It’s Project Club Time!

Here’s last week’s post! I did not do any of those things. This week I’m just going to try to focus on writing, because I’ve been having a rough time of it. I have been working out, though, and the apartment is clean and my fridge is full, so I haven’t been a complete failure as an adult lately.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. catweazle says:

    I actually did write a little bit this week. Not very much at all, but way more than I have recently. Good job me, you were not a total failure!

    I bought some new free weights yesterday and my new goal is to actually use them. I want to know what it’s like to not have the upper body strength of ravioli!

  2. flanny says:

    I went running once, but it was at, like, 7:30am on a Saturday, so I think that counts as running three times.
    I wrote a bunch this weekend, but now I’ve hit a lag because I don’t know what my book is about. So I guess I need to figure out what my book is about this week. Easy.
    And I’ll be spending a bunch of time on a train this weekend and train time is the perfect time to read my book club book. I haven’t participated in book club in months because I haven’t read the books, so I’m excited to read on the train.

    (Guys, I just miss One Direction so much.)

  3. nastyemu says:

    I had good intentions but work had other ideas. The only thing on my list I accomplished was getting one Tournament of Hotties post done. My mini vacation starts in a few hours so I’m not putting anything else on my list for next week.

  4. Sota says:

    I did nothing, and I am doing nothing. Slacker central around here. Seriously.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m not sure if I am lazy, depressed, have some form of adult ADD, or a combination of all three, but I have so much to do, and I keep not getting anything done.

  6. It makes me feel better that apparently we’ve all been hopeless this week. It must be the week’s fault!

  7. hotspur says:

    I’ve been wall-to-wall busy since last Thursday and still did not accomplish my next Dracula movie review (my one stated objective). Sunday night I actually could have done it, but I decided to watch two movies instead. Ex Machina, which I already announced, and a documentary about how Courtney Love killed Kurt Cobain. The girl who played CL was pretty perfect at it, I gotta say, and the reenactments were like a good Philip Marlowe adaptation. It was called Bleached. I don’t recommend it exactly, but it definitely swayed me into believing the very worst.

    Every night this week I’ve gone to my coffee shop for 4 hours because I’ve set a very ambitious writing schedule for myself. I have two projects with the same deadline four weeks from now, and last night I started to see how I can finish one, but not both. Should I quit my job to write things that make me no money? Then I could do both. That’s a good plan, right?

    There is a 5 percent chance I can do both so probably I will go back to overestimating my abilities and shoot for that.

    • hotspur says:

      N.B. the price of failure is doubled if I do the overestimating plan, because neither will turn out great. I know this but am powerless to accept reality.

    • old man fatima says:

      I also saw Bleached recently and had the opposite reaction to it. The guy lays out a pretty elaborate scheme for how she could have done it, and honestly she just seems too stupid/strung out on horse to have pulled something like that off. Plus, it makes a LOT of assumptions about mental illness and depression that are incorrect and potentially damaging. He seemed happy sometimes and had been making some future plans, so there’s no way he was depressed enough to kill himself? People who commit suicide usually do it within minutes of having decided to do it. His state of mind the day or week before wouldn’t have any bearing on his suicide. I was firmly on team She Did It until this documentary, and now I’m on team He Probably Did It, or at least on team We Need a Better Understanding of Depression as a Society Before We Can Make These Judgment Calls.

      I was listening to a podcast that was talking about the economics of suicide recently. They talked about how suicide is contagious in a way and how you could accurately predict the spike in suicides following famous suicides based on how famous the person was. BUT the one big except was Kurt Cobain. It was talked about a lot, and I remember people mentioning copycats, but there was no discernible spike, and they think it was mostly due to the way Courtney Love handled it. She immediately went on TV to talk about how it affected her and to beg people who were feeling suicidal to talk to loved ones and get help. So that instead of being viewed as this tragic, sort of romanticized end to an idol, people got to see the real emotional damage that his suicide caused. Nobody had really done that before, and it started the ball rolling on suicide prevention hotlines and awareness.

      • hotspur says:

        100% agreed on the doc not understanding how suicide works. A lot of times, friends report they talked to the person just that morning and he seemed super happy so it can’t be suicide — but what seems like happiness might be the result of the person deciding to do it. A burden-is-about-to-be-lifted sort of happy. That was a terrible weakness in the doc.

        On the other hand, lots of drug addicts are fully capable of being terrifyingly manipulative. And it didn’t seem very hard for her to set up all these press stories that steered coverage toward suicide. Plus it sounds like the Seattle PD detective work was not first rate.

        I had not considered Courtney as contributing to suicide prevention efforts. That is a really interesting take! She definitely seemed raw and damaged in the wake of the suicide (I remember it clearly). At the time most of us kids rejected the idea it was murder, or agreed it was but with a breezy irony (you guys, if you’re a Millennial, let me tell you, we were so good at irony in ’94, I can’t even begin to explain the layers upon layers we dwelt within day to day), but I wonder how today’s kids view it. Anyone know? Do kids born in the 90s think it was murder or suicide?

        I will say the actress who played her in Bleached was spot on, though, and that “Celebrity Skin” is one of the best rock songs of its decade or any other, and that CL was super hot when not heroined out. We had really interesting rock stars in the 90s. Who’s big now, the Kardashians? We are so fucked. Bring back the rebel junkie artists! Only they can save us!

        • old man fatima says:

          Oh yeah, that actress should have won an Academy Award for sure. She was a delight.

