Tuesday TV Talk

This past weekend, my mom and I drove 32 hours from Raleigh to Phoenix with her dog. It was a long, long two days. Then we watched several episodes of Outlander and I was acutely reminded of just how much sex is in that show.

Those things aren’t really relevant to this week’s discussion, I just wanted to share. Now let’s talk about TV!

The 100 – The 100 impressively managed to not kill anyone (well, anyone with a name at least) for a whole week. Well done, take a cookie! I thought this week’s episode was great. Raven once again killed it on screen, Jasper is back to being cool and useful instead of drunk and mopey, Bellamy is trying to redeem himself and now all of Arkadia are Alie zombies!! I know a lot of people feel like Bellamy is past the point of redemption, but as an avid soap watcher, I am used to looking past a  character’s misdeeds like murder, treason, betrayal, etc., as long as they have a really solid redemption arc. I also find myself being strangely charmed by Ontari. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait for someone to murder the shit out of her, but I am enjoying her brand of crazypants villainy way more than I ever did Pike. I know a LOT of people (all of Tumblr) are upset about the scene between her and Murphy but I am curious to see how the show plays their relationship in the next few weeks. I think that will affect how to read that scene.

Outlander – Yay, Outlander is back! Even though I only watched the show for the first time like 2 months ago, it felt like it took forever for season 2 to start. I am surprised that they started with Claire returning to 1948 right at the beginning but considering that her pregnancy is not showing at all yet, it doesn’t seem like she spent that much time in France before Jamie sent her away. I feel like she is going to be returning to the past pretty soon. The scenes between her and Frank were pretty wrenching, especially when she was getting flashes of Captain Randall and it will be interesting to see their relationship, though it feels like it’s going to disintegrate pretty much immediatly. Also, it was hard for me to focus on the first 30 minutes because the whole time I was thinking about how much I missed Jamie. I’m glad that the show mentioned the lingering effects of his ordeal with Randall and I hope that means that they are going to spend some time with the character and seeing how he deals with that as time progresses.

The Magicians – I’ve actually been reading these books and though I’ve only finished the first one so far, I’m really impressed with the choices that the show has made. I definitely prefer the show to the books so far. I am glad that Quentin finally realized that Alice is better than him at everything (let’s be real though, he just did not want to drink a full jar of Ram God jizz). I know that we’re supposed to be rooting for Quentin and Alice, but I’m not going to lie, I kinda ship Alice and Penny, because Penny is the best.  Julia’s realization about what happened to her was chilling and difficult to watch, but I thought the show did a good job with some very dark material. I am very interested to see what happens in Season 2 with Julia’s revenge, Eliot trying to be a straight King and Penny dealing with his lack of hands (is Alice dead? probably not right?)

So that’s what I’ve got for this week. What about you guys?

 

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    Has anybody else been watching this season of Sleepy Hollow and if so have you seen the season finale yet and if so CAN WE PLEASE TALK ABOUT HOW OUTRAGEOUSLY TERRIBLE IT WAS????????

    • Sota says:

      No, but can we please take a moment to eyeroll the path that TVD is traversing? Are we really playing the game of “guess whose soul is in stefan’s body” again?! We did that with Silas! I am not sure I can keep watching this nonsense, although I was happy to see a few more characters bite the dust. Mostly I am just worried about Matt Donovan’s mental health. Just give it up and leave Matt. Just go. Run away to Alaska or Spain or something and try to forget that everyone you know is either awful or dead or both. I hope this show ends soon.

    • I stopped watching long ago, but I heard what happened. Has there EVER been a show more determined to shoot itself in the foot than Sleepy Hollow?

      • I stopped watching as well but saw the spoilers. Good lord, what an awful move. What were they even thinking?

      • catweazle says:

        SPOILERS!!! I mean, they had to write Abbie off because the actress wanted to leave the show (which I do not blame her for after season 2) but the way they did it was awful. First, they spent her last season dropping hints that Ichabod is romantically interested in her, presumably just so she can be truly fridged. Then, they make this bizarre thing up about Witnesses basically being Slayers (one dies, their soul jumps into another body) and that Abbie’s (and Betsy Ross’s) entire life purpose was to help Ichabod move forward in the fight against evil rather than to oh, I don’t know, fight evil herself or fulfill her own destiny? Let her go out in a blaze of glory as the badass that she was, if you have to killer off. FFS! I also have concerns that since they killed off Jenny’s boyfriend too they’re going to try to make her and Ichabod a couple if they get another season, which would be the second time they try to make the Mills sisters romantic interests for the same white dude. I WAS ROOTING FOR YOU, SLEEPY HOLLOW!

