So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was okay. I’m very tired lately–work has been busy and I’m just feeling blah–so I scheduled myself a four-day weekend next month when I’m going to do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, and now I have that to look forward to.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m really tired because I stayed up late to watch the two hour finale of iZombie – it was excellent!

    The weather is getting nicer, and it’s supposed to be 70 degrees this weekend. I’m very much looking forward to warmer weather.

    • I’ve been meaning to comment on your Tuesday TV posts for like a month but work has been so busy I haven’t even read to posts till Wednesday. Anyway, I too have been really really enjoying season 2 of iZombie. The last several episodes especially. I haven’t had a chance to watch the finale yet but the last 2-3 episodes have felt like the run up to the 1st season finale of Veronica Mars, so I have pretty high expectations.

  2. catweazle says:

    This morning as I was about to leave for work, a bunch of tiles fell off of my kitchen wall. They’ve been loose for a while and I’ve been meaning to contact the building about it but am too much of a procrastinator. I could probably learn to fix it myself but one of the reasons building management gave me for raising my rent a ton this year was better building maintenance and I’m sure as shit going to take advantage of it. Anyway, it wasn’t a fun way to start the day but it could have been worse since I did have a slight fear that the tiles were loose because there was a secret spider nest behind it or something equally terrible and I was too scared to investigate, but all seems well on that front.

    Tonight I have to finally do my gd taxes and maybe when I’m done I’ll reward myself by catching up on The Vampire Diaries.

    • I’ve been meaning to contact my building maintenance about the window screen in my bedroom basically since last summer. I don’t even have to call! I can put in a request on line and the guy comes while I’m at work! That’s going on the weekly goals tomorrow.

  3. flanny says:

    My day is busy, but fine-ish. It’s a long one and all I want to do is go home and chill with my cat. Why aren’t I married???

    Question: what’s the difference between capital and capitol?

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:


    I’ve had a headache all day and this morning I found out that my new salary with this promotion is very very very disappointing.

    • mordonez says:

      That’s no good, I’m sorry.

      I have to tell people what their crap-ass raises will be this week, and I’m not happy about it. I got a pool of money to give people, but then my boss told me “you can’t use all of it, b/c my boss needs everyone to hold back 20% for spreading around across the department as a whole where needed”. Ok. Employee X, so you are getting Y dollars. Please don’t do the math to find out it’s 1.73 percent…pleaaaase?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Ugh, that sucks too. It’s like being broken up with – you know that’s terrible but doing the breaking up can be just as bad.

      • Sota says:

        I am working on my review right now and it was basically implied that there is really no raise money to go around. Which I am not thrilled about. I feel like a job search may be upcoming in my life.

  5. Sota says:

    My day is going fine. I am counting the minutes until I can bail out of here and hit yoga tonight. And then I only have two more days and then I am in CALIFORNIA FOR TEN DAYS. It is all I can do to sit in my chair and do anything worthwhile. .

    • Sota says:

      Oh also I was just in a meeting that spiraled way out of control and into a looking at photos and gifs of Justin Trudeau…

    • hotspur says:

      What part of California? Any of the parts that are in Los Angeles?

      • Sota says:

        Yes, part of the time I will be in some of the parts of Los Angeles. But due to the fact that its sort of a mess of a trip, I just can’t plan a monster meetup. I wish I could, but its gonna be a whirlwind…1 day in San Fran, 2 days in Napa, 2 days in Sac, 1 driving day, 2 days in LA, and 2 days in Laguna Beach…all of this including events related to a bachlorette party weekend, a wedding weekend, a meet the parents of the new dude and a day at disneyland. I am going to need a vacation when I get home after all of that. Next time I come to LA I promise a monster meet up.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    This is the longest stretch I’ve been home for in a month and it’s great! My cat Fry has not left me alone for a second, but that’s ok. I’ve got clean laundry and I’m making my own dinner again and I’m properly hydrated!

    I also went to see “Midnight Special” yesterday with Manners. If you guys liked “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” and “ET,” and don’t mind some suspense and not having your questions answered, this is the movie for you. It was super good!

  7. I got a filling today and my face is all numb still which is annoying so I am just going to lie in my bed and watch Parks and Rec all day just because.

  8. FRQ says:

    Today my entire department (4 of us) moved to a new building, across the street from our old one. My new office is nice, but the biggest flaw is that one of my walls is made of glass tiles, so everyone walking down the hall can peer into my space. The tiles are somewhat distorted, so it’s not like having a window, but if one were to press his or her face against a tile, they can make out what’s going on in here. I guess that means no more pantless Fridays in the office anymore.

  9. martinmegz says:

    I’m struggling on a minor scale today. I’m having trouble finding a credible resource for state-by-state raw milk laws and trying to track each state one by one is making me CRAZYYYYYYY. Plus now I’m embroiled in a debate over y’all vs. ya’ll but it’s a contraction for YOU ALL so why would it not be y’all. I just want to go home and take a nap.

  10. mordonez says:

    My week of hell surrounding “what will happen if we replace people who know what they’re doing with people who don’t” may be drawing to a close. It was coupled with the popular “aging infrastructure leads to godawful server problems from which it takes multiple days to fully recover” issue and the “let’s stay up all night waiting for maintenance to be completed in order to manually recover some stuff but it never completes so you stayed up all night for almost literally no reason”.

    Otherwise, not bad. Mrsdonez has begun her new job in Milwaukee. She thought she was going to have to buy new work clothes, but it turns out everyone THERE dressed up for her interview, and people really wear sweaters and jeans. And ponchos? Ponchos? Also, the sooner she can get out of my uncle’s guest room and into her weekday home (my uncle’s two flat) the better–I’d forgotten my uncle and his gf speak to their cats in “cat parent” baby talk terribleness.

    In other news, I have two days of rehearsals before playing a set of Aimee Mann and Michael Penn tunes in a record store (for Record Store Day) with some folks. Excited, a little nervous about the leader of this thing (an instructor of mine)’s high standards…

    Chicago Monsters, come to Laurie’s Planet Sound on Saturday at 2PM to witness this, if you like.

    • catweazle says:

      Taskmaster Tommi! My class starts at 2:30 but if I can drag myself out of my apartment a little early I’ll try to pop in and say hello!

  11. old man fatima says:

    We’re getting our first foster dog tomorrow! We were going to wait until we’re at the new place so we won’t have an extra dog for the move, but the lady from the rescue group called me and asked if we have space for a senior beagle. Very chill, will be a good pal for Chomps, and lives with cats and bunnies so no worries for Mycroft. I’m picking him up from his neuter surgery after work tomorrow!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      Beagles are great, but they ARE noisy! You will instantly know everything that’s going in your neighborhood, vis a vis the mailman, or local squirrels…

      • old man fatima says:

        It will be quite the change from old Silent Chomper, that’s for sure. I don’t think we’ll have him for very long, though, he already has adoption applications in and his picture just went up on the site last night!

  12. Commentatrix says:

    Well, today was another 11-hour day, and I’m growing more and more resentful about the lack of down time in my life. BUT today my boss told me she was bringing in a contractor to help me starting next week, so that’s cool because I’ve never had an underling before. Now I’m struggling with the thought of relinquishing control to this kid because I’m very attached to all of my tasks, there’s just too much OF them.

Comments are closed.