It’s Project Club Time!

I did okay this week (here’s the link to last week’s post)–I did get some writing done over the weekend, but not as much as I should have. Oh well! It’s a fresh new week, and here are my goals:

-Go for at least three walks, because the weather’s been beautiful and I’ve met a new dog every single time I’ve taken a walk in my neighborhood, so I need to keep that streak going.

-Go the pharmacy, and not shop too much after going to the pharmacy (it’s in Target)

-Wash the load of sweaters that need washing so I can put them away with the rest of my winter clothes

-And I’m going to be ambitious and go for the 5,000 word count again. How about you?

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. flanny says:

    Ooh I really like your walks project, Theresa!

    –I have a 5K in mid-July, so I really need to get my ass in gear. So I will run three times through three different neighborhoods/paths.

    –A couple of months ago I said I would find a doctor and make an appointment, and then my schedule got really busy, so now that it’s not busy, I’m starting up that project again. But uggggg, I don’t want to go to the doctor!

  2. catweazle says:

    I ACCOMPLISHED MY MOTHER EFFING GOAL FOR ONCE! Over the three-day weekend I only managed to clean my bathroom because I was too hungover on what was supposed to be my cleaning day, but I surpassed my own expectations for myself and put the last of my winter clothes in storage, organized my dresser AND vacuumed after work on Tuesday. To give you an idea of what a big deal that is, I routinely can’t even be bothered to cook myself a meal after work let alone do anything requiring actual physical labor.

    I’m not going to set any specific goals for next week. Just a general “Maybe write something” and “Consider tinding some more.”

  3. I finished my print project on Sunday! Now I just have to think of another one, I think maybe the lyrics for Modern Lovers “Roadrunner,” since that song has been stuck in my head a bunch.

    I’m traveling this weekend, so there won’t be much time for projects. Long term, though, I need to purge my apartment, clean it, and add a few improvements.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m going to pretend I finished everything I said I would in previous Project Clubs and start fresh. Also, I bought some stuff to make the blueberry pancakes I kept talking about, but Mr. Costco woke up before me on Sunday and made them, so technically he completed my project, but I did get to eat them, sooooo… success?

    – Build two websites – This is not a project that will be completed this week, but I want to keep making progress.

    – Exercise at least twice in the next week.

    – Home and work organization – clean my office, clean my car, get rid of old clothes, go through the mail, etc.

    – Get more sleep.

  5. nastyemu says:

    I don’t think I’ve done one of these in a few weeks, so I guess my first goal is to participate in this thread each week. So far so good!
    – I’m in the middle of a cycle where I can’t sleep at night, then end up exhausted and take naps that are far too long, which then keeps me up at night. I’m going to power through it this afternoon and hopefully that will get me back on a normal schedule.
    – I’m still playing basketball every week, but I’m going to have to skip it tonight.
    – I messed up my toe so I need to make an appointment to see a podiatrist.
    – We have some stuff that’s been in storage for over a year, which means we clearly don’t need it. I need to put it on craigslist or ebay and see if it’s worth anything, and if it isn’t then I need to donate it or throw it away.
    – The women’s bracket is mostly finished, but I still keep tweaking it. It’ll get posted once the men’s final is done. I guess that will be either late next week or after Memorial Day.

    • flanny says:

      When I went to my mom’s this weekend she asked me to clean out the closets in my childhood bedroom and I was like, “Mom, I haven’t looked in those closets for ten years. I’m SURE there’s nothing in there I want.” But I humored her. I took four sweatshirts and my college graduation gown home with me. 😦

  6. Commentatrix says:

    Greetings from Unemploymentville, you guys; I’m on my second unplanned visit of the year and it’s once again been under semi-dramatic circumstances. My goals for this week are to apply to at least one job each day and leave the house for at least three hours each day, not counting dog walking. I was surprised and horrified this week to learn how little need I feel for that last one when left to my own devices.

    • martinmegz says:

      What happened????????

      • Commentatrix says:

        My boss got fired, which was a huge shock, then my duties were taken away one by one, and three days later I was told that the project I’d been brought in for was now complete so they wouldn’t be needing me anymore (even though it had been over for more than a month and I was still working 60-hour weeks on a thousand other things). So, in spite of the official story and the fact that I was a contractor the entire time and fully expected the end day to come, I am quite sure they got rid of me prematurely because I was someone who’d followed my ex-boss’s leadership bc duh what else was I gonna do? (The same people who disliked her were also the literal worst toward me too the entire time I worked there.) The worst is that they replaced me with a couple of brand new contractors, one of whom I trained myself over the last 2-3 weeks (and was a clueless dummy, bless his heart), and another one who started literally on what turned out to be my last day. Pretty brutal stuff once again, corporate America!

        • martinmegz says:

          DAMN. That is nuts. Sounds like the kind of crazy internal politics I’d expect from a law firm in a John Grisham novel, not your former workplace. I am so furious that you had to train your replacement again. What is wrong with the business world?

        • Commentatrix says:

          Oops, I botched the reply again. Clearly I don’t deserve to have a job!

  7. Commentatrix says:

    I learned today that my little trainee got phased out and fired too a week after me, so obviously they just didn’t need that many extra people anymore (which makes sense given some changes that had to occur toward the end and probably got my boss fired), but they still went about it in such a disgusting way. Why do I keep wanting to belong to this repugnant system?? Oh, right because capitalism.

Comments are closed.