        • I just hope Nicole has some awesome new projects lined up. If nothing else, the way they handled her exit proves that her instincts to get the heck out of there were correct.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Tonight is the season finale of iZombie. I’m hoping I have time to watch it tonight.

    We finished season1 of Baskets – it was very good!

    I’m cruising along through the 7th season of How I Met Your Mother. I have to applaud the music supervisor on that show – Radiohead, Pinback, and the Pixies – bands I do not expect to hear on a show that aired on CBS.

  3. Sota says:

    Guys, I don’t even know who I am lately but I haven’t even watched like any tv. How is this possible? Let me tell you…
    1. I still haven’t renewed my Netflix – I mean why bother till after I get back from my vacation right?
    2. My tv remote batteries died and I haven’t replaced them. The ultimate of laziness.

    So, over the weekend I watched an actual DVD. It was Step Up.

  4. FRQ says:

    #TeamCapBros

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I know we have been watching TV but right now I can’t think of anything. Bob’s Burgers is always great, Last Man on Earth continues to be great, there are some other shows but my brain is so tired today for some reason…
    I can’t wait for Game of Thrones but Mr. Truck isn’t going to watch because he’s going to wait for the books to be released. I have to watch in secret! (He knows I’ll be watching, I just can’t watch with him).

  6. Kate says:

    We got a new “smart TV”, and now all I see on the internet is “never buy a smart tv”.
    😦

  7. I’ve been watching Happy Valley on Netflix, and it is 1) very good and 2) STRESSFUL AND TERRIFYING. And very weird to watch alongside Grantchester, because in Happy Valley, cute James Norton plays an awful, scary psychopath.

    • flanny says:

      I had to stop watching it because it was making me depressed and because it meant that I was scared of James Norton. I have a similar issue with The Fall, where I still can’t look at Jamie Dornan.

      • HE’S SO SCARY. And then I watch Grantchester and I’m all oh, wait, I love you.

        I watched The Fall too and was also scared the whole time. I need to stop doing this to myself!

  8. flanny says:

    I stopped doing it to myself and now all I watch is Food Network.

  9. martinmegz says:

    I thought the first 40 minutes of Outlander were zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Why are they pretending that we care about anything but what Jamie’s doing? And they made a point in the first few minutes then continued to hammer away at it forever.

    The 100 got me back a little bit last week. I’ve been letting the episodes languish on my DVR until everything else is gone, which is a sure sign that I’m about to give up on a show. I hate how the characters suddenly develop totally different personality traits just to drive the plot in a new direction.

    TV feels a little dull right now, probably because of March Madness leading to so many repeats. It was nice to have two episodes of Elementary this week and I still really like Madame Secretary.

    • The 100 has always been pretty bad at pacing their character development. Remember how Finn just flipped out and became a murderer in season 2 out of nowhere? I think that’s probably the shows biggest weakness.

      I agree that they needed more Jamie way earlier in the Outlander premiere. It’s Jamie! One thing I did love was the scene where they were trying to convince Jamie’s cousin to hook them up with the rich French society folks and Claire showed the scars on Jamie’s back, especially because I had just rewatched the episode where Dougal does it to raise money and Claire is so mad at him for it. I see what you did there Outlander. Also, shirtless Jamie is always a good thing 🙂

  10. gnidrah says:

    I have been watching the BBC’s Sunday night ‘replacement’ for The Night Manager – it’s called Undercover and it stars Adrian Lester and Sophie Okonedo. The idea behind it is a spate of cases that have come to light, where undercover police officers went on to have relationships and even children with women they were tasked with following. (stories like this one: http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2015/nov/20/lisa-jones-girlfriend-of-undercover-police-office-mark-kennedy-interview)

    Anyways it is good (no Night Manager, but what is?!) even though it is trying to pack too much into each episode.

    I’m also watching the second series of Indian Summers, which is as sumptuous and as fascinating as the first series, but so. Bloody. Slow. It’s ever-so-slightly also starting to stretch the bounds of possibility…

    BONUS CINEMA TALK
    This weekend, my new post-night work life took another turn for the positive – I was in a position where I was basically going to the cinema once a year because I could not be trusted to go to warm dark places and not fall asleep – but this weekend I went not once but twice! My Big Fat Greek Wedding II is not as good as the first, obviously, but still some nice laughs (particularly if you are of Greek heritage like me) and then we saw I Am Belfast, which is a rather arty look at Northern Ireland, and was very interesting, and soundtracked by David Holmes. What a weekend!

    • Kate says:

      You reminded me of the BBC’s Call the Midwife. Honestly it’s one of my favorite shows ever and it’s back! Such a delicious treat. Also I’ve started watching Jeeves and Wooster on Hulu which is like a sitcom version of Downton Abbey. So far it’s hilarious.

Comments are closed.