Tuesday TV Talk

My original goal this past weekend was to binge watch Lady Dynamite, but the days quickly flew by, and it never happened.  However, I was introduced to another series on Netflix called Chef’s Table, where for one hour, the show profiles a world renowned chef, looking at his/her life and inspirations for their cuisine.  I thought it was pretty enjoyable, though it’s not a huge stretch since I like food.  Did you guys watch anything interesting this weekend?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. I watched the first episode of Chef’s Table, on Chicago Chef Grant Achatz. He is awesome, but I’ll probably never eat at his restaurants because I am a vegetarian (and it’s like $300 per person). Next did a vegan menu a few years ago, but I was hella broke at the time.

    Otherwise I am on a massive Game of Thrones kick and restarted the series yesterday. I am excited that Season 6 is actually moving pieces into place for a conclusive ending, though I have no idea how they’re going to cram everything in with only about 24 episodes to go. Plus seasons 5 and 6 have lots of snow zombies, which are my favorite part. Snow zombies > political intrigue

    • FRQ says:

      Coincidentally that is the same episode that got my friend hooked on the show.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’ve always wanted to try Alinea since it sounds like such an experience. But I’m kind of a picky eater and at $300 per meal, I feel like it’s probably not the best place to spend my money. Also, I’ve never understood menus that are just a list of flavors/ingredients. I need more information than that.

      • The closest you can get without completely breaking the bank is Aviary, the booze version of Alinea. I went there once for a work thing and it was very fun.

        Yeah, being a vegetarian I have very few fancy options for food, which I guess is a good thing.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I would check that place out even though I don’t drink very often. It does look like a lot of fun.

  2. flanny says:

    Oh boy, did I! I spent the weekend not watching TV at a cottage on Lake Michigan, and in one of the rooms was a map of South America so somehow my friends and I got talking about Alive! None of us had seen it, so we read the wikipedia together and then forgot about Alive and discussed how big various South American countries were.

    When I got home yesterday, I was looking for something to distract me from the post-vacation sorrow, so I went on Netflix and sure enough Alive is streaming! Once you get over the fact that the whitest actors on earth with names like “Josh Hamilton” are playing characters named “Roberto Canessa” etc., it is so engrossing. Within ten minutes the plane is falling apart over the Andes and people are literally getting sucked out of the plane and thrown into walls. Gah! And then what follows is two hours of TRAUMA. I spent a lot of time constantly refreshing Twitter on my phone during the actual eating scenes.

    I watched my very first episode of The Bachelorette after to put it out of my mind. CHAD?? WHO ARE YOU?? WHAT IS YOUR BRAIN???

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      What is your brain, exactly!

      • flanny says:

        WHEN HE ATE ALL THAT LUNCHMEAT?!?!?!?!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          That was absolutely amazing, but also I don’t blame him at all. When you’re hungry, you gotta eat! Especially if there’s just a giant plate of meat and you’re clearly on some weird diet because you do pullups with a suitcase strapped to your junk.

        • flanny says:

          I agree! He didn’t skip his protein shake to NOT eat a whole bunch of free meat. (Actual quote.)

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah, but based on what Bachelor Superfan James (james?) said, you really don’t want to skip a protein shake and binge on meat like that. It’s just how you reach your goals. I mean, I’ve heard.

        • flanny says:

          They are all named James! There are, like, five of them!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          I know! It’s glorious!!!

    • Martinmegs says:

      YES welcome to the Bachelor Club

  3. catweazle says:

    I finished the current seasons of Brooklyn Nine-Nine and Elementary over the weekend which means the only thing clogging up my DVR right now is the last stretch of this season of The Vampire Diaries. B99 was good! I am definitely into watching a least an episode or two of Holt and Peralta being WP neighbors in Florida. I also enjoyed how they wrote in Melissa Fumero’s IRL pregnancy. Much better than how Candice Accola’s IRL pregnancy was written into TVD!

