Tourism for Doughnuts: Pop-Tart Doughnut

Typically Flanny has the donut expertise round these parts, but I was traveling last week and decided I needed to jump in on the action. While I was in Sacramento, I heard about a bakery where they take an entire strawberry Pop-Tart, and bake a sweet fluffy donut around the outside of it. As a Pop-Tart AND donut enthusiast, clearly I had to try it.

The Sweet Dozen bakery is very cute. It appears that they are known for their Doissants, which seems like a version of the Cronut.  And actually, now that I am perusing the website a bit more, they have something they call Melts, which are donuts filled with ice cream. DUH!? Why is that not a thing that we have all the time!? Fantastic.

But I could not be bothered to even read the menu because I knew that I wanted a Pop-Tart donut. I looked over all of the rows in the display case, and started to get panicky heart palpitations, because there were none there! Thankfully there happened to be one last Pop-Tart donut hiding in the back row. Phew.

BEHOLD THE WONDER:

I wish I had done a better job of taking pics that have some sort of scale view, because you cant really tell, but this donut is enormous. I couldn’t be bothered to take that many pictures clearly because I was being blinded by my sugar anticipation. #hangry

Like any good Donutopologist (An intellectual with a focus on the study of donuts, clearly) I wanted to make sure to get a full perspective of my subject before diving in. I cut it in half to enjoy the cross section view. Look how fluffy and wonderful that donut looks with the strawberry Pop-Tart nestled right there in the middle.

So here is the verdict. The donut was very yummy! My biggest fear about the idea of this was that the Pop-Tart on the inside would be all soggy, but in reality it was the right amount of soft. The crust of the Pop-Tart made a nice thicker texture in comparison to the fluffy donut pastry texture. Frosting on top and sprinkles were 100% great.

I wasn’t able to finish it because it was just too much sugar, but it would be a great donut to share with a friend. And who doesn’t love a friend who will share a donut…this may be the way to world peace!

Now I am just hoping that all the other Donutopologist’s out there are brainstorming what delicious item should be baked into the center of a doughnut next!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tourism for Doughnuts: Pop-Tart Doughnut

  1. flanny says:

    I don’t have a dessert for lunch today, so I’d like it if you brought this to my office. Thanks.

  2. Kate says:

    I might try it with a blueberry pop tart. They should just glazi it instead of putting that thick plop of frosting on top. Then it would be a lot less sugary.

  3. Doughnuts are lovely. You know who likes doughnuts? The Japanese. You know who likes cute things? The Japanese. You know who likes to combine doughnuts and cute things? THE JAPANESE.

    Floresta doughnuts are not only adorable, they’re also. I had a (noncute) sea salt caramel one that was probably the best thing I’ve ever had.

    • Sota says:

      YES! That is the CUTEST donut! What other cute things did you eat in Japan???

      • I really need to finish my tourism for weirdos post so I can talk about things I ate.

        In terms of cute things, I bought Pokemon cup noodles that I need to eat soon. And Pokemon cookies. Lots of Pokemon. Also, their bento boxes definitely have an air of cuteness. Kawaii, if you will.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      That kitty donut is almost too cute to eat. Almost.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    As someone who has gotten into a bad habit of eating blueberry pop tarts every day, this seems dangerous to try because I can’t upgrade to more sugar, and I assume I would love this combination.

    Also, I was talking with a coworker about pop tarts and I asked, “What kind of maniac would buy the pop tarts without frosting?” She said she did to cut down on sugar. Well, guess what – the pop tarts WITH frosting have less sugar and less calories! A win for frosting!

    • Sota says:

      I will now use this as an excuse to eat as many poptarts as I want! I am a die hard Brown Sugar Cinnamon pop tart eater. Once in a while I will do a Smores flavor, just to spice it up.

      • flanny says:

        I’m brown sugar cinnamon and classic frosted strawberry, but as a twist I don’t like the strawberry toasted. I eat those suckers raw, baby!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I love the brown sugar cinnamon too, but for some reason, I always buy blueberry – maybe because it is one step closer to eating fruit instead of sugar garbage? haha, no.

          I don’t know if I’ve ever tried the strawberry. But if it’s Flanny approved, I will have to try it!

        • flanny says:

          Iced strawberry is my Platonic ideal of a Pop Tart. (Pretty sure I’m using that correctly, and that my sophomore year philosophy prof would be hella proud.)

        • Sota says:

          The frosted strawberry is what I deem as the “original pop-tart” baiscally only because thats what we ate when I was a child. They are very very good, but once I was introduced to brown sugar cinnamon it was true love.

      • Not to be straight-up Cartman in South Park but have you ever tried buttering a Brown Sugar or a Smores pop tart? It’s really good!! It’s like having really delicious buttered cinnamon toast.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          That sounds kind of gross, but also AMAZING! I will definitely try this!

  5. martinmegz says:

    Damn it now I have to go to Sacramento

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    That sounds good but it makes me think that in donuts, just like in breakfast, where a pop tart is good, a toaster strudel is better.

Comments are closed.