        • old man fatima says:

          And I’m sure she could have easily manipulated the media afterwards to steer them towards suicide, but the doc made it seem super premeditated and well planned. Like she was laying the groundwork for this elaborate deception and murder weeks in advance, mostly because she was acting weird and couldn’t get her story straight. I feel like you act weird and can’t get your story straight when you’re on a lot of drugs! It just seemed to me that she was a junkie and he was depressed. She wanted this PI to look into things, but not look into things too deeply because she was into some illegal activity, so she was cagey around certain subjects. It really unconvinced me.

        • hotspur says:

          I think the time frame was that she had killed him (allegedly) and then hired the PI as a sort of “Why would I hire a PI if I killed him” CYA move. In that case, all the groundwork wasn’t in advance of killing him but was between having killed him and him getting discovered. There were four days in there, I think? I thought that was what was going on. Gosh, if the movie was saying she planned it all in advance, then you’re right, that’s dumb. The whole case falls apart. Ugh. I don’t want to rewatch it, though, to find out if I misunderstood or if someone else did (you).

          Also, good point about her motive to be cagey. Hmmm. OKAY MAYBE YOU’RE RIGHT. You just lawyered me into thinking she’s innocent, fatima. Sheesh. Well, that conspiracy theory was shortlived…

          FREE COURTNEY LOVE!

        • old man fatima says:

          Ahhhhhh maybe I should go to law school after all!!!! I think he had only been there a day or two when they found the body, something that I could very easily Google but won’t out of respect for the early 90s. Definitely not 4 days. And I think there was evidence of him having been home between the time she hired the PI and when he killed himself? Or were they saying she planted that too? The PI thought it was suspicious that she kept saying she thought he might commit suicide and that he had recently bought a gun, like she was trying to plant the idea in the PI’s mind. But maybe she just knew he was depressed and maybe he had talked about suicide or shooting himself before, and why shouldn’t the person he’s supposed to be closest to in the world have a little insight into his character and intentions? Right?

        • old man fatima says:

          So, I did Google it. He was found 3 days after he died, and Courtney Love contacted the PI when he went missing from the rehab facility, which was a few days before that I think? Also, the Wikipedia page on Kurt Cobain’s death does a pretty solid job of refuting all the evidence in that documentary.

        • hotspur says:

          So what you’re saying is, there’s nothing to believe in anymore.

  8. old man fatima says:

    I tried real hard to start running in the mornings, you guys. I found a running buddy so I would be letting someone else down if I crapped out, I downloaded a couch to 5k app, I put the Rocky theme on my phone 200 times. I got up at 5.30 on Monday like a real champ and went out for a run with my new running partner. My stupid bum knee gave out about 20 mins in. It just locked right up and it’s been stiff and painful and popping ever since! I was wearing a knee brace and everything!! So, nuts to that. Fatiman works out at the student gym and they have a summer special because all the students are gone, AND they have a physiotherapist on site! I’m going to do that for the summer and really focus on the knee strengthening exercises that my physio guy gave me 100 years ago that I swore I’d keep up on when I was finally released from being a cripple (I have not kept up on them at all), and hopefully by the time my summer gym membership is done, I will be able to run!

    Other than that, I’ve done nothing important. I had so much work to do today, but a friend of mine is going to Montreal for the first time this coming week and I’ve been feeling super nostalgic for it lately so I spend literally the entire morning texting her thing to do there, and then because I’m a lunatic I made her a spreadsheet organized by location and theme (so you could easily cross reference “Entertainment” and “Plateau”, for example), and then I downloaded dog photos and put them on the spreadsheet too because why not? It was literally my entire morning. I had 4 briefs to prepare for court, and I did none of them. Someone needs to fire me already.

    • Sota says:

      I think it is safe to say that every single person on this blog has been doing the things to distract them from the things they should really be doing. We are all in this together.

    • martinmegz says:

      Can we get a basement neighbor update please

      • old man fatima says:

        No update! But the lady who cleans the common areas borrowed our laundry room key about an hour ago and hasn’t returned it yet, so if we’ve lost our laundry room key I’m going to knock on basement lady’s door and ask her to let me into the laundry room, and then be like “Oh, nice cat! I think my boyfriend took its photo when we first moved in because blah blah blah”

      • old man fatima says:

        Update: got the key back.

  9. I have nothing to add but this (have we talked about this yet?): http://the-toast.net/2016/06/16/if-oscar-isaac-were-your-boyfriend/

    • flanny says:

      Look at Mr. Salt and Pepper. How old is he? I cannot tell. This is Sam Wentworth all over again! (The story is that I thought Sam Wentworth was, like, 23 when he first broke out onto the scene, and then someone told me he was in his mid-thirties. What? How?)

      • Flanny, I just watched Elizabeth: The Golden Age on Netflix and Laurence Fox was in it and I just feel the need to let you know whenever I have a Laurence Fox sighting. (He doesn’t have much to do in the movie–no one does, really, besides Cate Blanchett, which I understand and respect–but they kept cutting to him for no reason because, I’m guessing, he was one of the few men tall and slim enough to not look ridiculous in froofy Elizabethan garb.)

  10. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I missed this one and last week too!
    I guess things are busier for me than I realize!
    Last weekend I had time set up to get a lot of stuff done (mostly shopping) and I really didn’t get any of it done. I still need new running shoes and I mailed my dad’s father’s day package this week, but I went out to dinner with some girlfriends and that was very fun so relaxation accomplished. Also I applied to a new job and I’m going a little crazy seeing signs pointing me to it so I’m trying to focus on other stuff so as not to freak out all day every day about it. It is basically my dream job.

Comments are closed.