    I don’t know about Elementary though. I just couldn’t really get into this season. It might be lingering resentment of John Noble based on Sleepy Hollow (which btw apparently got renewed which is bullshit and I will absolutely not watch it) but I just didn’t care about Morland or what his deal was. I was excited for a minute when it looked like Moriarty might be coming back, but then it was like “There’s a new Moriarty and he’s a boring white dude!” Give me Natalie Dormer or give me nothing, guys. I really hope next season isn’t all about Morland infiltrating the Moriarty Club because all I want is Sherlock and Joan solving mysteries and trading witty banter with Marcus and Gregson. And I want Kitty back, dammit! Also while I applaud them not killing off Sherlock’s new girlfriend like I was afraid they would, what was even the point of her if she just disappeared aside from the odd mention over the last run of episodes? I DIDN’T KNOW I HAD THIS MANY FEELINGS ABOUT THIS SEASON!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I wasn’t very invested in the Elementary finale either. I tuned out on a lot of details when it came to Morland. As soon as someone started talking about his business, I would end up focusing on Joan’s outfit or thinking about my grocery list. I didn’t mind his character since I don’t know him from other roles, and found him menacing despite the fact that he was also kind of boring. Sherlock’s new lady was one of my favorite story lines, so I was pretty disappointed that she fell off the face of the earth.

      I still love the show, but this season was not as good as past seasons.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I watched 4 episodes of the new season of Bloodline. It’s pretty good so far, but some of the characters are making VERY dumb decisions, which is annoying.

  5. Wow, I’ve really been falling down on my duties. Thanks FRQ for picking up the slack!

    This weekend I watched Teachers on TVLand, which is pretty funny but not great and Vicious, with Sir Ian McKellen. In case anyone had forgotten, Ian McKellen is a treasure and that show is very funny, though sometimes it was a tiny bit too mean for me. Frances de la Tour is also a treasure, though underrated and it’s really funny to see Ramsey Bolton being a good-natured dummy.

    I also started to watch Prison Break in anticipation of the new series, though I’m only on the first episode. I am weirdly excited for the reboot of a show I never watched in the first place but the trailer looks so good!

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I watched the first full season of Lady Dynamite this weekend and it was so good and so funny!!!!

  7. Kate says:

    Has anyone seen this new series called Preacher? Crazy. Just…crazy. I will watch the second one.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I will definitely keep watching, although, the first episode was a bit too all over the place. Mr. Costco is a fan of the graphic novel, but he read it so long ago that he isn’t really comparing the show to the source material, and he seemed to like the first episode as well.

  8. I watched season 2 of Bloodline, which was ok. Way too slow, and I’m generally not a fan of plots that depend on characters constantly making stupid decisions, but the tension ratcheted up nicely in the last few episodes. Plus John Leguizamo showed up, so obviously I had to keep watching for him.

    I tried Lady Dynamite, but I was distracted and didn’t really pay attention, so I had no idea what was going on. I’ll go back to that one when I have more time.

  9. old man fatima says:

    Does anyone watch Peaky Blinders? The ridiculous name turned me off for a long time, but it’s not their fault that the British have hilarious names for bad guys. It’s pretty good! We watched the first two seasons over the winter and are starting into the new one now. I can’t tell if I just noticed now or if it’s been going on this whole time, but the whole series is basically just a music video, hey? So many scenes of people doing stuff in slow motion while some ultra-cool modern music plays. It’s good, but maybe I’m getting too old for it? Also, too old for the violence? I just see it and I think, why am I supposed to care about bad people doing bad things? (I do care, though.) Would it really be such bad television to just have a show about nice people being nice to each other? on’t answer that, I already know the answer. (The answer is yes.)

    • Commentatrix says:

      I beg to differ because I’ve started rewatching Being Erica on Hulu and it’s just as delightful as I remembered it. But I guess a show about nice people being nice (or trying to) can only work in Canada because literally no one has heard of it in the States and it’s so frustrating because literally every woman/girl I know would love it if they tried it.

      • old man fatima says:

        Is that the one where the woman timetravels back and has to relive her teen years as a 30 year old? I remember I really liked it, but then forgot about it after like 2 episodes.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Yeah, that’s the one! But she travels to more than just her teen years lol. I love it! It’s akin to Gilmore Girls in that it deals a lot with family and relationships and FEELINGS. And Tatiana Maslany pops up now and again as a junkie.

  10. Commentatrix says:

    Someone here I think recommended Chef’s Table and I watched it and now I can’t get enough. It’s so beautiful and inspiring and EMOTIONAL way too much of the time but in a good way.

  11. Martinmegs says:

    I’ve been streaming HIMYM to keep myself company in hotel rooms!

Comments are closed.