How Was Your Weekend?

Mine is STILL GOING, so obviously it’s great. I’m off today, and am still trying to figure out how I’m going to spend it. Otherwise I’ve been wonderfully lazy, and have basically been curled up on the couch reading for four straight days.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. nastyemu says:

    Mine was pretty lazy. I went for a hike and cleaned our back patio, but other than that I didn’t leave the house and started re-watching Mad Men. It’s still really great!

  2. flanny says:

    Commencement was Saturday afternoon, which means that the two most stressful weeks of my year are over. I lost my mind officially twice and it took me five hours after getting home from the ceremony to feel unstressed. I’m taking today and tomorrow off, and my boss literally said to me, “You need this time off.” Smell you later, 2015-16 school year. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

  3. Everything I did this weekend could be better said in other threads: watched Eurovision (Eurovision thread), went to print studio (project club), watched Game of Thrones (WHERE IS THAT THREAD, I WANNA TALK ABOUT MY FEELINGS).

    Other than that I got a massage from my massage therapist friend. It could’ve been really awkward getting a massage from your friend in his house, but it wasn’t. Hurray! Though I am very very sore today.

    • flanny says:

      I’m so disappointed in my friend circle because it doesn’t include a massage therapist.

      • It’s great, but he’s actually my ex’s friend who I still hang with. So that adds an even greater level of awkward. The only terrible part of the interaction yesterday was before we started he gave me a book that my ex had passed to him to return to me. Ick. But then I got a 90 minute massage for cheap, so I guess that fixed things.

  4. artdorkgirl says:

    I will not be home for a whole 24 hours from tomorrow to May 28th. What sort of madness is that?? Who would be so dumb as to book two trips back to back?? ME! I really am my own worst enemy. So I stayed home all weekend, and it was great.

    • martinmegz says:

      Where are you going?

      • artdorkgirl says:

        I’ll be in Houston this week to visit my mom and go to my friend’s wedding, which will be a lot of fun. But we get back on Monday and then Tuesday I go back to NYC for hopefully my last round of research there. The one thing I told myself about going back to NYC is I will throw my hat in the ring for the “Hamilton” lottery. Who knows, but at least I’ll be in it to win it!

  5. martinmegz says:

    This weekend I worked some and procrastinated working a lot. I watched Deadpool, which was great! When it ended, I clapped and said, “I really got my six dollars’ worth on that.” Last night I went over to my friends’ house for dinner and felt like a real grown up. At the risk of enraging hotspur by mentioning this, I’m one week away from Paris/Florence and v. v. v. excited about it.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      So, in Florence, there’s an English bar called the Lion’s Head (it’s maybe a 10 minute walk behind the Duomo). Right next door is a deli. The guy who works behind the counter looks like Rick Steves, and their food is legit and inexpensive. Then you can pop back over to the pub and get a beer.

      • martinmegz says:

        I know the Lion’s Head! I drank a lot of Malibu and Pineapples there one summer when I was 16 years old. But I haven’t been to the deli, thanks for the recommendation. What if it really is Rick Steves???

        • artdorkgirl says:

          It’s a pretty good pub. My friend and I got to watch the male models from fashion week walk by while we got drunk!

          I don’t know if that guy really is Rick Steves, but he let us come back behind the counter and take a picture with him on our last day there (we ate there A LOT).

    • hotspur says:

      It infuriates me how extravagantly you travel, martinmegz. In contrast, my big vacation this weekend was to Hermosa Beach. For those of you who don’t know, Hermosa is 25 minutes from where I work, so it is like saying your vacation was a trip to the store.

      Actually no, it was real nice. Friends from out of town airbnb’ed a place right on the beach, and invited me to stay with them Friday and Saturday night. It is so nice to wake up looking at the ocean!

      (Although, you guys, I have very mixed feelings about airbnb. Don’t you? The apartment we stayed in could have been someone’s real home, but instead it’s an airbnb, which means less available housing, which means all rents going up, which means more lawyers and finance types and fewer struggling musicians and weirdos. We discussed this crisis briefly Saturday but my friends were like “So?” They didn’t see any downside, which confused me.)

      Okay, let’s end on a positive note: I saw Kill Zone 2 and it was pretty good.

