So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was ok. There was a bad thunderstorm last night and I didn’t get much sleep, so I wasn’t in the best of moods, but otherwise everything was fine. And I had tamales for dinner, which doesn’t completely cancel out sleep-related grumpiness, but definitely helps.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been long and exhausting. My kid is a freak of nature and at 15 months old only has 4 more teeth to get (all back molars) but at least one of them is coming in now and it’s making her and our life miserable. She was up overnight with a sore face and she’s just whimpery all the time. On top of that work is making me roll my eyes a lot and I have to do it to myself because I’m trying to be a team player.

  2. hotspur says:

    Last night I had french fries with dinner and then remembered I had spaghetti for lunch, plus various sandwiches at points. I still feel full. But the discomfort is good: I think this is the corner I needed to turn, to get back to exercise and eating reasonably instead of like it is a contest.

  3. catweazle says:

    There was a centipede in my apartment this morning but I was too sleepy to care about it too much. I hope it’s gone when I get back! I had to lead yet another boring meeting at work today. Somebody asked me a question about how we would handle a certain type of request from a client and I barely stopped myself from saying “They would just be SOL.” But I’m a GD professional so I managed to phrase it in more businesslike terms!

    I just got an email from my building warning that there’s going to be intense storm action this afternoon and I am very pumped. Storms are the best! I just hope the hail holds off until I get home.

  4. I spent most of the day doing very little work and planning my Paris trip. Someone on here was going to give me places to go, who was it? I just signed up for a nighttime bike tour of Paris, which also involves wine. Yum.

    Otherwise, I am leaving early so I can bike home before the storms hit. All in all, a good day.

    • martinmegz says:

      That was me! I don’t actually have any super insightful tips but my two favorite places are the Rodin museum and Sainte-Chapelle.

      The Rodin museum costs 10 euros and you get to wander around the grounds and through his house to see some amazing sculptures (The Kiss, Balzac, The Thinker, Burghers of Calais, Three Shades), plus a few Van Goghs in the house upstairs. Last month I walked in with no line and the crowds weren’t bad at all, which are two things I love about a museum.

      Sainte-Chapelle is close to Notre Dame and the stained glass windows in the second floor chapel are stunning. It is so gorgeous and definitely worth seeing.

      For going out drinking, I really enjoyed bar hopping on Rue de Lappe in the 11th arrondissement (which was a major target in the shootings, FYI). It felt like we were the only tourists in an area filled with locals, which was cool, although it’s a little seedy so I wouldn’t have gone there by myself late at night.

      You can’t go wrong just wandering the streets of Paris!

      • Rodin is on my list as a “maybe,” just because I really only have 2 days. You’re the second person to suggest it, though, so I guess it really must be lovely.

  5. Sota says:

    My day is alright. I finally got a big project off to the printer, which is just a huge load off my plate. There will be more work on the project, but getting to this step is major. My boss has been traveling so its been fairly quiet. I even got to have lunch with a friend today, which I have been too busy for lately. I am preparing for my boss’ reentry tomorrow to be chaos though. At least I have a short week next week cause I am taking some time off for when my beau comes to town for the 4th. Its my favorite holiday! Swimming and bbqing at the cabin, laying around, sunshine and playing games, fireworks and ice cream. Oh man, I think my heaven might be just July 4th week on repeat FOREVER.

  6. flanny says:

    I woke up around 6 o’clock and then took a nap at 9 o’clock, so I had a really full morning, obviously. I’m on day three of five volunteering afternoons at a writing camp for 4th and 5th graders, and it’s everything you would imagine. Lots of using our imagination and sitting quietly for specific periods of time. They’re all so adorable, and some of them are really good! Today we were outside for some of the time, building forts/fairy houses, and then writing about the people who live in them. Tomorrow we’re going to a small press to make paper and created woodblock illustrations for the collection of stories they’ll publish when this is over. Very excited. Never want this week to end but also I’d like to take a nap.

  7. Commentatrix says:

    I had lunch with a friend and now that he’s gone I’m getting ready to apply to a shit ton (hopefully) of jobs. I’ve had some promising interviews lately so I kinda fell off the wagon, but I really shouldn’t lose momentum. I haaaaate this entire process. Please just tell your LA friends to hook me up with a job, everyone, because I’ve completely lost faith in the traditional job application model. I’m convinced you can’t get shit in this world without knowing someone.

Comments are closed.