How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was quite nice, even though I went in to work for a few hours on Saturday. I napped and read and did laundry and even went outside a few times, plus I finally saw Zootopia (adorable!) and won a tense battle with a giant hornet that got into my apartment.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. Sota says:

    I took a red eye home from Seattle last night, got to the office around 6am, and now I am trying not to fall asleep on my computer. 3 more hours and I can bail out of here. Guys, after the age of 30, no one should take a red eye and go straight to work. It’s like being hungover from no sleep instead of too much booze. Its a good thing the weekend was basically vacation perfection, because otherwise I would be cranky pants mcgee…instead im just sleepy mcdazed-at-work.

  2. nastyemu says:

    We hung out with friends at the beach. As expected, the weather sucked, so we went bowling and watched The Hateful Eight and drank a lot. Everything was great!

  3. catweazle says:

    On Saturday I bought a birthday present for my sister whose birthday isn’t until the end of next month so I was feeling very on top of things until I realized that this coming weekend I have to go to my cousin’s wedding and I haven’t bought part of his gift yet. Oops!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      MICHAEL SHANNON ALERT – We watched The Night Before over the weekend, and your boyfriend is in it. His total screen time is probably less than 15 minutes, but he pops up throughout the whole movie. I am a sucker for Seth Rogen’s slacker/stoner humor, and I like Joseph Gorgon Levitt, but the movie was just ok. Michael Shannon was definitely one of the highlights.

  4. I went to Baltimore and hung out with my friend, so of course Chicago finally got good weather and I had to wander in the rain. Baltimore was nice! Except my friend and his gf don’t drink much or go out at all, so I wasn’t able to do anything at night. There were some fun-looking bars that I wish I could’ve perused.

    We should do a “What are you reading?” post soon because I knocked out half of Snow Crash during my travel and I really want to tell everyone how good it is.

    • old man fatima says:

      Fatiman is always trying to get me to read it, but I tried to read a couple of other Neal Stephenson novels and HATED them so I don’t want to. Is it super technical? I don’t like how technical his books are. I don’t need to read 8 chapters on how nanogenes were developed, just let me accept that they exist and tell me a story, Neal!!

      • Sort of? It deals a lot with binary code, which is thankfully a thing I understand on some level. But then it also deals with ancient civilizations and gods, so it’s not all tech nerd stuff. I think there’s actually more Bible/mythology stuff than anything else. From what I’ve read, it’s his most accessible. It seems like every Stephenson book is for a different person/interest.

        It is definitely dense, but the characters are fun. I also especially like that he talks about sexism in the tech industry in a book written in 1992. Just goes to show how far back that stretches. Plus the female characters (of which there are 2 main ones) are written well.

        • hotspur says:

          Ahhhh! I had forgotten the ancient Sumerian stuff. That was related to the meme pages and it was actually interesting, even though there should have been a lot less of it. tbh I find myself fairly often thinking of his explanation of how memes influence thought.

      • hotspur says:

        I feel like in Snow Crash he keeps that to a minimum, but even so there is a fifteen-page explanation of what a meme is (to his credit, written before memes were a thing) and then, later, a three-page recap of it. Why his editors let him do that I have no idea. As for the story — there was a girl who delivered pizzas for the mob, and there was a city at sea made of old ships and barges rafted together, and there was a biker gang leader with an atom bomb in his side car. I loved all of that fun and vivid stuff, but to be honest, I have no recollection of how events panned out.

        • Hmmm, I’m not at the meme explanation yet! Yeah, some of the explanations are a bit long, I tend to just skip around on those. I do find a lot of the topics really fascinating (language development, binary code) so that is probably why it hooked me.

          You also forgot the main character, who carries samurai swords in both the real world and virtual reality.

        • hotspur says:

          Oh crap! I did forget that! Was Snow Crash the one where the virtual world is a long crowded street that goes all the way around the globe, or was that Neuromancer?

        • That was Snow Crash! Haven’t read Neuromancer, but that might be next. I’m on a massive scifi kick lately.