      • artdorkgirl says:

        I’m staying in a spare room that someone’s AirBnB’d and I kinda feel weird about it. I’ll keep you posted.

        • hotspur says:

          Oh yeah! Please do! I am curious how the spare-room ones pan out.

          I used to be signed up on a website called Couch Surfer or something. Like eight years ago? Basically what it sounds like. “Hey, I’ll be in Hermosa/Houston/Florence, let’s see whose couch is available.” I never actually used its services and I’m not sure it still exists.

      • martinmegz says:

        My feelings about air bnb are not at all mixed because the people who live across the alley from me are now doing it with a spare room in their place and it is awful having new people coming and going all the time. So I hate air bnb and i hate people who bring guitars with them and sit outside singing when I’m trying to live my life in peace! Waking up by the beach sounds nice, though.

        • nastyemu says:

          I’ve lived the last year and a half on a block that is 90% old white people, so I’ll tell you what I’ve learned from them. Call the cops. Say you saw drugs. Say they’re performing without a permit. Disturbing the peace. Whatever it takes. You may feel guilty. You probably think you’re wasting their time. You’ll forget all that when you have your quiet time. Embrace your inner elderly lady.

        • martinmegz says:

          Hahahaha if I had a lawn I’d yell at them get off it! Seriously though they are doing drugs.

      • flanny says:

        My vacation this weekend was an overnight trip to my mom’s house to see if my cat would destroy the house if left alone overnight. (She didn’t!)

        I just got a new air mattress this morning, so can I throw my place up on airbnb now?

      • FRQ says:

        By “Kill Zone”, are you referring to the film known as “SPL” in Asia, or is there another movie named Kill Zone that I should watch?

        • hotspur says:

          FRQ, Kill Zone was Donnie Yen, and Kill Zone 2 is Tony Jaa. In theory it is a sequel but in reality it has nothing to do with the first one except the title. The plot will make you squirm and is well done. Some of the kung fu is excellent but there were a couple of missed opportunities imho. You can watch it on Amazon, but it is also in theaters.

        • FRQ says:

          Yup, that’s the one! I’ll check it out then.

      • Sota says:

        I have some weird feelings about airbnb too, but mostly cause if I am on vacation I really want to feel like I am ON VACATION…aka I like it when someone else cleans up after me and makes my bed. Therefore, I prefer hotels mostly. Also I am trying to rack up hotel membership points.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          Well, this is in uptown Manhattan for $79 a night. So we’ll see. I may send an sos up if needs be (jk, I’ll check into a hotel like an adult). I’m just trying to get dissertation research done as cheaply as possible.

          My sort-of-uncle rents his spare room in Brooklyn (which is where I usually stay, but now that the weather is nice and it’s festival season, he’s booked solid).

        • martinmegz says:

          FESTIVAL SEASON

        • artdorkgirl says:

          It’s Brooklyn! I don’t know what to do with that!!

        • martinmegz says:

          I just think it’s funny. Do you watch Younger? It manages to both mock Brooklyn and make it look like a fun place.

        • artdorkgirl says:

          Oh! I didn’t know! He lives closer to Park Slope so he doesn’t get quite the nonsense that you’d get in Williamsburg, but it’s still pretty funky and has my 2 favorite bars to visit when I’m there within walking distance.

      • old man fatima says:

        I think air bnb is great! Very convenient. I don’t like that I’m seeing a lot of dedicated air bnb houses and apts like you’re talking about. I like staying is someone’s house or spare room while they’re away or whatever. I prefer to travel alone, so it’s nice to have company, or at least the illusion of it. I think uber is bs tho, if anyone wants to talk about uber.

        • nastyemu says:

          I’m so thankful for the existence of uber. They’re probably going to run out of people willing to drive for them eventually, but hopefully not before the countless shitty cab companies in many American cities are forced to improve their service. In October I had to take a cab from the St Louis airport to a hotel and when I asked to pay with a credit card he pulled out one of those old carbon copy imprint swipe-y things. I haven’t had a credit card with raised numbers on it in at least 4 years. Get your shit together, St Louis.

