So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was very boring. Went to work, did work; went home, did home. I’ve got a four-day weekend coming up, though, so I’m in high spirits.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. flanny says:

    My big annual event that I plan and run starts in about four hours, and I feel good about it, but that makes me feel nervous. I’m going to soothe my frazzled soul by listening to 1D’s second album on the drive to the country club.

    • flanny says:

      Uggg, that’s the old thing I had saved in my clipboard. This means you guys get to look at two 1D gifs in one post! Everyone’s day just got better.

    • martinmegz says:

      It’ll be great!!!!!! Good luck and come back to let us know what happens!

      • flanny says:

        Dessert took a while to come out, but even with that delay we got out on time. Everything else ran smoothly! Now I just need to get through a bunch of smaller events tomorrow and commencement on Saturday and I can breathe easy!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Good luck at your big event!!

  2. catweazle says:

    I still haven’t caught up on sleep after being on call over the weekend because I am a dummy and keep not going to bed early. But this is the last week for a while that work is going to be so shitty! Thank goodness! I’ve turned into a super grouch this week because of all the accumulated stress of the last month so I’m very much looking forward to becoming a human again.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been pretty good…I’m leaving work early to catch a flight for my 4 day weekend. I’m taking the kid on a flight alone tonight and I’m so anxious about how it’s going to go. The flight leaves at 9pm! She should be at home asleep by then!!

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Today is fine, but I can’t wait until dinner time. Mr. Costco made “pulled pork” out of sweet potatoes and we have leftovers for tonight. It is so delicious and it tastes just like slow cooked pulled pork. I am not a vegetarian, but there are some tasty vegetarian recipes.

  5. gnidrah says:

    I’ve been waiting to hear back on a really great job for a week, and about 15 minutes ago, I finally did – and the line was, “oh sorry, when we called you last week, that was actually by mistake”. So fucked off right now, that I can’t even.

    Trying to focus on the Eurovision, and the fact that I finally managed to do 100 reps of the leg exercise my instructor’s been tormenting us with for months. My highest previous to this was 60. So. There we go.

    • FRQ says:

      People who give other people good news by mistake can eat shit.

      • gnidrah says:

        Second time this particular broadcaster has done this to me. I’m not mad, I’m just disappointed #mumresponse

        • hotspur says:

          Maybe you can get leg-related work. Be a knee socks model.

          Sorry to hear about that fuckwit employer. If it helps any I once got this call: “Great news! I’m offering you — [voice in background] hang on. [more voice] Can I call you back?” Found out later that was the exact moment his partner walked in to tell him they had to hire a honcho’s nephew instead of me. And they never actually called back.

          It all will work out. Enjoy the fitness till it does.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    I just got filling number 2 of 3 and my mouth is numb. I want to eat, but I should probably wait. I’m probably going to eat anyway tho.

  7. The project I’m on that I hate just got extended. The good side is I might get to go to Europe for work, the bad side is it’s for this stupid project and also during a time when I’d rather be in Chicago. Chicago summer is so fleeting and full of fun that being out of town at all is torment.

    I’m just overly grumpy today.

  8. Sota says:

    Well earlier today I called today a monday. Woof. There were some layoffs last week at my company which just makes everything harder. This week has been a scramble of trying to pick up the extra slack. I was on 3 tense phone calls before 10am. I need to start working harder at looking for a change.

    The bright spot in my day is that I just ate a bunch of gummy bears, and I get to see my beau in 8 days.

    • Sota says:

      GUYS! I FINALLY FOUND IT! THE DREAM JOB THAT ALLOWS ME TO EAT DONUTS ALL DAY.

      • gnidrah says:

        I was hoping it meant finishing eating doughnuts…

        • Sota says:

          I refuse to believe anything but that. Just read the first line of the job description and no more. Clearly doughnut eater is real meaning of this.

  9. FRQ says:

    My day has been alright. It will get better once I leave work, as I plan to get a much need massage, then follow it up with a documentary where Star Wars extras talk about their experiences working on all 7 movies.

  10. martinmegz says:

    My coworkers and I had Bay Cities Deli for lunch today, which is one of west LA’s greatest gems. I ate the much-ballyhooed Godmother.

    Now I’m listening to Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals while working. I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to buy a ticket to see them at the Hollywood Bowl in August. I have a ton of work for all three of my jobs but I need to spend my evenings studying French and Italian because in two weeks I’ll be in Europe!

  11. old man fatima says:

    My day has been rough, but is looking up! Remember a few weeks ago when I was working for that awful lawyer who made me cry multiple times? I had my 6 month review today. Every lawyer I’ve worked with so far was asked to review me and they were all glowing except for his of course. He is a managing partner, and his review was so bad that they have decided to extend my probation period to 9 months! I’m pretty bummed, to say the least. Once we’re settled I’m going to start looking for something in finance again. I can’t handle legal egos. Among his comments: I think too highly of myself (huh??) and I need to dress more appropriately. I dress like a school teacher, I just am the only one in this office who wear colours!

    But then I took Chomps on a very long walk through a lovely park and it’s warm and sunny today and we met so many great dogs and one very very tiny German Shepherd who was only 7 weeks old! And now I’m eating a really great salad and sandwich combo and we’re going to our exclusive members-only club for a beer tonight. It’s a grimy little dive with super cheap food and drinks that charges $10/year membership. It has trivia with an activity/dare round and everything is so cheap and you get to sign in guests and enter via door code, which is so much fun. I also found a castle in my neighbourhood, see below. Thinks too highly of herself?? I belong to a very exclusive club and I live in a neighbourhood with a castle, I think I think exactly highly enough of myself!

    • martinmegz says:

      Yes I’ve often thought that you are too capable of independent thought, which I assume is what a man like that means when he says a women thinks too highly of herself. “She can form opinions of her own and has the confidence to articulate them!”

      Judging by the FB photos, your apartment turned out great!

      • old man fatima says:

        It did! I’m really pleased with it in the end! We need a few bookshelves, but it’s all coming together very nicely and the landlord fixed everything that we asked him to fix.

      • old man fatima says:

        And yeah, my first thought was misogyny too, but then I overheard some of the male lawyers talking about what a dick he is. So I just think he’s a dick. He is one of those people who thinks he’s better than everyone because he has a more important job than they do, and he LOVES to point out how important his job is.

Comments are closed.