Tuesday TV Talk

I haven’t been watching too much TV lately, so please feel free to discuss your shows below.

 

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. Sota says:

    I haven’t watched any tv lately, so instead I am going to share with you what I ate for lunch. A mixed salad with spinach, peas, carrots, broccoli, cucumbers, grilled chicken and bacon and for dessert a giant chocolate chip cookie. Yum!

  2. hotspur says:

    I started Veep and I’m up to episode 5 or so. It’s a lot better than I expected. There was a pooping-your-pants subplot in episode 2 that was the kind of thing I DID expect, so maybe it will head back in that direction as we go, but so far it also shows a lot of potential to resist that kinda low-hanging fruit.

    I also am making my way through Archer season 6. It looks like we are done with Archer Vice and working for the CIA now? Plus there’s a baby. No word yet on the country music front. Archer is the perfect thing to have on while cooking dinner.

    • mikaelajm says:

      I also started Veep!!! I had watched the first 2 episodes a while back and was pretty underwhelmed (especially by the overdone pants-pooping bit), but decided to give it a second shot this weekend. I am crushing you, though, since I’m already deep in season 3. I think it’s kind of the perfect vehicle for Julia Louis-Dreyfus, and I like several of the supporting characters (particularly Amy, Jonah, Sue).

      • hotspur says:

        I really like that they make JLD a believable VP, pretty much. So far I hate Jonah but I think I hate him because he’s very good.

        • mikaelajm says:

          Yes, sorry, I didn’t mean “like” in the sense that I root for him or want to hang out with him, but like in the sense that he’s so hilariously, believably THE WORST.

  3. nastyemu says:

    Silicon Valley is annoying me. I don’t care about any of the drama. More jokes please. The stuff about Kumail’s gold chain: great. Everything Richard says or does: not great. Please don’t be tech Entourage.

    Veep is great.

    • hotspur says:

      At first I did not like the incubator guy. Ehrlich Bachmann. But as time has gone on, he’s maybe my favorite. I now hear his voice in my head, giving me terrible career advice.

      My other favorites are the girl who messes with them by pretending she makes more money and, of course, the satanist. Martin Starr should be in everything.

    • FRQ says:

      I wholeheartedly agree. The show is no fun when the guys are just getting shit on with few funny moments. Also, I have mixed feelings about Richard tripping on that cord. On the one hand, it does save us from several episodes of cliche sitcom secrecy, but on the other hand JESUS, RICHARD, WHY ARE YOU SO GODDAMN STUPID?

      • martinmegz says:

        I hated that moment so much. Driving plot with such an idiotic move — WHY DID HE BRING THE PAPERS TO THE OFFICE?????? — is too frustrating to watch. Also, re my mom pointed out that people probably don’t risk the horses getting injured by letting them have sex, it’s done by artificial insemination for prize horses. It was so puerile to show the horse sex just because it’s HBO.

    • mikaelajm says:

      COULD NOT AGREE MORE! All three of this season’s episodes have been too much drama, too few laughs. I wish they’d let the shadow company plot go on much longer.

  4. flanny says:

    I support the winner of Project Runway Allstars and now I am just waiting until real PR comes back.

    I watched a really interesting Independent Lens on PBS yesterday about SWAT teams and the militarization of US police. Really light watching, tons of fun, for sure watch it on a holiday with your right-wing relatives. Just kidding, it was incredibly stressful and sad, but really good.

    I did NOT watch the last episode of Good Wife. I haven’t watched it really at all this season. Good Wife-heads, should I watch it? Or should I just fondly remember the good old days?

    • martinmegz says:

      The Good Wife finale ends with a baffling and disappointing scene so you could watch it if you want to get angry. If you haven’t watched this season I guess there isn’t a point to seeing the finale – it’s not as if you get any wrap up on her life. But there is one character who comes back after a long absence and it made me really happy to see this person!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I also fully support the winner of Project Runway Allstars! I would have switched the order of the runners up.

      I can’t believe they made all that stuff in 4 days. I hope regular PR comes back soon.

      • martinmegz says:

        Yeah Kini’s fabric was broke ass. His runway looked like a prom scene from Clueless. I think he’s a top sewer but not a top designer. Ken’s collection was stunning. I don’t get complaints about something being commercial. Like, aren’t you trying to run a business and make money? So why is it bad for a designer to make clothes that people would buy?

Comments are closed.