National Grilled Cheese Month: Artdork’s Italian Stallion

Can you even believe that this is the last week of National Grilled Cheese Month? I almost can’t! In fact, this afternoon I was at the grocery store and I started looking at the cheeses (for CW’s Texas toast grilled cheese) when it dawned on me that next Monday is May! That’s not National Grilled Cheese Month! Who know what we’ll have to celebrate next month! Pickles? Mozzarella sticks? Veggie samosas??? Whatever May has in store for us, I’ll never forget our special time together, particularly because now I own nine hundred different varies of mustard. I’m only one woman! I can’t go through all this mustard in one lifetime!

 photo 0416161627a_zpsyn3mfrdt.jpg

And yet, no plain yellow mustard.

I might have blown it right off the bat for the final sandwich, because I got a bit overwhelmed by all the different options for “Italian” bread in the fancy bread section of the grocery store. I had my hands on a boule of Italian when I saw a loaf of sliced bread labeled as Italian. if you’ll remember the disaster of my sourdough boule, I wanted to avoid that if I could. But Artdork specified a very hearty loaf, and this sliced loaf was certainly not hearty. In fact, it was tiny loaf without a lot of area per slice, so instead of following instructions and making one sandwich and slicing it in half, I made two small sandwiches. But I’m getting ahead of myself!

 photo 0416161627_zpsp95stjnw.jpg

One of my favorite summertime sandwiches is a simple old baguette with sliced tomatoes and mozzarella, so I’m very familiar with slicing up mozzarella. However, I’m not a big fan of sun-dried tomatoes so I guess I wasn’t aware that they come drenched in oil! I washed my hands 100 times while making these sandwiches, because there is no easy way to handle the tomatoes. I powered through, though, and look how tasty this raw sandwich looks!
 photo 0416161635_zpsxphbqy6p.jpg

And the finished product! So good! So melty!
 photo 0416161640_zpsgm7hezzz.jpg

Artdork sold this to me by saying that it tastes like pizza, and probably I eat shittier pizza than Artdork does because this did not taste like pizza to me.  But it was delicious!  The tomatoes have a good spice and the arugula’s peppery flavor add a fun kick.  And you can’t go wrong with slices of mozz!  Yum!

About flanny

Flanny was born and raised in a Detroit suburb, but tells people she's from Detroit without clarification because it makes her sound tough. She is not tough. Her favorite member of One Direction is Louis Tomlinson, and her favorite Agatha Christie detectives are Tommy and Tuppence.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to National Grilled Cheese Month: Artdork’s Italian Stallion

  1. artdorkgirl says:

    This sandwich is so good, you guys!! And with soup? Get out of here.

    I will say though, I usually don’t strain the oil off of the tomatoes, so that might make more pizza-like? I have no idea. All I know is I want this sandwich now.

  2. mordonez says:

    You’re pretty close to a caprese here, and that is one of my all time favorite sandwiches. You’d want basil instead of arugula and fresh tomato instead of sun dried. I would wager that both versions are delicious. The world is your grilled cheese sandwich!

    • flanny says:

      It tasted a lot like an Italian panini I used to get at a place across the street from my office in Boston. I think I actually like arugula better than basil, so I might like a mix of these two sandwiches.

  3. flanny says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention that I chose this brand of sundried tomatoes because I used to babysit for a family called the Alessis, and the mother’s name was Morningstar.

  4. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Here’s the thing about mustards – you can never have too many! They’re all special snowflakes. I think I have conservatively 6 mustards in my fridge (not counting salad dressing). Different mustards are God’s gift to you and discovering what to do with them is your gift to God.

    • flanny says:

      How long does it take you to go through a bottle of mustard?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Like a month or two for most popular mustards, maybe a year for less popular ones.

        • flanny says:

          Okay, that’s very reasonable. My mom tends to keep condiments until they are completely empty, so there have been times I reach into her fridge for something and discover it’s been in there since I was in high school. So I feel like I don’t know how long stuff stays good. So the fact that you, an adult who understand the nuances of mustard, keep them for up to a year makes me feel better.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah you gotta clean it out every once in awhile, but mustard pretty much never goes bad because of the vinegar.

Comments are closed.