It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

What are you doing this weekend? I’m probably working, hooray.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I want to start on a happy note but guys I’m so grumpy I can’t even deal. For this job I wanted, my friend’s friend is also going for it and he had an informal meeting (he set up) with the guy and I haven’t heard anything and I’m just thinking I don’t have a shot at all. I submitted everything last wednesday and emailed him this tuesday and nothing. I mean, if you want to consider hiring someone you don’t blow him or her off. My boss is being the worst on top of all of that and I’m just over it all.

    • flanny says:

      Boo, job hunting is the worst! Because you have to get your hopes up for something in order to do a good job applying, but then once you apply you need to not have your hopes up at all so you don’t go crazy. Good luck, lady!

  2. gnidrah says:

    Here’s what I’ll be doing: contemplating my life in a totally different country to the one I have lived in my whole life.

    I know you guys have touched upon the EU referendum, and I hate to kick this off by going all Seriousgum, but it’s been a very strange day. I work in TV, as many of you know, in current affairs, so have had all of this playing out live at work.

    Professionally, it’s been a day when it really did feel like you were witnessing history unfold. Personally, as a Remain voter, I would rather not have found out what that felt like in this way.

    But I just want to say this to anyone reading: I’m devastated at how this makes us come across. This could well make us look like all we care about is ourselves. That we’re inward-looking. That we hate difference, foreigners, sharing, caring. Please, please, this is NOT the Britain that I know and love. I don’t know what the future is going to hold (& yes, I am looking at my own options with my Greek family) but I would hate for even more division to be created.

    • FRQ says:

      Well, I have two suggestions:

      1) I hear that Scotland and Northern Ireland want nothing to do with the Brexit, so you could move there now before they secede from the UK

      2) You are most welcome to come to America, but you might want to wait until late November, just in case.

      • gnidrah says:

        No, and Scotland will be out within two years. It’s a possibility, certainly, though with NI we need to closely assess what this means for border controls and of course, the peace process. I believe things have moved forward enough for it to be secure. But there are calls for a poll on a reunited Ireland too. So much uncertainty.

        Barack Obama just said we are still your friend and I cried.

        Take care America. Angry upset people do vote.

        • FRQ says:

          Yeah, my comments were supposed to be tongue-in-cheek, but I see that it wasn’t really the time for that. I’ll pretend that I never said any of it (though you are, for real, welcome to come over here anytime 🙂 )

        • gnidrah says:

          Oh I know! Sorry. I appreciate anything and this is the absolute best time for humour. Let’s face it, it’s a massive joke anyway!

    • gnidrah says:

      http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/uk/2016/06/i-want-my-country-back

      There’s a lot being written, but this sums things up very well.

    • martinmegz says:

      Well no one here in the States has any room to judge any other country when we’re staring down the barrel of a Donald Trump presidency! Sorry that our insanity seems to have crossed the pond.

      • artdorkgirl says:

        Let this serve as a warning lesson to us all (mostly you guys, Bernie Bros) (not that there are any Bernie Bros here, just in general)

      • gnidrah says:

        I held it together to run two and a half hours of live TV this morning, but now I’m sobbing on the sofa. Time for another bun!

        • Sota says:

          Sending hugs! ❤

        • Sota says:

          I realized after I typed it how lame that comment sounds…but its hard to know what to say. Woof.

        • hotspur says:

          Gnidrah, I thought of you as I heard the news last night (it was called at 10 pm Pacific time). Everyone here that I know is taken aback and worried. The way you worry about someone very close to you.

          The mood here also includes a dose of “Oh my God. Trump could win.” People here have been more nervous about that, today. He is a danger to the world and the human spirit. And I take your comments on Obama to heart. No matter who wins next, I’m going to miss that man, and I’m glad he said it: We are your friend. Nothing has changed that.

          I am so sorry. The world feels fragile today. If it’s any comfort, we only have 3-5 more years of human history, anyway. Then comes the robot uprising.

        • gnidrah says:

          Not lame at all. A hug is very much appreciated & we all need one right now! Thank you.

        • gnidrah says:

          Thank you too, hotspur, today of the Tottenham variety. It’s been a strange few years and it’s only going to get stranger. Buckle up…

      • flanny says:

        Right? I bet if you asked Americans if they wanted to leave the EU, they would want to, because not only are we inward-looking and difference-hating, but we are also dumb and ill-informed.

        • hotspur says:

          Keep your amazing globe full of interesting people and adventures off my gun, flanny! I KNOW MY RIGHTS.

    • As someone from a place where people are consistently fooled into voting against their own interests (America in general, of course, but also where I grew up, specifically), I feel for you all. It’s sucks. It’s frustrating and scary and it just sucks.

      • gnidrah says:

        Such misinformation. Such anger. This is the consequence of people feeling lied to for so long. We just have to stick together, only that way can we overcome.

  3. catweazle says:

    This weekend will be 80% less action packed than last weekend which is both good and bad. I’m doing two different ensembles this session (which starts tomorrow) and they run back to back on Saturday afternoons. I’ve done that before and it’s a little intense, but I think Glam is going to be sort of loosey-goosey and low-key this time around so hopefully it won’t be too tasking. The other one I’m doing is a Velvet Underground ensemble and the teacher messaged me the other day asking if I wanted to play drums. I was like “Ummm if you want us to be terrible!” but I’m kind of assuming the fact that he asked in the first place means that another keyboard player signed up. Oh well! That’s why I started playing guitar again.

    The only other thing I have to do that I know of is celebrate my older sister’s birthday which I just found out will be just hanging out at her house and then babysitting the baby while she goes to dinner with her husband. Which works for me!

  4. I wrote a whole post and my work’s internet went out. So all you need to know is I leave for the airport soon and I am going to spend the weekend drinking wine, then hoping that all my work stuff goes well.

  5. artdorkgirl says:

    I’m hoping we have a nice, quiet weekend at home so that I can fully prepare for the season finale of Game of Thrones. Other than that, I have a going away grown up cocktail party and I have to prepare to give a Fellow’s Talk on Thursday. My fellowship will be over after this week, can you believe it???

    Oh…and Brexit is the worst thing that could happen. Please urge your American voting friends to not make the same mistake with Trump #politicalgum.

  6. Sota says:

    The state of the world seems more and more depressing everyday, but I am going to my cousin’s wedding tonight after work, so instead I am going to try to focus on happy things like people being in love. ❤

  7. flanny says:

    Ditto with the good thoughts, Sota. This afternoon I had my last session at writing camp and two of the girls ran across the room to give me hugs. And they shared with me their super secret list of boys they have crushes on, which included Orlando Bloom and Aiden Turner. Since we can’t trust the olds anymore, the kids are for the most part pretty alright, guys! As for this weekend, I’m hoping to get some writing done, and to distract myself from my vacation being over by watching US gymnastic Olympic Trials.

  8. martinmegz says:

    I’m going to a political convention in Pasadena so I’ll be working all weekend. Next week I’ll take a couple of days off to make up for it. I want to do this hike that goes to the site where MASH was filmed, but we’ll see if I have the energy to get out of the house.

  9. Dangbattleship says:

    Strictly Ballroom is so good! Great GIF. Crazy world, good GIF. Friday.

Comments are closed.