It’s Like A Decade Had Never Passed

There’s no question that we love to live in the past.  Like many companies, Lenovo wants to take advantage of our nostalgia by apparently bringing back the popular 2004 flip phone, the Motorola Razr.  As a self-professed technophile, I thought this was insane.  This is 2016!  How the hell am I supposed to snap a live story on this shit?  What I keep forgetting is that only two thirds of people own smartphones, and that the remaining third may not need one.  Heck, some of them don’t even want one!  We’ll see what Lenovo has in store on June 9th, but until then, what are some older trends that you want to come back, or, like Bobby here, refuse to let go?

Via Vanity Fair

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s Like A Decade Had Never Passed

  1. martinmegz says:

    I have a flip phone and it’s great! You people have forgotten how satisfying it is to slam the phone shut. What do you do when you’re angry, jab real hard at the screen?! I do really miss my razr that I had in grad school and the cool “doo doo doo doo hello moto” ringtone, please send me a fax when these are available again.

    • FRQ says:

      You are absolutely correct. There are few things less satisfying than hanging up on an asshole caller by moving the phone away from your face, waiting 1-2 seconds for the screen to wake up, pressing the Hang Up button, then waiting another 0.5-1 seconds for the phone to recognize your command.

      Speaking of which, I also hate how cars are moving towards having all functionality controlled by touch screen. WTF am I supposed to do about A/C when the screen breaks?!

  2. nastyemu says:

    I miss 90 minute movies

    • hotspur says:

      Noooo kidding. Now if something is just under 2 hours, I feel like I got off light. There are so many things I skip because I don’t want to invest 2 hours and 37 minutes in it. Come on, movies, get it done!

      • nastyemu says:

        Even if I wanted to sit still for that long, my bladder is starting to dictate things a little more than I’d like.

  3. Sota says:

    I kinda miss the days of phones with cords, because then you could actually really get away. Sometimes I get annoyed that everyone is always reachable. I have had to set some pretty specific standards with my coworkers letting them know that I refuse to check work email on evenings and weekends unless its an important hot project, which is not the norm around here. I just want to shut off from work when I leave the office, they dont pay me enough to interfere with my evenings and weekends.

  4. summerestherson says:

    I am having some kind of existential nightmare, because I graduated in 2006 so this year is my 10 year high school reunion and then there’s this commercial with this song and Razrs are coming back and I’m like????

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m due for a new phone. I currently have the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini, and it is the first and only smartphone I have had. I went to the store to see the new models, and now Samsung doesn’t make a mini. The clerk looked at me like I had two heads, and asked, “You don’t want a big screen?” I said, “No. These huge phones won’t fit in my pocket.” He replied that I could carry a purse. I almost never carry a purse. I’m certainly not going to start carrying one just so I can lug my stupid phone around.

    I’ve gotten used to a lot of cool things this phone can do, but honestly, I play way too much Candy Crush and waste way too much time checking Facebook. Maybe I should go back to the flip phone.

    • hotspur says:

      Holy crap, I’ve had the exact same experience. A clerk suggested I switch to cargo pants, and looked at me like I was the crazy one. How do they not even make smaller phones?? They make smaller CARS for crying out loud, just give us an option!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        HAHA. Buy a whole new wardrobe for your phone!

        Also, Mr. Costco had a newer Samsung, and my thumb can’t even reach from the top to bottom of the screen. So, I have to carry a purse and use both hands to check my bank account balance or make a phone call? NOPE.

    • FRQ says:

      Again, as much of a technophile as I am, I HATE the trend of only selling phones with massive screens. Anyone who doesn’t understand why someone would want a smaller phone is a fucking idiot. Samsung still makes Mini versions of the S phones, but the last release was the S5. There have been rumors of newer ones, but who knows if/when they’ll come out. If it’s any consolation, my dad currently uses the S5 mini and really likes it.
      Other options include Sony, who makes smaller versions of their phones (I have the Z3 Compact), and Apple’s new iPhone SE, if you want to jump ship to iOS.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        If they still sell the S5 mini new, then I would get that. I looked into the iPhone SE, and would probably switch if it were between that and a giant screen. I’ll check out Sony, too. Thanks for the tip!

  6. flanny says:

    Wait, are hippies specifically from 2006?

Comments are closed.