So, How Was Your Day?

I am TIRED. Going back to work after being on vacation is so disorienting. My day was fine, but it involved a lot of reminding myself that no, I cannot take a nap right now.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. flanny says:

    I just found out I have 17 vacation days I have to take before the end of June or I lose them. I am poor, but what should I do with them????

    • Sota says:

      17 day long Tourism for Winos/Doughnuts road trip! OMG. That would be A-MAZ-ING.

    • catweazle says:

      Come to Chicago for my birthday party!

    • CHICAGO! I have a comfy sofabed! You do have to go through my bedroom to get to the bathroom, but it’s only slightly awkward.

      Or you could go to Memphis or Nashville, which are my next places to visit. Or House on the Rock in WI.

    • hotspur says:

      You can lose 17 days?? That should be illegal.

      Maybe just spend 3 solid weeks at the beach writing a steampunk book about Amelia Earhart conquering the world. (Michigan has beaches, I checked a map. WAIT i want to write that story, don’t steal it.) OR make every weekend from now till July a 4-day weekend! Orrrrr see if your employer lets you roll unused vacation into your 401k. Some do! (Most don’t.) That’s better than losing it, and 17 days is a lot to figure out how to take off.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I love when I have extra days, and I can tun multiple weekends into 4 day weekends.

        But, also, come to Chicago!!

      • flanny says:

        Don’t you worry, I have other things to write while reclining on one of the many freshwater beaches my state has to offer.

    • FRQ says:

      I third the Chicago idea, especially if it’s the third weekend of June. 🙂 Otherwise invest in a season pass for a water park and go there for 2 weeks straight.

  2. catweazle says:

    I was up late due to watching the Drag Race finale with my friend who couldn’t come over until like 9:30PM and then was kept up even later by my awful new downstairs neighbors. I’ve lived in my building for five years and have never been able to hear anything from downstairs but these people play music so loud that my floor vibrates EVERY DAY. I drunkenly wrote them a note asking them to keep it down on weeknights and had one blessed day of relief but then last night they got into a long screaming match at midnight. So I’m in for at least a year of that shit! Hooray!

    Anyway, I am super sleepy but I have a Tinder date tonight so I have to actually be a functional human after work instead of playing Sim City on my iPad until I pass out. Life is terrible.

    • I keep thinking of getting back in the dating scene, but then I remember that I would have to actually put effort in rather than sit on my couch. And my couch definitely loves me unconditionally.

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah I haven’t been on a date in a few months. This guy seems cool but I was very annoyed to learn AFTER we had agreed to meet up that he doesn’t actually live in the city. He doesn’t live far but it’s probably going to be too much trouble for my sorry pedestrian ass.

        • Having dated people at all ends of the city, agreed. If I have to travel more than 30 minutes to get to you, it’s not really worth it. Suburbs are always out. Thank god most of my dudes liked my neighborhood better than their own.

  3. They announced the Riot Fest line up today and it looks amazing. I am very excited. Though I realized I need to either be dating someone or find a new friend by September, because none of my friends want to go all three days.

    I just found out a friend is moving to Nashville soon. There’s a wave of people moving lately and I am slightly jealous. My core friend group is intact, so that’s good. But every time someone moves it makes me wonder if I want to move. Chicago is lovely, though, and I have yet to find a better place. Except that other places are cheaper. Except that other places require a car. It’s hard!

  4. Kate says:

    We got back from our west coast mini family reunion last night. Spent a day at Disneyland on Monday, and while we were in line for the Winnie the Pooh ride (yes, 5 adults in line for Pooh) Packy quizzed us on our favorite Pooh characters and “scenarios”. Mine are Tigger and “Pooh stuck in the hole”. We also got to tour Riot games where Packy works, but I’m pretty sure if I say anything about it they can come over and beat me up. I had to sign things.

    • hotspur says:

      That’s one of your more old-fashioned NDAs, if it stipulates getting beaten up by goons.

      • Kate says:

        There were a couple of goon types guarding the entrance, so I’m not taking any chances. Let’s just say it was an impressive place. If you don’t hear from me again, I’ve said too much.

  5. nastyemu says:

    Today is a struggle. Femu is traveling for work so I slept terribly last night. Just need to make it a few more hours and I can fall asleep on the couch while I watch Mad Men. I’ve been eating really well for six months now, but I think I might eat a bag of Doritos for dinner tonight.

    • catweazle says:

      She’s going to be so confused when she comes home to find you poring over lists of hot women while covered in Dorito dust.

      • nastyemu says:

        I told her about it, but she’s not allowed to see it until final selections are made. She may help with seeding and matchups though.

        • Sota says:

          Did Minka Kelly make the list? She is phenomenally hot IRL. I saw her once and was amazed. Also I gotta say don’t forget my fellow gingers Christina Hendriks and Isla Fisher. Babes.

        • nastyemu says:

          Minka Kelly is super good looking and is on the big list but not currently guaranteed a spot in the tournament. She has a few things working against her. 1) I haven’t seen her in anything recently and 2) She hooked up with Crosby on Parenthood.
          She could still be in, but I’m waiting until I hear from hotspur before I finalize the field.
          I don’t want to give away too much, but the ginger field is very strong.

        • hotspur says:

          I recommend Mila Kunis, Amy Adams, Julianne Margulies, and Aubrey Plaza. Also Anna Chlumsky; if she were president, she’d be Babe-raham Lincoln. Oh and the dragons lady from Game of Thrones, I am blanking on her name EMILIA CLARK there, got it. Annnnnd Emma Watson. And Eva Mendes. Okay I’ll stop now. And Abigail Breslin? Too young? Posssssiblyyyy Ming-Na Wen. Helen Mirren, duh, and Beyonce if we do singers. Can I interest you in Kelly MacDonald?

  6. Sota says:

    Today is a struggle for me too. Things at work have been less than stellar. I am just sick of living my work life on a “Which fire do I put out first?” status. I am ready for a change, and I have been looking for other options but it is slow slogging through.

    I did manage to go pick up food at my favorite deli for lunch before booking it back to my desk, and got to walk outside and its a beautiful day. Also, tomorrow I fly to Seattle to be reunited with my guy. So I have been running around with the song “Tomorrow tomorrow I love ya tomorrow youre only a dayyyyyy aaaaaaa-wwwwaaayyyyyyyy!” in my head all day. Tomorrow guys. Its so close, so manageable.

    • old man fatima says:

      My day at work was awful, but my day since 4.30 has been great. It’s a beautiful day out and I took chomps for a super long walk and met fatiman on his way home from work and we went to the public gardens and had a beer and burger on a patio. Home ownership is great, but holy moly you guys did I ever miss living downtown!

Comments are closed.