        • hotspur says:

          Neuromancer is especially remarkable when you realized it was published in 1982 or something. Consider adding to your sci-fi list The Anubis Gate by Tim Powers. It has time travel and is full of Victorians. I don’t know why more people don’t know about it.

  5. FRQ says:

    I went to a music festival Friday and Saturday, where I had too much to drink on the latter. I spent the following day eating omlettes, chicken sandwiches, and ice cream to recover. I very much enjoyed those foods and will eat them again in the near future.

  6. old man fatima says:

    It’s still happening, because of Queen Victoria’s birthday (thanks, Vicki)! Saturday and Sunday we spent the entire day at the house getting everything ready for the new tenants, who moved in today. I will spare you the details, but we put in about 20 hours of backbreaking labour and the house and yard look PERFECT. I’m so proud! This morning we went for a walk to our favourite breakfast place (I had the middle eastern breakfast, which is potatoes with garlic sauce and flatbread topped with fava beans in tomato and eggs) and then I finished putting the apt together, did a deep clean of the bathroom and kitchen, and have just been sitting and reading all afternoon. It’s been so long since I just sat and read! It’s glorious! Now I’m having a tea and eating strawberries in a onesie and looking for jobs in finance because I miss not being poor and I want out of law.

    • old man fatima says:

      Oh, also, this weekend was the big marathon here in Halifax. Halifax and Dartmouth are separated by a bay, and normally the marathon goes over the bridge that connects downtown Halifax to downtown Dartmouth, but the bridge is undergoing a “lift” at the moment which was supposed to only take 6 months but has been extended to 3 years and is one of the main reasons we moved to Halifax, because even though the downtowns are a 10 minute drive the stupid bridge work turns that into over an hour most mornings. ANYWAY, because it couldn’t go across the bridge, the marathon looped in a big circle around downtown, so downtown (where I live now) was turned into an island for nearly all of yesterday. We had to park stupidly far away so we wouldn’t be trapped so we could go to the house and get everything finished. Runners, I’m happy that you’re healthy, but why can’t they hold marathons out in the suburbs or something rather than shutting down all of the roads downtown and inconveniencing the most people possible?

      • Runners really like showing off how fit they are, so they need to do it in a place where people can see them. Even if most of those people are only watching because they’re trapped and can’t go anywhere.

      • Martinmegs says:

        My coworker and I were just talking about when our neighborhoods get paralyzed by events (Bernie sanders is here today) and I was like, “Fuck everybody go away and let me live my life!” But my coworker said, ” I feel like I can share my city with other people for a day” and that made me hate myself and him at the same time.

  7. flanny says:

    Pretty excellent weekend! The weather all weekend was amazing, and I finally figured out how often I have to take my allergy medication, so I tried to spend a lot of time outside. Yesterday I had the last part of my memoir writing workshop, and it was great! Everyone was super supportive, although I don’t know if I want to continue writing a memoir. I live in my head enough that it’s a little boring. But I think it did jumpstart some creativity, which was what I wanted. Then I came home and drank what ended up being a little too much Reisling. Then finally today I took a vacation day and went to the beach and it was unbelievably pretty. Why don’t I just live on the beach like a hobo? (Here’s why: there were a lot of youths there gossiping and talking about boys, and I felt very old because i just wanted to listen to the surf and read my murder mystery. YOUTHS!)

  8. I think I slipped a disc in my back or something because I was doing some chores around my house on Sunday and all of a sudden it just started really hurting. Like any time I try to lift anything or bend over or even step wrong, I just get a shooting pain in my back. It is very unpleasant. Other than that, I spent all weekend watching tv and making ice cream, which was fun.

  9. gnidrah says:

    Theresa! I had a giant hornet in my apartment too! What is this? Are you living in my cupboard? AM I LIVING IN YOUR CUPBOARD?

    • gnidrah says:

      I did not finish that comment before posting it, for some reason. But it was a very tense battle, for me and the hornet too.

      The weekend was OK – French Open tennis started, which I know one or two of you will be enjoying. We made some big strides towards getting our accommodation for Rio booked. I also got a virus on my new laptop whilst trying to download Greek pop music. Don’t tell me I don’t know how to live.

Comments are closed.