Tuesday TV Talk

For your consideration, Emmy voters.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished Bloodline, and even though many characters do many dumb things, I liked this season a lot. I don’t want to elaborate on my favorite parts to avoid spoilers. I hope it gets picked up for a third season.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    People doing things in that T-Rex costume always makes me laugh. Mr. Costco and I have watched bits and pieces of the new Ninja Warrior, and that person made it pretty far considering the costume. I’ve seen a few people fall at that point.

    I would not make it past the very first obstacle.

    • I would watch more Ninja Warrior if there were people in costumes. I imagine that guy would’ve gone much farther without it on, but where’s the fun in that?

  3. GoT this week wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t that amazing. I was happy for some deaths, sad for others. I miss the snow zombies.

  4. Sota says:

    If TRex had performed that well at real life he may not be extinct!

  5. catweazle says:

    I finally started watching the last half of this season of The Vampire Diaries during my vacation. I only have two episodes left and then I am done! As usual I have many thoughts and feelings about it:

    1. I’m glad that Caroline and Alaric are having a marriage of convenience but still, ugh, Alaric. That one season finale where basically every character died and then came back to life (except Bonnie and Damon who got stuck in 1990s Hell) was so ludicrous but I was super happy that they brought Alaric back. TROMBONE SOUNDS. He has been the worst ever since he came back to life! The whole Jo thing was so pointless and led to so many poor decisions and now he’s in love with his former student who is only marrying him because she magically gave birth to his dead wife’s witch babies and IT IS TERRIBLE. FREE CAROLINE!!!!

    2. WHEN WILL DAMON AND ENZO KISS??? I know I complain about Enzo constantly but I’ve come to kind of like him in recent episodes due to him being nice to Bonnie. Their relationship plotline would be more believable and compelling if this shit wasn’t happening constantly:

    YOU TWO SURE STARE AT EACH OTHER’S LIPS A LOT FOR A COUPLE OF ESTRANGED BROS!

    • Sota says:

      I totally agree that Alaric has been snoozerville this whole time since he came back to the show. I am starting to wonder if its just that Damon has sexy chemistry with every single other person on this show. Remember when I sent you that thing about Price Peterson talking about how he and Tyler were almost kissing in another episode? Also…I love the Bonnie Enzo storyline. Finally allow those two to get some happiness, they both always seem to be on the fringe of everything. Lastly…for the love of all that is holy…put Matt Donovan out of his misery. Talk about being the worst character on the show. That guy. Woof.

      • catweazle says:

        Honestly I used to feel bad for Matt but at this point I’m like YOU CAN’T BLAME VAMPIRES FOR YOUR PROBLEMS IF YOU CHOOSE TO LIVE IN MYSTIC FALLS AKA VAMPIREVILLE FEAT. BONUS WITCHES AND WEREWOLVES, DUMBASS! Season 1 Matt wanting to kill Stefan because of what happened to Vicki: possibly misguided but understandable. Current season Matt wanting to kill Stefan because his visit to the Sheriff’s grave very tangentially led to him accidentally murdering his own girlfriend: DUMB.

        I don’t know where they’re going with Bonnie in these last two episodes but right now I have to say that everybody involved in the scheme to transfer the Huntress’s last life to her is almost as dumb as Matt Donovan. HMMM, I WONDER IF USING MAGIC TO TRANSFER THE LIFE OF A WOMAN CURSED TO HUNT AND HATE VAMPIRES FOR ETERNITY INTO THE BODY OF A WOMAN WHOSE BOYFRIEND AND BEST FRIENDS ARE ALL VAMPIRES MIGHT BE A BAD PLAN???? NOPE, LET’S DO IT LOLOLOLOL!

        But I can’t really complain because being stupid and ridiculous is part of the reason I love this show and at least they’ve backed off from “Stefan and Elena both have a million doppelgangers” and killing every character and then bringing them back to life like 30 times.

  6. flanny says:

    Guys, I miss Wipeout.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I was REALLY excited when Arya said that awesome thing she said.
    Next week is going to be BONKERS!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Also no Bachelorette this week :..(…….

      • flanny says:

        I was kind of relieved. I need a break. I feel like this season is not a good season for a newbie like me. I feel constantly overwhelmed! I I I . . . it’s all about me!!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          This season is actually pretty typical. There’s always some villain garbage and fighting and “right reasons” nonsense. This is the first season where there has been so much meat and slightly raw sweet potato eating.

        • flanny says:

          To be honest, the meat eating is my favorite part. And how Chad interrupts people’s dates and then gets mad when his date gets interrupted. Those are my favorite things.

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          That second one happens every season.

        • flanny says:

          Who are these maniacs?????

        • Sota says:

          These maniacs are the available dating pool of men for us to choose from! #reasonswhytindersucks

  8. I rewatched Death Comes To Pemberly on Netflix, which just served to remind me that despite an excellent cast, Death Comes To Pemberly is not very good. (Jenna Coleman is DIVINE as Lydia Bennet, though.) Otherwise, I need to catch up on about a billion shows.

    • catweazle says:

      Such a disappointment! Though the book wasn’t really any better. May she rest in peace and all but it’s like P.D. James woke up one day and said “What if we took the characters of Pride and Prejudice and made them as boring as humanly possible?”

  9. Sota says:

    My parents have been binge watching The Good Wife, so i got my mom a tshirt on the sale rack at Target that says “Lets Binge Watch Something” on the front. Its too cute. Also, they got to the BIG THING (no spoilers) that happens in Season 5 and they were pretty devastated. Their watching has slowed down a bit since then.

    • Sota says:

      ps. Yes apparently all I do is update you on the status of my parents TV viewing in this thread instead of my own. I have really hit a new level here.

  10. I watched the series Veep which I thought was really funny. I have like a weird not crush but not not a crush on Jonah and I don’t know how I feel about that. Also on Dan. And I really relate to them that they have to run around doing the most ridiculous stuff for the whims of powerful people.

  11. Commentatrix says:

    I’m watching the Spanish series Velvet on Netflix, which is quite charming but also suuuuper slow with THE LONGEST EPISODES. Also unsurprisingly the subtitles are pretty laughable and even when they’re not the worst they omit a lot of the original content, so I don’t know how enjoyable it would be to someone who doesn’t understand Spanish. At any rate I just got to where Cristina suddenly turns awful out of nowhere and it’s very disorienting!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I watched the first episode of that, and intend to watch more! My friend recommended it a while back.

      I only understand a little Spanish, so that is disappointing to know the subtitles are not accurate. I obviously don’t know enough to know that they are wrong.

      • Commentatrix says:

        No, they’re accurate, they are just poorly edited once in a while and not as nuanced as the audio. Having worked in localization I know that this is one of the constant challenges of subtitling, but there is still room for improvement in that regard. A lot of the humor is lost in translation.

Comments are closed.