How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was pretty good. I went grocery shopping and had fancy coffee and read two books and wrote some and started watching House Of Cards (not sure how I feel about the show yet, but I am 1000% in love with the perfection that is Claire Underwood). At some point I should probably spend a weekend actually interacting with other human beings, but it just feels so good to have two whole days all to myself!

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    This was one of those weekends where I look back and think, “What really did I do this weekend?” I know I did stuff. I accomplished things! I talked to my sister on the phone for a while. I ran a load of dishes. And I did other things. But what????

    • old man fatima says:

      Did you take any walks or do any reading? Did you craft? Did you think about the royal babies and how they’re FINALLY showing us photos of Princess Charlotte and how George look like a bully from the 1930s? Did you spend any time with any animals, or think about spending time with animals, or see any animals from your window/computer? Did you make any good sandwiches or eat any doughnuts? Did you make a new dance to an old 1D song? Did you write or listen to a podcast or clean your bedroom?

      • gnidrah says:

        Haha, did I make a new dance to an old 1D song? WERE YOU WATCHING ME??! HOW DID YOU KNOW?

  2. catweazle says:

    I saw Elvis and Nixon on Friday and it was delightful. Not only did it have my boy Michael Shannon being wacky and looking nothing like Elvis, but also Sky Ferreira was in it for about two minutes! Love her.

    I did nothing of substance on Saturday unless you count a nice long nap. Yesterday I went to see an ensemble some of my school buddies are in doing some Queen songs. It felt so wrong to leave my apartment on a Sunday night but I at least was able to punk out early and got home at 8pm.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a great weekend! I should probably save this all for the Thursday project club post, but I got so much done! I got all my clothes put back into my new, awesome closet! Then I got to hang out with my family on Saturday. Sunday we relaxed and I did a bunch of other projects that I had been putting off. Then Game of Thrones happened! I did not get very much sleep and I am still very tired, but overall it was worth it!

  4. nastyemu says:

    Had a great time in NY. We ate and drank for 15 consecutive hours on Saturday, then got in another solid 6-7 hours of eating and drinking on Sunday before I had to catch the train home. Feeling it now.

  5. Kate says:

    Graduation! Nightmare! 3 colleges graduating and the Pittsburgh marathon had the city tied in knots. We got to the ceremony just in the nick of time by some miracle. It was a one mile sprint to the finish. Luckily I wore flats. I got some nice pictures, I must say.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    We survived another Mr. Dork birthday! It was sort of a comedy of errors. Because of the rain, the cider house had their beer garden closed so we could only get (unlimited) samples. Then by the time we got to the bar, they were on their limited menu because brunch was over and dinner hadn’t started. But everyone finally ate and drank and had a great time!

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finally saw the Revenant, and I loved it! That opening fight scene was impressive, maybe even as good as some* of the fight scenes of Last of the Mohicans. Everyone in that cast and crew should get an Academy Award for being tough because, damn, those filming conditions had to be the worst. And the cinematography – just gorgeous. It’s not a movie I expect to watch over and over, but it is easily in my top ten.

    *The last ten minutes of Last of the Mohicans is cinema at its best, so the Revenant did not surpass that.

  8. FRQ says:

    My weekend was pretty boring, but just fine. That was until last night, when for some reason I ended up sleeping terribly. Now I’m running on a few hours of sleep with a busy evening ahead of me. I just hope I can somehow survive without doing something stupid.

    In other news, it turns out that the conference I’m going to attend in Chicago is actually June 16th and 17th. I plan on staying through the weekend to see family and friends, so if you Midwest Monsters will be available, I’d love to meet up.

  9. martinmegz says:

    I survived a baby shower and lost a softball game, did a little work, and not much else. I’ve been watching this old show on Hulu called Standoff. I think it was on ten years ago, just one season. Ron Livingston is a hostage negotiator and is dating his partner, Rosemarie DeWitt. The delightful thing is that the two actors met on set during the show then got married in real life and adopted a baby! I love it when things work out for people.

  10. I got brunch on Saturday and then walked with my friend to a fancy new grocery store. I bought a jar of sauerkraut and have already eaten half the jar. Man, I love fermented things. Then I spent the rest of Saturday and all of Sunday watching the BBC’s “Pride and Prejudice” and “Emma,” then catching up with Game of Thrones. It was a lazy weekend and I am happy for it.

  11. hotspur says:

    Between getting home from work at 6 PM on Friday night until 8 AM this morning, I only left my apartment for 40 seconds. That was to walk my rent check down to the manager’s door and slide it under. I didn’t talk to anyone or get any sunlight on me. That wasn’t the plan, but that’s how it went, because I wasn’t allowed to leave until I finished the next vampire book. It was so close to being done! But also it was down to the final battle versus the 4 scenes that I’d been totally unable to make any good over the past year. So that was my weekend. (I declared victory at 12:28 AM last night, then celebrated by pouring a drink and reading Twitter for half an hour.)

    So basically I lived the life of a shut-in. Other perks: I started reading “The World To Come” by Dara Horn, made waffles, watched Archer.

  12. Guys, my bed is coming TOMORROW! I don’t even have sheets! I mean, I do, but they’ll be too small. I’ll have to do some MacGyering because no way is my lazy ass going to Bed Bath and Beyond tonight. Hopefully the frame comes tomorrow too, but Amazon is being vague on that score, and I can just keep it on the floor until then. Everyone please keep your fingers crossed that I’ll be able to carry a 60-pound box up the stairs by myself. (60 pounds is what, a 7-year-old? I can carry a 7-year old.)

    • old man fatima says:

      When I got my bed it BARELY fit around the curve of the staircase even at its bendiest. I was all alone and I had to tie ropes to it so I could push until it got stuck and then tie it to the railing and shimmy under it up the stairs so I could unstick it and pull until it got stuck and then tie it to the railing and shimmy back down under it to unstick it etc. It took me nearly an hour and I was so sweaty and exhausted by the end but I felt like a superhero! I jumped up and down screaming and picked up Catticus (Catticus!) and swung him around in my joy, which startled him into scratching me for the first and only time. It was worth it.

  13. gnidrah says:

    Guys, I don’t really have a job any more? I have part-time work, and I have some irons in the fire for other stuff, but it’s very, very weird. I have worked every day for the past eight years. I have got up at 4am every day for five of those years. So now I am just trying to figure it all out and it’s a lot more stressful than I thought it would be, even though technically I have only been out of work for about three days.

    The good news for all of you is that it’s Eurovision next week, and not only will I be blogging about it for you, you can also watch the grand final live! LOOK: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-36191143

    You lucky sausages!

    • hotspur says:

      I am glad if this means we get to see more of you ’round these here parts. Admittedly that is selfish.

      Did you leave the job on purpose, or is this more of a surprise vacation? We just gave a bunch of my favorite coworkers a surprise vacation here, and it makes me sad.

      • gnidrah says:

        I left on purpose. I was so, so exhausted, and stuff that I should have been able to cope with like it was nothing, I was really struggling with – plus, I think I have realised, I was bored. I did a two-month stint on another show for the same company, now I am filling in here and there, but interestingly, just about an hour after I wrote this, two possible leads for new jobs came up! So! Down but not out!

        The surprise vacation absolutely sucks. A very well-known show here just did that to a couple of staff members, by shutting down their computer network log-ins. So they turned up to work, couldn’t sign in, then that was how it was broken to them that they no longer worked there. I’m not even sure that’s legal.

Comments are closed.