Tuesday TV Talk

Has anyone watched this show?  I am a fan of both Maya Rudolph and Martin Short, but I always find myself busy whenever this airs.  The only clip I’ve seen is the one above, because my sister loves Jiminy Glick.  I thought it was fine, but I don’t know if it’s enough to check out the entire program.  Thoughts?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. Kate says:

    I saw the first episode. Not a fan. It tries to go back to a format that died for a reason. Jokes were kinda lame too.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    If you watch Penny Dreadful, but are not caught up, don’t read anything about it or you will likely see some massive spoilers. I think Theresa might be the only other person here that watches it.

    Orphan Black season finale was good. As much as I love the show, I’m kind of glad next season is the last. Better to go out on top.

    HBO released a new trailer for Westworld. Never seen the movie it’s based on, but the show looks good.

  3. catweazle says:

    Finally finished this season of The Vampire Diaries which means you all get a few months free of me talking about it! I’m glad they didn’t drag out Bonnie wanting to murder all her friends but don’t you think they might have figured out the “Just stab that ancient thingy at the Armory and the hunter curse or whatever the fuck it’s called will immediately disappear” thing back when Rayna was fucking up all of their lives? Usually TVD season finales really fuck me up emotionally and I think that’s what they were going for with the “Enzo is super sweet and understanding with Bonnie as she slowly stabs him against her will” bit but it didn’t quite land for me. I will say that I am looking forward to Damon and Enzo having a Klaus-and-Ripper-Stefan-esque adventure next season mostly because maybe being possessed by evil magic will make them more honest with each other about their mutual boners.

    • Sota says:

      In the past experience with this show, it seems neither good magic nor evil magic makes anyone more honest about their boners.

  4. Sota says:

    Blake Lively knows a LOT of Harry Potter characters. Love that.

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    GUYS!!! “Made in America: OJ Simpson”. It is really fascinating and absolutely infuriating. And I’ve only seen the first 2 episodes and he hasn’t even (allegedly) killed anyone yet!

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Does everyone love UnReal? Did you guys watch The Bachelorette last night? I’m still in the middle of the episode (still haven’t seen last night’s UnReal yet).

    • Sota says:

      Thats a show that is on my list but I havent yet watched it! I need to do that.

    • martinmegz says:

      The funniest thing about The Bachelorette is the insight into how people view themselves vs. how they actually come across to others. Right now little Alex is a study in delusion. This guy thinks he is such a stand up person and totally secure in his “relationship” with Jojo, so why does he spend all his time talking shit about the other guys? And it’s totally creepy that Robbie thinks he’s in love with her already. You’ve known her for like three hours!!!

      UnReal is a little dark for my tastes, but I’ve watched the first two episodes.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Yeah, Robbie is legit crazy. That’s the first one-on-one date he’s had with her! Crazy.
        Agree on Alex – he’s just there to stir up drama and I really didn’t understand why everyone was ganging up on Derek.
        Daniel, however, was both spot on and totally delusional when he said that Jojo was obviously going for personality because his personality is shit. Perfect. Daniel you sweet and somehow not very attractive idiot.

    • I love UnReal. I used to work in reality TV so there are a lot of things that ring so very true to me but luckily not the murdery aspects.

    • Commentatrix says:

      You know it! I can’t get enough of that awfulness. I wish I could binge it all at once.

  7. martinmegz says:

    Has anyone seen Animal Kingdom on TNT? I watched it because Scott Speedman is in it and I love him like Felicity loved Ben. It has promise, kind of like a less compelling Sons of Anarchy meets Point Break so far, but I’m worried it won’t ever reach greatness. I’ll keep an eye on it and let you guys know how it develops. In the meantime, please watch Scott on Colbert because he is surprisingly charming for how handsome he is.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Shawn Hatosy is in it and I liked him on Southland. I’m not sure if that is enough to get me to watch. I will probably check out the movie it’s based on since Danny from Bloodline is in it.

  8. old man fatima says:

    Game of Thrones was so good! I really wish they let Sansa kill Ramsay, though. I loved the way they filmed the battle scene at Winterfell, I’ve never seen it done like that before and I thought it was really neat. And I’m totally into a Dany/Asha (?) friendship. I have some questions, though. Are we supposed to believe that this means there is no longer a threat of the slaver’s bay cities going back to the masters after Dany leaves? Because unless she leaves a dragon behind, it seems to me that they’ll just go right back to the way they were the second she’s gone. Also, she has a gazillion Unsullied/Dothraki/Meerenese now. Where is she going to put them all when she gets to Westeros? Is she just going to kill all the ruling houses and replace them 1:1? Because I feel like she has that many people! And where did Littlefinger come from? Was he hanging around just in case? Did Sansa run off to get him? Because the Vale is pretty far away, right? And for the people who read the books, WHY DIDN’T WE GET LORD MANDERLY??? I was super super expecting a rebellion from within the Ramsay ranks, led by the Manderlys. The North remembers, you guys!

    I’m also watching Orange is the New Black, but I’m only like 4 episodes in.

    • I was annoyed there was no internal rebellion too, especially because they hinted so much about Ramsey’s men not fighting for him because they were only fighting out of fear, not loyalty. I GUESS FEAR WORKS FINE THEN.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I feel like Sansa did kill Ramsay…? As for Dany’s followers I feel like the Dothraki for sure aren’t gonna wanna hang around Westeros for too long. Dany may have convinced Asha to renounce her people’s rapey and pillagey ways, but the Dothraki as a nomadic people is a different story. They won’t wanna just settle down in like Dorne, right? So maybe they help her take the throne and then go on their merry way?

  9. I watched Orange is the New Black this weekend and I have a lot of thoughts about it. Not thrilled with this season as a whole and I didn’t super love the “but the rapist isn’t THAT bad” thing they had going on.

    Veep continues to be hilarious, especially Jonah with his horrible, horrible mouth. His line about eating pussy that pulled back to reveal he was in an elementary school classroom was just gold.

  10. Commentatrix says:

    I actually loved this season of Orange (for different reasons than I loved the last season). Not to be mansplainy but I think the show urged us to view the rapist guy as Boo does, i.e. “always a rapist.” Especially since that apology he issues to Pennsatucky is so obviously mired in rape rhetoric – he “wished he hadn’t been so mad”!?! I think maybe that character misleadingly came across as “not that bad” only because there was so much focus placed on the other straight-up sociopaths in the mix. Basically this season went to a much darker place than I expected for this show, and I loved that, but I also loved last season’s humor so much. Suzanne’s paranormal erotica was my favorite storyline of maybe any season of any other comedy.

Comments are closed.