How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was good! I checked off a few things on my to-d0 list, read some, watched some TV, and generally relaxed after a long and very stressful week. Here’s hoping that this one is less crazy.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    I had some very tasty salted caramel ice cream this weekend, which is really saying something because it was scoop ice cream and generally I am a soft-serve girl 100%.

  2. martinmegz says:

    I was in Charleston on Friday and Saturday and I think they should put me on the board of tourism because I am such a huge fan of that city. What a great place to visit! There’s great public transportation, the buildings and houses are gorgeous, tons of gardens, the downtown is bustling with restaurants, bars, shops, people. I spent hours just walking around and loved it. Plus the plantations just outside the city are beautiful and it feels important to be there and contemplate our nation’s history and the terrible things that slaves endured. Also I ate fried pickles, which was a revelation. And the airport is very clean and small, and there’s a bus that takes you there from downtown for only $3.50!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I can’t believe it, but I designed 3 logos, and completed another that I had started a while back. I even had time to spare. Unfortunately, my time to spare was put towards other work projects. And of course our staff had a few changes when they reviewed the logos this morning, but nothing too time consuming.

    Finally got to see the last Hunger Games, and I liked it very much. We split it up over two nights because it was pretty damn long.

    Also got to see some friends who happened to be in our suburb. So, pretty successful weekend!

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    We hosted a Game of Thrones watch party and I made spaghetti and meatballs. That’s pretty much all I did this weekend, and it was great!

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was great! We went to a kid’s birthday party at the park and hung out and then I went out on a girl date that night. Then Sunday we got our closets organized and ready for the closet installation! Then we watched Game of Thrones which I didn’t expect to get to do because mr. truck had said that he was going to wait until the books are out but I guess he changed his mind!!!

  6. catweazle says:

    I was in such a good mood after performing on Saturday that a creeper felt comfortable creeping on me! That almost never happens due to my cold and forbidding aura, so when this middle-aged guy came up to me and tapped my arm I assumed he wanted me to move over so he could walk by. But then he just stood there staring at me and pointed to the beer I was holding and I was still confused so I was like “???” and finally he asked if he could buy me a beer. At this point I started wondering if I was supposed to know this guy because lots of people from the school come to these things and I know a lot of them and I was worried maybe I forgot who he was because SURELY this weird old dude didn’t think that he could actually hit this. So I was more polite than I would normally be and just said “Nah, I’m fine, thanks.” He then moved on to my friend and she shut him down and he walked away. And then two minutes later came back and just creepily stood next to us not saying anything! So we just walked away and I guess he finally got the hint.

    But that will teach me to be in a good mood in public!

  7. hotspur says:

    Saturday was a writing day, and then Sunday was full of games in San Diego and lots of food. My friend’s new house there is huge! And he and the missus now have two Boston Terriers that were so high energy as to be startling. Those dogs spent probably five hours chasing each other all over the place. (And farting. “They’re a gassy breed,” my friend informed me.)

  8. Very good! Mainly because I was in Tokyo, which was nuts. Saturday was the Ghibli museum and Harajuku. Sunday was the Pokemon Mega Center and the Robot Restaurant (look it up, it’s amazing) and conveyor belt sushi. My friend and I managed not to murder each other, though we came close toward the end. There is definitely only so much time you can spend with one other person in a foreign country before you’re at each other’s throats.

    We time traveled this morning, leaving Tokyo at 11am and arriving back in Chicago at 8:30 am. I slept for 2 hours and then grabbed brunch on a patio because it’s gorgeous out. I don’t go back to work until tomorrow so I’m counting today as still the weekend. I’m slowly doing laundry and sorting souvenirs.

    And yes, a Tourism For Weirdos will happen. Definitely for the Instant Ramen Museum, probably for other things.

    • martinmegz says:

      We want to hear all about your trip! What surprised you the most about Japan? What stands out as the best thing you did?

      • hotspur says:

        Ugh. Get an international travel room, you two.

        • flanny says:

          If they get an international travel room, I would like the room next door where I will sit with a glass pressed against the wall so I can hear what they are saying.

        • It would be a very tiny international travel room. we basically stayed in a cruise ship cabin in Tokyo. It was not comfortable.

      • The biggest surprise/annoyance was how much meat they eat. I just figured everything would be fish and I could get by, but they actually eat lots of chicken and pork! So much hidden meat in everything. My friend got an instant ramen that had a photo tofu on the front…that still had chunks of meat in it.

        Best was Fushimi Inari. It’s a shrine that winds up a mountain with thousands of red gates. It was a trek, but was gorgeous.

        Weirdest was probably the Robot Restaurant, which is mostly just for tourists but was totally worth going to. Here’s Anthony Bourdain visiting it (they’ve made the show more ridiculous since this clip was taken):

        We saw so much stuff it was a bit ridiculous, but still missed a lot. I need to go back! (but not until after I’ve recovered from dealing with all the crowds)

    • FRQ says:

      I will live vicariously through you

  9. old man fatima says:

    On Friday I took Chomper to the boardwalk the next town over and we walked around and I got some ice cream. There’s a doggy bakery there and they have dog ice cream made from liver and pumpkin but they weren’t open for the season yet. Chomps knows what’s up, though, and I had to really drag her away from the building it’s in. No fooling that one when it comes to cool treats! Saturday we replaced some trim and then made ridiculous pizzas and watched some Stephen Chow movies (God of Cookery and Journey into the West, highly recommend both). Sunday we went on a nice long hike and then went to a friend’s house to visit her new foster pup who is CRAZY CUTE and I accidentally dropped him on his little head so maybe I should steer clear of babies anytime soon! And then we started to pack because we’re moving soon. We started in the spare room because it doesn’t have much stuff in it and somehow we spent the entire evening in there and still aren’t done??? I should just throw everything away, packing is such a drag.

    Anyway, here is the foster dog, because I’d be remiss not to show him off. He just arrived on Saturday and he desperately needs a grooming, but he sure is sweet!

      • old man fatima says:

        Personally, I love the scruffy look! But I know he’ll show a lot better with a good haircut. Plus someone tried to cut out some of his matts with scissors so he has little bald spots 😦

    • martinmegz says:

      I missed the move info I think. Did you sell your place? Where are you moving?

      • old man fatima says:

        I’m renting it instead. I spoke with my mortgage guy and my early payout penalty is absurd, so I’m going to rent out the term and sell in a couple of years when it won’t cost me an arm and a leg. We’re moving downtown Halifax! Stumbling distance to everything and a 5 minute walk to a 75 hectare wooded park with running trails and ruins of old forts. MEC does a 5 km run followed by an hour of yoga in the park twice a week for free, so I can kiss the ol’ gym membership goodbye! And we’ll be right near the farmer’s market and a 15 min walk to work. I’m very excited! Our place is in this huge Victorian building with a fireplace and 13′ ceilings and a living room that’s bigger than most apartments. Fatiman is super into Christmas, so as soon as he saw how high the ceilings were he started bragging to everyone about how enormous our tree will be this year. We’ve also decided that we’re going to move back to Montreal in a couple of years, though! I’m also very excited for that. I’ve been researching companies that have offices downtown Halifax and downtown Montreal and I’m going to start applying, as much as I love my job, so that when the time comes I can just transfer to the Montreal office. Can’t keep me in one spot!

Comments are closed.