It’s Project Club Time!

Here’s the link to last week’s post. I’ve had such an attitude about getting stuff done this week, including really basic stuff like putting dishes away and taking out the garbage. I just do not want to. Why is there always stuff to do?? Why can’t I just sit quietly while stuff does itself? I did mail the package and drop off my lease renewal, to it wasn’t a total wash, but that’s pretty much it. My goals for this week are to function like a normal human adult again because my apartment is gross.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. martinmegz says:

    I hear you, Theresa. There was a period in my life when I couldn’t be bothered to open my mail. I don’t know why. I would just throw it in a bag and let it pile up. I was basically like Jake and his mail tub.

    So I have exciting news! I woke up to an email from my editor offering me a free trip to Paris next month to cover some tennis stuff! Yes, please! It’s only a few days, but I’ll take it. My question for you all is this: has anyone taken trains in Europe recently? I’m thinking about trying to hop over to Florence if I can extend the trip and I have no idea which ticket websites to use for train tickets.

    • Sota says:

      There is nothing that I hate more than opening and dealing with mail. Unless its a birthday card or an Anthropologie catalog, I don’t want it.

    • nastyemu says:

      I can’t help you with a train to Italy but I used Thalys for getting between Paris, Netherlands, and Belgium. Good luck and have fun! I’m jelly.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I started going through the mail this morning. It’s like weeks worth of mail. If I just went through it each day, it would take less than 5 minutes a day. Why do I do this to myself?

  2. hotspur says:

    I think I have reached a point where it is literally impossible to clean my apartment without tossing shit I want to keep. I’m out of space. I have basically written off my kitchen table for six months now — it has become a storage platform. There’s a friend visiting this weekend, and another one next month, so that shit won’t fly any more. I gotta do SOME cleaning, starting tonight… but this sucks. Why can’t I have a big closet and a maid? Why is that too much to ask?

    Anyway, cleaning is one project. Writing more vampire book is the other. Volume 2 is in decent shape. I gotta read it through front to back, to make sure — that’s my goal between now and our next Project Club Time. (Followed by two weeks of fixing all the crap it turns out is NOT in decent shape.)

    • flanny says:

      My kitchen table is both storage platform and cat bed. I’m never eating off it again.

    • martinmegz says:

      The city is coming to inspect all units in my building next week and my landlord called me this morning urging me to clean up my place before they arrive, because he knows how I live. So please don’t feel bad about your mess. Also, I’ve heard Task Rabbit is a good way to get a cleaner in on the cheap.

    • old man fatima says:

      I’m honestly thinking of just getting a gigantic tupperware to sweep my table off into. Cant be bothered to go through it, don’t want to toss it in case it’s important. Yuck, life is the worst.

  3. catweazle says:

    I did my taxes! Now I need to clean my apartment so I can have building maintenance come in and fix my kitchen tiles. I did clean up the debris last night and stacked them neatly which was more than I expected out of myself tbh.

  4. Sota says:

    I only have 1.5 more workdays till vacation and my brain is total mush.
    Goals are:
    – Prep to leave work stuff organized for while I am out to avoid having work call me on vacay.
    – Laundry – gotta wash a few things before I go
    – Return a necklace that I bought but decided not to wear
    – MAIL TAXES (Im old skool. I do paper filing.)

    All of these tasks have to be dealt with by Saturday morning at 8am when I depart. So it’s project club 48 hours for me this week. Here we go!

  5. flanny says:

    I did not make a doctor’s appointment this week, although I did write a bit, so that’s good.

    This week I have to really get started reading the book club book. It’s a week from Tuesday and I’ve read three pages. And still doctor’s appointment, especially now that I’m feeling not sick. (Although now my cat is sick. Dumb old 2016. I can’t catch a break this year!)

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Oh boy, you guys! Not only did I get those pants mailed back, but I got Mr. Truck to do it because he was taking something else to the post office! He’s so great! Now I have a friend’s birthday gift that needs to get to the post office this weekend!
    My closet installation got moved up and we are now booked for 2 weeks from now which means I have 2 weeks to get my shit out of there (in an organized manner so I get rid of the stuff I need to get rid of). Very excited about that!
    Still gotta do that weight loss…Need to kick-start it a little bit this week.

    • Sota says:

      Adding “Making your husband go to the post office for you” to the list of reasons why I should get married someday.

  7. FRQ says:

    I hate to be such a quitter in this case, but the I don’t think the aikido is working out for me. The class, for me, was supposed to be an extra cirricular activity that I did for fun with no real end goal (i.e. I enjoy the journey, not necessarily the destination). Well, every time I come out of a class, I’ve been frustrated and miserable. I’m going to give it another couple of tries, and if I still feel this way, I’m done. Granted, I did pay for 2 months, but I used a Groupon so the damage would be minimal. However, I don’t plan on giving up the search all together. It’s back to the drawing board, by which I mean Google, and researching other activities.

    Also, I thought this was an incredibly appropriate news item for this post:

    http://techcrunch.com/2016/04/12/google-calendar-goals/

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I am very interested in this but also it led me to this: https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/243155 which I will be totally checking out. I’m thinking the one where it’ll cost you money if you don’t meet your targets won’t work for me because I will lie to it because I’m cheap. I think I’m going to go for the one that gives you points based on how many of your things you do each week! I’m gonna win points!

  8. nastyemu says:

    I didn’t finish reading my book or start on Hotspur’s. Sorry.
    Basketball continues to go well, and is the thing I look forward to the most each week. My body hurts a little less each time.
    I’ve reached the part of the job search where I mostly stop looking and struggle to return calls to recruiters that want to talk to me about jobs I don’t want.
    We’re leaving for Arizona tomorrow to go visit Femu’s parents. I’m really excited to see some cacti and rocks. Hopefully we can get in some good hiking at the Grand Canyon but with the in-laws there it may limit what we can do. It’ll be nice to get away for a few days, no matter what we end up doing.

    • martinmegz says:

      Please report back on the skywalk at the Grand Canyon! Or any tourism for weirdos stuff you can share!

    • hotspur says:

      Do not apologize for not reading my book yet! I am humbled that you bought it at all and would be mortified if you felt pressure to read it on some kind of schedule. THIS GOES FOR ALL OF YOU.

  9. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    My main project this week has been trying to balance work, out of town guests, and normal day to day activity. This is a 24 hour balancing act, so this is definitely a project that is in progress.

    – Organize stuff around the house – Not so much, but since we are having guests over this weekend, this will get done on Friday.

    – Go to the bank! – Nope!

    – Clean out my car – It’s better. Not perfect, but better.

    – Make blueberry pancakes and/or bake the pumpkin pie that is in the freezer – I did not do this yet.

Comments are closed.