Tuesday TV Talk

I’m going to be honest with you guys, I have not been keeping up with my TV this week. I finally got a new job (yay! I’m no longer a drain on society!) and then I went to San Diego for the weekend so I’ve really fallen behind. Hopefully you have all done better.

American Crime Story – I watched a few episodes of this show and it’s pretty good! I know, I know, I’m so brave making such controversial opinions known but yeah, I’m getting on the bandwagon. Of course, FX took the episodes down literally the day I watched the first episodes so now I am waiting until the pop up on Netflix or Hulu. No one tell me if OJ gets found guilty though, I don’t like spoilers.

Game of Thrones – So many family reunions!! It makes me so happy. Also, Ramsey is a piece of shit.

The Flash – When I watched the episode before last week’s, I was completely floored by Barry’s apparent demise, which lasted less than 5 seconds because the promo immediately revealed that he was actually alive. I think it would have been pretty interesting for them to at least keep us waiting for one episode and play it off like Jesse and Wally were the new Flash. That being said, it takes about one single soulful look from Grant Gustin to have me in a puddle of tears.

Sorry that I was so bad at keeping up with my tv watching duties! I promise I’ll do better next week.

 

Editor’s Note: Also, upfronts are this week.  The smell of new television!

About cassmasterflash

I do a terrible job pretending to be a grown-up. You can usually find me watching Teen Wolf or Hollyoaks with my cat while looking at pictures of One Direction on Tumblr. I'm not nearly as funny as I think I am.
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I finished the current season of New Girl. I really do not understand why they brought Sam back. It was so pointless and he is not a very good character. I like where they left things though!

    I also finally finished Kimmy Schmidt. It was fine!

    I did not watch the Drag Race finale last night because my viewing buddy had to pick somebody up from the airport so I’ve been avoiding large swaths of the internet today so I won’t be spoiled and can watch it tonight.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This season of Penny Dreadful is pretty great, but every time this guy pops up, I can’t stop laughing.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    We finally finished Broad City. The episode where Abby is on her date and Illana is with her family in the same restaurant was great. If I would not have recently watched Mrs. Doubtfire, I might not have caught what they were doing there.

    I am 7 episodes away from finishing How I Met Your Mother. The structure of season 9 is unique. At first I found it annoying, but it ends up working better than I expected. Although, I think it works better as a binge watch on Netflix. If I had to wait a week between these episodes, I might be more frustrated by it.

    • nastyemu says:

      When Abbi saw Ilana’s family at the restaurant I groaned and said to Femu “oh great, they’re going to do some Mrs. Doubtfire thing.” And then they just went and straight up did it and it worked.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I read that the waitress was Mara Wilson, who played the youngest sibling in Mrs. Doubtfire, but I didn’t catch that when watching.

        I think what really made me love it was when the shrimp landed on the table and it cut to Illana’s brother – he had the exact facial expression that the little kid had in Doubtfire.

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m in a constant state of rewatching HIMYM so I’m here to talk about the series finale when you get there.

  4. mikaelajm says:

    I thought Silicon Valley was a little bit better this week, though there weren’t many super funny moments. I felt more invested than I have so far this season.

    I finished season 4 of Veep and am excited to start season 5.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Oh, and we just started this season of the Americans, which looks insane. I’m excited to see Dylan Baker, he excels at playing the creepiest fucking dude.

    • FRQ says:

      I thought this week’s SV was significantly better. Maybe not as good as the last 2 seasons, but much more enjoyable than anything else this season. I also liked that it didn’t end with the team dealing with another shitstorm they got themselves in to.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I’ve enjoyed this season of Silicon Valley. The secondary characters have always been my favorites, especially Jared, so as long as Gilfoyle and Dinesh bicker and Jared comes up with awkward things to say, I’m happy.

      • mikaelajm says:

        YES THANK JEEBUS. No more of that same plot arc, plz.

      • nastyemu says:

        Yes, it definitely got back on the right track. I still think it sometimes goes out of its way to tell “it’s funny ’cause it’s true” industry jokes, but it’s pretty damn good.

  5. I have only been keeping up with Game of Thrones. It was great! I am excited for the Stark Revenge tour. I just wish Ramsay would die by the next episode, but I know they’ll draw it out. I don’t even love to hate him, I just hate him.

