How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was nice, even though it was too hot. I slept in and watched TV and read some and took my parents out to a nice dinner, and then on Monday I wrote a lot and felt guilty about not going grocery shopping. I really, really need to go grocery shopping today.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I didn’t leave the house all weekend except to go to the grocery store. We ate a lot of takeout and watched some shows. I wanted to go out and do stuff since the weather was nice, but we didn’t really have much to do, and the next week is going to be crazy busy, so being lazy for a couple days was fine.

    We watched Krampus, and it was silly, but enjoyable. I liked it more than I thought I would. Also, it was only an hour and a half long, which is great.

    • old man fatima says:

      Ooh, I want to watch it! We watched Christmas Horror Story (the other movie about the Krampus that came out at the same time, Canadian-made and featuring our boy William Shatner) and it was very good.

  2. flanny says:

    My weekend was wonderful! I went to my friend’s family’s cottage on Lake Michigan with a bunch of my college friends and the one friend’s sisters and their significant others. I’d been to this cottage before, but it’s just so lovely and the rain held off, although sometimes it could be a little chilly. My friend’s mother made so much delicious food and there was never a moment when it was inappropriate to have a mixed drink in your hand. Back at home, my cat survived her two nights alone just fine, and she was really excited to see me when I got back, which was nice. When I finally went to bed last night she waited until I was asleep and then stood on my chest and meowed in my face, so I know she missed me.

    I know I ask this a lot, but, like, seriously, why do we need jobs? Can’t we just be responsibility free on a lakeshore all the time?

    • Sota says:

      When you figure out how to have that lakeshore life full time…PLEASE let me know. I WANT THAT SO MUCH.

  3. hotspur says:

    I went to a convention of gamers and so forth in the Bay Area. I don’t go to these very often but I do enjoy them and their particular crowds. I bought a couple of games (including the card game Gloom, which I think pretty much everyone here would enjoy), and I talked for a while to the guy who wrote Grimtooth’s Traps. That is going to mean nothing to most of you, but Me At Thirteen would have blown a gasket over it. I wish I could go back and tell me it happened. (I would have looked up from Yar’s Revenge, not believed me, and asked me to turn over the Monty Python record as long as I was there.)

    I also went for a bike ride and had a lobster roll. The weather was perfect.

  4. The negative: I got a bad haircut that I have to get corrected tonight. I went to a really lame Prince dance party.

    The positive: I bought a fancy new road bike! I got brunch, hung out with friends, and learned Euchre.

    The mediocre: Saw X-men Apocolypse. It was only ok.

  5. catweazle says:

    I went to my cousin’s wedding on Saturday. It was a non-religious wedding which was nice because I am a heathen and hate having to attend a mass. The highlight of the reception was convincing one of my cousins that I have a full back tattoo of Linda Ellerbee’s face. The lowlight was the Matron of Honor’s speech.

    So the MoH was the bride’s sister and instead of making a normal speech she decided she wanted to sing a song. WHY WOULD ANYBODY THINK THAT IS A GOOD IDEA??? But it was worse than I could have possibly imagined. She started by singing “Do You Wanna Build a Snowman” but with new lyrics about growing up with her little sister. For a minute it seemed like it would just be a cute albeit stupid thing, but then midway through shit started getting REAL. She started singing, from the point of view of her child self, about not wanting her parents getting divorced while her parents and stepfather sat not five feet away from her. Everybody at my table looked at each other like “WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON” and then finally the song ended and people started to politely clap. But then the MoH goes “Hang on, guys, there’s more!” And she sings Spice Up Your Life, again with alternate lyrics (this time about how her family and my cousin’s family are cool?) and it was really long and she did not sing it well and basically I wanted to die.

    • The MoH did a rap at the wedding I went to last year. SO MUCH YIKES

      • flanny says:

        Can we just give up doing speeches at weddings? No one is good at them and everyone is embarrassed by them.

        • old man fatima says:

          I am my brother’s best man this summer and he said he doesn’t want speeches and I’m SO HAPPY about that.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          I tend to agree…my best friend’s speech at my wedding hurt my feelings just a little bit.

          But, counterpoint: I gave a speech at my brother’s rehearsal dinner and I dare say I killed it.

        • Sota says:

          Wedding speeches are always too effing long too! I realize that you think you are hilarious, but no one wants to listen to a 25 minute speech about how you used to play in the sandbox together as kids. Keep it to a happy 5 -7 min and then hit the bar people. There should be Oscars-style play off music at weddings.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:
  7. FRQ says:

    Aside from the comedy show and BBQ I had planned (both were good), I had such grand expectations for this weekend, but ended up waking up semi late and messing around the internet, and by the time I realized I should go outside, it was 4pm. I did manage to buy a new fridge, which hopefully means that I can now keep ice cream at home. I also finally got around to seeing Batman vs Superman. It wasn’t the colossal shitstorm that some say it is, but it was definitely not good. I think there’s enough to build on, and I hope now that Geoff Johns is now in charge of those movies, they won’t be so mediocre.

  8. artdorkgirl says:

    I got home Friday night, proceeded to drink too much because I was finally at home, and spent the rest of the weekend with a mild hangover (just enough to make me feel blah). The weather was all over the place, so I started to clean out my closet. 3 bags of clothes later, and I still need to do the shoes and throw away stuff with holes in them. Why does organizing have to suck so much??

  9. old man fatima says:

    My weekend was perfect. I’ve been running around like mad on weekends doing house stuff and this was my first weekend after the tenants moved in so I had nothing to do and it was so great. I slept in and went for a coffee and made a great breakfast and took Chomps on a nice hike and went to a bachelorette party that did not suck (make-your-own sushi and then a masquerade ball) and helped out at a charity event for the dog rescue. We had a bunch of photo sessions donated so people paid to have their dogs professionally photographed and it was wonderful and there were so many dogs! The photographer is a mega-trooper, he photographs all the dogs for the rescue’s adoption page and he was there from 8am to 6pm for free and photographed 58 dogs!!! That is so much time and so many dogs!! There was a 3 month old St Bernard who was so fluffy I wanted to die. I gave my number to his owner and told her that if she ever needed free puppy sitting, I am her girl. I was like “legit, call me anytime.” He knew so many tricks and he was just a baby!!!!!! He was great. It was not a long weekend for me, but it felt like one because it’s been so long since I’ve had a weekend to do what I want to do! By Monday it felt like I’d been gone for so long that I might not recognize anyone at work. (I did recognize everyone, don’t worry.)

  10. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a really really great weekend. We just relaxed all weekend with a couple of times where we went outside to do some stuff including see some friends. Mr Truck’s and my jobs have been kind of annoying lately and it was such a great break to have three days to hang out and goof off. The kid was really cute and we ate some delicious food and drank some good drinks and even had ice cream for dinner on Sunday!

  11. Sota says:

    My weekend was fantastic. I managed to get myself to my boyfriend on a standby flight and boy I have never been happier to see him. Last week was a mess at work. I am really sick of just “surviving” my work life. I used to enjoy it. Woof. Anyways…we made a plan to make no plans for the weekend. It was perfect, we slept in, bbq’d, watched movies, walked the dog, etc. We did make plans for one afternoon and met up with my Bro and SIL for a wine tasting in Sonoma. Tourism for winos! The weather was beautiful, we had wine, we had burritos, we had ice cream. I want every weekend to be Memorial Day weekend.

Comments are closed.