseverance, I found classic versions of the cheeses.  Then I waited in line behind many people who were buying three gallons of milk, but before long I was back at my apartment, failing miserably at everything!

The past couple of months, I’ve come to the realization that there are a lot of foods I think I don’t like, but really the issue is that my mother is not a very good cook.  One of these foods is bacon.  I thought for most of my life that I didn’t like bacon, but I think actually I just had a mother who burnt the living daylights out of the little guys, because my bacon turned out lovely and didn’t disintegrate into dust upon the slightest pressure.  In preparing the bacon, I found it difficult, however, to pull the little strips of bacon off each other.  One strip fell apart so badly, I gave a little piece to my cat.  (“I love this sandwich and my owner’s incompetency in the kitchen!”–my cat, that b.)

This sandwich also made me realize that I have no idea how to cut (the) cheese (LOLOLOLOL) that doesn’t come in an easy brick or in a circle.  The gouda came in a little wedge with a waxy red rind, and I ended up doing some weird slicing thing to it, so I didn’t so much have slices of gouda as slivers. I’m not asking for advice. I’m just pointing out my own faults. Please do not tell me how to cut cheese correctly, you snobs, I do not care.  It all goes to the same place anyway, amirite?!??!

 photo 0409161242_zpspwufqk8c.jpg

Gouda-nough!

An additional obstacle literally sprang up when the sourdough I bought (a different brand than usual) ended up being a lot less crusty and a lot more spongy than I expected.  So my attempted thin slices of sourdough ended up being a little bit of a disaster.

 photo 0409161246_zps7zkxbqqw.jpgAgain, I am not looking for advice on how to slice sourdough.  I know how!  This sourdough was just weird!  I’m feeling very vulnerable.

So, with the sandwich assembled and grilling away in my fancy, slightly malformed sandwich pan, I decided to grab a glass of wine.  I’d opened a bottle of Riesling the night before because I am a single woman with a cat and that’s what Friday is, and like a normal person, I went to pull the cork out of the bottle of wine and HALF THE CORK RIPPED OFF IN MY HANDS!

 photo 0409161247_zpshi1xj3a0.jpg

I swear to god I know how to open a day-old bottle of wine! *sobbing*

Using my trusty corkscrew I opened up the wine and used the still-intact cork from an old(er) bottle to seal it back up.  And by then my sandwich was ready to go!

 photo 0409161250_zpsnyisahwl.jpg

I was pretty happy with the coloring on the bread, and even happier with the taste!  The preserves really did give a delicious compliment to the bacon, and if I had any complaints it would be that there should have been less preserves.  (Update: I made this again on Sunday for lunch, used less preserves, cut the bread better, still butchered the cheese, and it was so good.)  And usually the best part of the grilled cheese is at the very beginning when everything is hot and runny, but this sandwich even improved the longer it stayed on my plate!  I think the cheese and the preserves mixed together a bit as time passed, and the whole sandwich cooled down so that all the flavors were able to come through.  This makes it sound like it was sitting on my plate for hours, but I ate that sandwich while watching one round of Guy’s Grocery Games.  It was good!

Well done, Las Vegas hotel!  You made a very good grilled cheese sandwich.  And thank you to the family Truck for sharing!  This’ll be a sandwich I’ll return to!

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to National Grilled Cheese Month: Truck’s Hotel Jammer

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I have a set of rubber stoppers and a vacuum pump deal to use with leftover wine (hahaha, there’s no such thing as leftover wine), but they’re super nice!

  1. artdorkgirl says:

    I feel like the only time I can find fig jam, it’s over with the fancy foods or with the chutneys. I don’t know why this is. It’s not like fig newtons aren’t with the regular cookies! Come on, supermarkets!

  2. Sota says:

    I know I already shared this recommendation with Flanial via the book of faces, but I want the rest of you to see this treasure. I cannot wait to try this! Grilled cheese bread bowl…please go look at it because I can’t get a link to the image and it is just droolworthy.

    https://www.thrillist.com/recipe/nation/grilled-cheese-bread-bowl-thrillist-recipes

  3. I think your end of the month recipe should either be a Monte Cristo or this: http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-baked-croque-monsieur-casserole-230208

    Man, I love Monte Cristo’s, using basically french toast as the bread of a sandwich is just perfect. Thank you, whoever came up with that.

    • old man fatima says:

      One time I ordered take out from my favourite burger place and they gave me a croque madame (vegetarian croque monsieur) by mistake and I have never looked back. I didn’t think anything could tempt me from the black bean burger with mushrooms and smoked swiss, but man oh man. If we do end up moving back to Montreal, proximity to Frites Alors is going to be my #1 concern when looking for an apt.

  4. Sota says:

    I just looked at this pic again…I am SO HUNGRY for lunch.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I am so honored and so touched to be chosen first!!! That sandwich looks so delicious and I wish I had got the stuff for it this weekend! I’m so glad it didn’t disappoint!

  6. hotspur says:

    The glamour photography in this post is really good.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Chicago monsters! Here is a list of some restaurants celebrating grilled cheese day…
    https://www.dnainfo.com/chicago/20160411/wicker-park/grilled-cheese-mapping-6-sandwiches-try-on-tuesday

    “Hopleaf’s CB&J marries the grilled cheese with the PB&J and the result is like the Wonder Twins of sandwiches — more potent together than apart. The “CB” is cashew butter, the “J” is fig jam, the cheese is raclette and the bread is sourdough.”

  8. martinmegz says:

    I love any adventures of Flanny post.

    I have a very narrow definition of grilled cheese, but if we’re pretending that any sandwich containing melted cheese counts as a grilled cheese, then my favorite is a bastardized Cubano. French bread with mustard and mayo mixed together on both halves, swiss cheese, sliced ham, bread and butter sandwich topper pickles, buttered and pressed in a George Foreman grill.

    • flanny says:

      I thought about this a lot this weekend, and I’ve decided that to me a grilled cheese is a sandwich where the cheese is the primary attraction. In a tuna melt, the tuna is the star. In a panini of some sort, the meat is probably the star. But when you just want to eat some melted cheese in some bread and then anything else is a bonus, that’s a grilled cheese. However, I didn’t know the difference between a coat and a jacket until I was in college so I’m not the OED.

      • Commentatrix says:

        What’s the difference between a coat and a jacket?? Zippers??

        • flanny says:

          I think it’s length. Jackets are above the hip and coats below. Correct me if I’m wrong. (I used to think jackets were lighter than coats, and so jackets were for spring and coats for winter. I found rain coats VERY confusing because sometimes it rains but it’s hot out!)

Comments are closed.