    Otherwise I need a new show that’s Netflix or Amazon accessible! I don’t want to shell out for Hulu but it’s the only place for shows I want to watch anymore (Brooklyn 99, New Girl, Bob’s)

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Have you seen Veronica Mars? It’s on Amazon.

      • Yes! And saw the movie. It’s wonderful.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Yay! Check out iZombie if you haven’t already. Same creator as Veronica Mars and has a very similar vibe.

          The first two seasons of Rectify are on Netflix. It’s a beautiful show. One of my favorites.

        • I did watch the first few eps of iZombie and it was ok. I think my problem is it’s basically just Veronica Mars…but with Zombies. It doesn’t feel that new. But maybe I’ll give it a try again.

        • nastyemu says:

          Have you tried You’re The Worst?

        • Simon Spidermonk says:

          iZombie gets better as it goes. I think I like it even more than Veronica Mars now. Well, maybe not more than first season Veronica Mars… but pretty close.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Ugh, I have the same dilemma over Hulu.

      • flanny says:

        Have you guys ever heard of the Katering Show? It’s Australian and the first season was on YouTube, and they just released the second season on Fullscreen? What is Fullscreen? Why does it cost, like, $5 a month? Should I risk signing up for a free trial to watch Katering, or should I just wait for some kind American to bootleg it somewhere?
        (Below is my favorite episode. I gave my cat the middle name Beans after McCartney’s best friend. The sugar episode is also top-notch)

    • martinmegz says:

      Hulu no commercials plan is totally worth the $14. Every time I see the charge on my credit card I’m like, yeah, that’s money well spent.

      • I’m sure it is but I already pay for Netflix, Amazon, and Spotify. I don’t want my streaming budget to end up being the same as paying for cable.

  6. flanny says:

    I’m surprised at how pleased i ended up being at the winner of the Amazing Race. The season also made me not hate Tyler Oakley, which is a feat!

    When I originally planned for yesterday and today off work, I assumed it would be May and I could maybe go outside or to the lake or something, but instead it’s frigid outside and overcast. So instead of being a cool person, I set up my new air mattress directly in front of my tv so that I can watch it while lying down without getting a crick in my neck. So in between random chores and errands I’ve been rewatching Being Human. I’d only seen the first season before and that was back when it premiered on BBC America, but I’m happy to say that Aiden Turner still does it for me AND I was very excited that Lyndsey Marshal is in the second season. I haven’t been paying quite enough attention to tell you if the plots this season are any good, but the shirtlessness is VERY good. A++ would watch while vacuuming all the time.

    • martinmegz says:

      This season made me very much hate him! Prior to this I had no opinions, now I think he’s a selfish little weasel. Also it made me uncomfortable watching Tyler and Korey sexually harass their guide in the finale just because the guy was so clearly unhappy with being called Tyler’s new boyfriend repeatedly.

      • flanny says:

        Ha! Before this I hated him a lot! I thought he was a money-grubbing, opportunistic phony who would do or say anything to get viewers or a sponsorship deal from, like, Doritos. I still think he’s that, but I also see he’s clever and a hard worker. So maybe you and I have met in the middle emotionally. (Full disclosure, I started hating him when he turned on a dime in his 1D fandom because Liam said he liked Duck Dynasty.)

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Next week starts the Bachelorette season and this year I’m doing a bachelorette fantasy league. So excited.

    • nastyemu says:

      If you were to recap that, it would be awesome. Or you could wait and do Bachelor in Paradise!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I would definitely love to, but can’t promise I’ll have time. I may just post an open thread with some of my favorite moments pulled out. I’ll see what I have time for as we get into the thick of it!

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        But I’ll be using this points system: https://bachfantasy.com/ And the recaps are pretty good too!

  8. Fatima will be very proud of me because the only thing I’ve been watching lately is Edwardian Farm. I love it so much!

  9. Sota says:

    I caught up on TVD and thats basically it. I have to say this show has been pretty up and down in quality this season(LOL cause duh it always has been). [SPOILERS] But I am sort of enthralled by the fact that we now have to crazy Rippppaaaahsss making their way around the country. Also the first time the show has actually employed any CGI monsters (except for werewolves) and therefore its kind of fun. Is it an old lady with creepy fingernails or is it some kind of lizardface monster???

Comments are closed.