Tournament of Hotties: Ladies’ Edition First Round Voting Part 3

 

It seems I seriously underestimated Hayley Atwell.  Let’s see what other mistakes I made.

Alison Brie (1) vs. Olivia Munn (16)

Alison is already the third lady from Mad Men to show up in the tournament.  Just another reason that show was The Best.

Remember The Newsroom?  That show sucked but Olivia made it almost bearable.

 

Doctor Who Companions (8) vs. Cate Blanchett (9)

There have been a lot of companions, so sorry if your favorite isn’t pictured. Pick your favorite, or average them all together, or take the best things about each of them and make some sort of Frankenstein Hottie.

Cate is a national treasure in every country.  This whole tournament is beneath her.

 

Krysten Ritter (5) vs. Gillian Jacobs (12)

Krysten is great and I enjoy Jessica Jones, but I wish Don’t Trust the B was still on. The world needs more Beek.

I gave up watching Love after a few episodes because I couldn’t deal with Gus.  Gillian looked great no matter what frumpy outfit they put her in, though.

 

Taylor Swift (4) vs. Romola Garai (13)

I’ve found that one of the best things about getting older is that I care less about what others think of me, which means I don’t have to hide my love of pop music.

I had never heard of Romola until someone(I forget who, sorry) suggested her in the comments.  Thanks for that.

Voting will close Monday at 11pm

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Tournament of Hotties: Ladies’ Edition First Round Voting Part 3

  1. Sota says:

    Ooooo interesting that TSwift voting arrives just as she rides the crest of another relationship media frenzy. I am certain that our HM family has thoughts about the TSwift-THidds news.

  2. catweazle says:

    I went through a major mental journey deciding between Doctor Who Companions and Cate Blanchett.

    On the one hand, I love Cate Blanchett so much and she is a stone fox. But then I feel like she would scoff at the entire idea of a Tournament of Hotties and wouldn’t want us to vote for her. Which almost made me want to vote for her more, because nothing’s cooler than not wanting people to vote for you. But on the other hand, look at Jenna Coleman’s face (sorry other companions, Jenna is the hottest IMO). And Jenna Coleman has never worked with Woody Allen. Would she if she was asked to? Maybe. But I needed SOMETHING to base my choice off of, so I gave it to the companions.

    • summerestherson says:

      Yeah it was super hard for me to choose between DW and Cate – I didn’t think of the Woody Allen angle, that would’ve helped.

    • Sota says:

      I have never even watched Dr Who anything and I voted for them specifically for the middle girl with the dimple because she is gorgeous! (Which through my google skills I have determined is the Jenna you refer to.)

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I voted for Blanchett since she is beautiful and I don’t watch Doctor Who.

      Also the companion on the far left of that picture is one of my least favorite characters on Penny Dreadful.

  3. flanny says:

    HEY NERDS CATE BLANCHETT IS THE CLASSY-ASS QUEEN OF ALL OUR SOULS HOW DARE YOU EVEN THINK ABOUT VOTING AGAINST HER.

    (Also I voted for Romola because once her name gets in my head I can’t stop saying it. Romola Garai. Romola Garai.)

  4. catweazle says:

    BTW nastyemu, if you haven’t heard of Romola Garai I’m assuming that means you haven’t seen Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights which you should rectify IMMEDIATELY.

    • nastyemu says:

      My reaction watching the trailer just now:
      Hey, it’s Roger Sterling!
      Betty Draper too!
      Wait, is that Mya? WTF happened to Mya?!?

      What a roller coaster. Also, I learned how to pronounce Romola Garai!

      • summerestherson says:

        Yeah, her name is tricksy. I was saying it wrong in my head for a loooong time until I heard someone say it!

  5. FRQ says:

    I wonder if our little blog is sufficiently under the radar to avoid detection by Swifties?

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    Aside from the raging TSwizzle controversy, I voted enthusiastically for Gillian Jacobs because she was a fantastic judge on RuPaul’s Drag Race and she should be on every season.

    • catweazle says:

      I was torn between her and Krysten and voted for Gillian because I (apparently mistakenly) believed that she would need my vote more. And also because she is one of the few people on earth who loves Drag Race as much as I do.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I think Olivia Mumm is hotter than Alison Brie solely based on looks, but Alison won in a landslide for Community and Mad Men and the general sense I get from her that she’s awesome (that’s called the Anna Kendrick effect)

  8. hotspur says:

    Allison Brie is ludicrously sexy and hilarious in her gif, but I went with Olivia Munn because Olivia Munn is perfect. On the scale of gorgeous women who you really could just hang with in any situation, there is no 10 higher than Olivia Munn. Is she flawed, personality-wise? Assuredly. But these are the flaws I was meant to cherish. They are part of the 10.

    I voted for Cate because the photo of Amy Pond included here is unacceptable and I needed a reason. Plus come on: Cate Blanchett. Someone needs to make a movie where Cate Blanchett, Swinton, and maybe Emily Blunt pull a bank heist. They work for Helen Mirren. Either Emma Watson or Emma Stone is the new addition to the team. Can they trust her? Penelope Cruz is the Interpol agent who has sworn to stop them this time. I play the President and I get taken hostage.

    Krysten Ritter is hilarious. T-Swift is cool on Twitter and Romola Garai is a stranger to me. BOOM, another easy round!

  9. old man fatima says:

    I didn’t vote on the first three because they were too difficult. You guys, it really must be the ladies who rule and the dudes who drool because it was WAY easier to pick for the men. All of these girls are amazing.

    I voted not-Swift in the 4th one, because I just straight up don’t like Taylor Swift for no good reason.

    • nastyemu says:

      You’re right, I could have easily made this a 128 woman bracket and it would have been just as strong. Of course, that means if you’re a talented actress but aren’t really hot you have little chance of getting any work, which is pretty shitty.

      • hotspur says:

        I was just thinking if Romola or half of those Dr Who companions worked in your office and had to do their own makeup and wardrobe, you would take them as fairly normal people. Also, being the very hottest apparently is not enough to win you “hottest lady” because Olivia Munn is tanking 😦

        SHE IS ALSO SMART AND FUNNY, YOU JERKS. Man this contest is emotionally draining.

        • nastyemu says:

          Maybe LA has spoiled you for hot ladies? If Amy Pond or Romola Garai worked in my office I would show up with the biggest smile on my face every day.

          I do wish I had given Olivia more of a chance to pick up steam with a less sacrificial first round matchup, but I only remembered her at the last minute because of some drama with The Bachelorette. Also, if you really liked her that much you should have mentioned her sometime during the approximately six hours we discussed this on twitter. YOU DID THIS TO HER AND NOW IT’S TEARING US APART!

        • hotspur says:

          I thought I did mention Olivia Munn on Twitter! Oh no. She was definitely on the handwritten list I made, like a psychopath, with no pride or dignity. Maybe I messed up.

Comments are closed.