        • old man fatima says:

          The trouble with uber is that the people who drive have day jobs so they don’t need to make a living wage, they are just looking for spending money. They’re making it impossible for people who actually rely on taxis as a means of supporting themselves and their families. It’s especially heartbreaking when you realize that a lot of cabbies are immigrants with degrees that don’t fully transfer, so this is what they do while they work on their equivalencies. There aren’t a lot of other relatively unskilled jobs that pay a decent wage.

        • nastyemu says:

          It is sad, and I’m glad I don’t have to do it. Uber or not, anyone whose entire job is “drive a vehicle” needs to find a new line of work ASAP. It’s gonna be really bad.

  6. FRQ says:

    My weekend was pretty good! The day after my delightful pancake dinner, I spent the day at an amusement park with a few of my closest friends. The catered lunch was less than stellar, and the lines were not ideal, but I did get to go on all of my favorite rides. And as a bonus, we went to a diner for dinner, so I got to eat breakfast for dinner TWO DAYS IN A ROW. Sunday I went on a short hike and met up with friends for dinner after.

    Picking up right where flanny left off, my most stressful week of the year began today. Just an FYI, from Wed-Fri, I will have limited access to this site. I’ll be able to schedule posts during the day, but I won’t be able to write anything myself, except for the crappy morning video which I will do the night before.

  7. catweazle says:

    My hair is two colors now because I got the back and sides cut really short yesterday and the dyed part is only on top now. It looks dumb and also holy cow I got a lot more greys since the last time I dyed it! I have a box of dye that’s approximately my natural color so I’ll probably do that for a bit.

    I got super drunk for no reason yesterday which has messed up my plans of spending today cleaning my apartment. I’ve been lying on the couch since 9AM watching Gilmore Girls and guzzling water and I feel somewhat human again so I might try to get started on shit now but I’m so comfyyyyyy.

  8. Sota says:

    My weekend was, as always, way too short. Saturday was all bridal shower/bachlorette events for my friend. Apparently all of my friends are getting married right now and love to have 8,000 events. I’m getting really tired of watching people open dishes/lingerie. Sunday I did basically nothing. I caught up on TVD, layed around and did laundry and cleaned the kitchen. I also saw Money Monster over the weekend, which I enjoyed very much. It gave me exactly what I expected from it. And I love the Clooney + Roberts combo in movies, so I was happy.

    Now I am just going to grit my teeth and try to get myself through to Thursday when I fly to Seattle with my BF. It will be nice to be together and get away from real life. I am flying home on the red eye and straight to work Monday, so everyone in my world better stay away that day. I will be crabby mcgee.

    • old man fatima says:

      Ugh I have SIX weddings and two baby showers this summer!! That is too many things that I have to do! When you throw in bachelorettes and baby showers, it’s like I don’t get a single weekend to do what I want all damn summer! Friends, I’m happy for you, but can’t I just show it quietly somewhere else? And why can’t you just have a wedding, why do you have to have 65 events that go with it?? The worst!!

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was great but exhausting! I took the kid to my parents house for the weekend for my cousin’s graduation and there was lots of fun but also some family drama (as always) but overall it was good.

  10. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This weekend went by in a flash. I was basically granted a day off on Friday, and managed to waste the entire day in front of my computer watching How I Met Your Mother and staring at Facebook like a zombie. There was so much I could have done for work and around the house, but I could not muster up any energy to do anything.

    We got pizza on Saturday that was very good, and watched Deadpool, which I liked more than I expected.

    I have to build another website for another work event, so Sunday was spent working on that.

  11. old man fatima says:

    We got our first foster puppy on Saturday and he lasted until this evening when I dropped him at his new foster home. He was stupidly cute, but holy Christ what a nightmare. He had Chompsky and Mycroft so stressed that Chomper was snapping, which I’ve never seen before, and Mycroft hid in the closet. There are tufts of fur from both of them all over and chomps has a bald spot on her tail from this little fucker pulling their hair out and biting them. Last night he barked nonstop until 3 in the morning and I wanted to throw him out of the window. He has had 3 owners and is only 4 months old. I know it isn’t his fault, he was never house broken and he was rewarded for barking and biting because his owners thought giving him treats distracted him from his bad behaviour. We’re going to foster again some day, but I think we’re putting a very strict “adult dog” rule in place. It definitely has not changed my opinion on Pomeranians, that’s for sure.

Comments are closed.