How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was really nice! The weather was beautiful, and I hung out with family and ate way, way, WAY too much. Then I came home and watched The Mummy and The Mummy Returns back-to-back on Netflix because I know how to live.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. mikaelajm says:

    HI MONSTERS!!! I have some pretty exciting news. I submitted my dissertation to my committee last week, and my defense is a week from today. Mostly this means that I should be hanging out here more! Yayayay!!!

    • martinmegz says:

      What an accomplishment, congratulations!

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I’m so proud of you!!!! Tell me your secrets!!!

      • mikaelajm says:

        Thank you all so much!!! Artdorkgirl, you have GOT this.

        I don’t know if you’ve read Joanne Belknap’s “Writing Your Dissertation in 15 Minutes a Day,” but it helped me a lot. Not because you can actually do that (lies!) but it’s good about some of the mechanics of the writing process (making writing a daily habit, setting small achievable goals, etc.) which made a big difference for me. That, and deciding that I wanted to be done more than I wanted the final product to be as excellent as possible. (My advisor helped with that part too. Done=good.)

  2. hotspur says:

    I watched the Mummy too! The first half of the first one, anyway, and then I got pulled away. I really enjoyed that movie when it was new, but forgot how slapsticky it was — I was shocked that I had not retained that. Like, that is the deal with that movie. How did I forget?

    The weather was absurdly pleasant and I made Belgian waffles from a new recipe that was perfect. It will henceforth be my standard waffle recipe. That’s huge.

  3. catweazle says:

    I went to that concert on Friday and to preserve my own sanity did not try to get anywhere near the stage, since I got stuck in the mosh pit last time I saw this band and it was super dumb. I stood in the balcony, thinking I would be safe, but lo and behold the dude standing next to me (probably in his mid-40s, beer belly, drunk) decided to try to start a mosh pit of his own. IN THE BALCONY. He bounced back in forth between me and his friend and the old guy standing in front of him for a while, and apparently took me violently elbowing him as encouragement, so I eventually just turned and stared at him until he looked at me and then yelled “DO YOU FUCKING MIND?” After the song ended he went down to the main floor to join the real mosh pit with all the other middle-aged dudes trying to recapture their youth. My older sister, the sweetest person on earth, was in the thick of it downstairs and ended up telling off a guy who shoved his way to the front and smugly said “Dude, there are too many chicks here.” I like that band a lot but their fans are the woooooorst.

    The rest of the weekend was spent mostly at home which was much more pleasant. Except that there was an ant in my apartment yesterday! Ever since I got new downstairs neighbors who have cats I’ve had very few insects so this was a very bad surprise. But as long as I don’t get a fruit fly infestation like last year I guess I can deal with a stray ant or two.

  4. flanny says:

    It was literally the most beautiful weekend on earth, especially considering that the past two Saturdays were ruined by a snowstorm and an ice storm, respectively. (And I don’t use the term “storm” willy-nilly. They tangled up traffic! They were legit.) But that’s all in the past! It was in the 70s all weekend! So I sat outside and read a book a lot, but I also somehow managed to watch all of the new season of Kimmy Schmidt.
    I took a Sunday morning run through a neighborhood that was straight out of Sixteen Candles, and it made me realize that I don’t really know anyone who lives in a suburban neighborhood. I was like, I want to go to a cookout and then walk to the local elementary school and play kickball or something. I know it’s “cool” to hate the suburbs, and I get it they are in some ways terrible, but I also grew up in the suburbs and so I love them. Anyway, I’m going to try to befriend all the empty-nesters who undoubtedly live in that neighborhood to make my dream come true.

    • flanny says:

      Also, I’m just going to brag, but I just found out my poetry professor was a 2016 Pulitzer Prize finalist?!?!? I can say that I studied under a Pulitzer Prize finalist now?!?! And, like, she told me that I was good?!?!?!? Also, what the fuck am I doing with my life?!?!?

  5. martinmegz says:

    I ate dinner under the Endeavour, which was awesome! Even more so because of the open bar. Yesterday my softball team had a double header, which meant twice as much losing as usual.

    I also watched a bunch of episodes of Dinner at Tiffani’s (from the Cooking Channel) on demand. This show is fantastic. Tiffany Theissen is a great cook and hostess, she shows us all the steps in making a meal then some friends come over to eat. It’s mostly people who were on White Collar or who were famous in the 90s. She’s really good friends with Ross Matthews, and the amazing thing is that they first met at a mall when she was doing a signing and he was just some kid who loved her.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    I got my herb garden going (even though literally every person who saw me working on it this weekend said “you’re feeling optimistic, aren’t you?” because it’s spring in MA) and we finished up Daredevil which was really good. I also took 2 naps and made crock-pot pulled pork. It was a pretty good weekend.

  7. FRQ says:

    Friday night I had dinner with friends, and ended up going to a dance night at a nearby music venue. Saturday I partook in the Record Store Day activities, then went to a 90s themed party that evening. Sunday I did nothing to make up for staying out so late the previous two nights.

    As for what I wore to the party, I remembered that I own this shirt:

  8. catweazle says:

    I forgot to say that I saw Mordonez at the Record Store Day thing he played at! I could only stay for one song because I had to go to class but it was a good song! Good job!

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a pretty great weekend! I DIY dyed my hair again with more bleach to get a better balayage/ombre thing and it looks better, but still not as drastic as I had in mind, but I’m realizing that well done balayage should be something you don’t even notice so I think it looks great. Then today! This girl had mermaid hair and I was staring at it thinking how perfect it looked and how jealous of it I was and she called me over and was like “your hair is so awesome! your fade is perfect!” and I was like “I did it myself!” and she’s like “shut up! my stylist took 5 hours to do it!” and I was like “it took me 45 minutes!” and it was awesome.

    • Commentatrix says:

      YouTube tutorial! YouTube tutorial!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I used a youtube tutorial! I’d try to find it, but it’s really simple – you get hair bleach and see how long the maximum amount of time is (you can use less time if you don’t want full blonde at the bottom). Set your timer for that and put a tiny bit at just your ends. Then every 3-5 minutes add just a little more. At the same time, pull bleach through some streaks and when you add to your ends, add to the streaks both in nearby strands and at the top of where the bleach is. Basically just add a little every couple of minutes so there aren’t any obvious lines.

  10. old man fatima says:

    My weekend was good! We did a BBQ fundraiser for the dog rescue and between the donation bin and the BBQ we raised OVER TWO THOUSAND DOLLARS which I literally cannot believe. I had to run to the store to get more burgers so many times, you guys. Fatiman was a BBQ-ing champ. It was great. Then it was bachelorette party #1 which was actually lots of fun. I skipped out on the pole dancing classes because I’m an adult and I didn’t go out dancing because I had to be up early to show the house to potential renters, but I went to the in-between party which was like 8-midnight. I made a penis pinata out of an Olaf from Frozen pinata and it turned out very good! That snowman looks an awful lot like a penis!

    Then on Sunday we did work around the house and Fatiman found a 20$ bike and got it for me and we sanded and spray painted and got it new gears and handlebars! This is very exciting for me. I was hit by a truck and almost lost a leg while on my bike in 2006 and I have been too chicken to get back on board the bicycle train ever since. We’ll be a 5 minute walk from a 75 hectare park with seaside trails and I am determined to enjoy it! And if I’m still too chicken, it was 20 bucks plus parts, so like 50. Not the worst.

Comments are closed.