How Was Your Weekend?

I had a somehwat eventful weekend.  I was pretty tired Friday night, and ended up playing video games the entire evening.  Saturday I did some volunteering, then went to a baseball game that night.  Last night, I saw Independence Day: Resurgence.    There were a handful of things I liked, but overall it’s the same damn Roland Emmerich garbage, with none of the charm of the first film (except for Mr. Goldblum, of course).  After viewing this and Warcraft, I really must make an effort to see a good non-franchise, non-sequel picture the next time I go to the movies.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a great weekend! I got to hang out with my family and also leave my kid with other people while we went to a movie!
    Additionally, Saturday night, mr truck went out with his friends so I decided to watch Sex and the City 2 because I’m in the middle of The Worst Idea of All Time season 2 where they watch that movie every week for a year. So full disclosure, I had seen this movie before and remember thinking it was bad and nothing like the greatness of the series, but guys, this movie is legitimately horrible. I yelled “Fuck You!” at the movie at least 4 times. I have no idea how the makers of this podcast are watching it more than once, let alone 52 times. It’s so long and so depressingly, soul-crushingly horrible.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I was supposed to work an event on Saturday, but found out at the last minute that it got rescheduled. So I went back to bed! Luckily I found out before I left the house.

    The rest of my weekend was mostly spent trying to unsuccessfully pry myself away from Netflix. I watched 10 episodes of Damages. That is too many episodes! But I’ve never seen it before, and I’m looking forward to seeing how the story unfolds.

  3. catweazle says:

    I got to hang out with the baby yesterday and he was being so precious! I’ve been trying to teach him how to thumbs up and he doesn’t really get it yet. He knows when I thumbs up at him he’s supposed to do something but he can’t quite figure it out. The first time I tried to show him he just kept fistbumping me, and then yesterday he decided that his job was to grab my thumb for a second and then walk away. BABIES ARE SUCH CUTE IDIOTS!

    The second most exciting part of the weekend was that I learned that my great great great great I don’t know how many greats but a lot grandmother was accused of being a witch during the Salem Witch Trials and died in prison awaiting execution. Which is a bummer for her but I AM DESCENDED FROM A SALEM WITCH! I’ve never felt closer to the characters of The Vampire Diaries than I do today.

  4. flanny says:

    I watched a lot of Olympic trials while eating ice cream on my sofa. I also banged my knee really hard on my coffee table, and I guess I made a big enough fuss that my cat looked concerned. It currently hurts when I go up and down the stairs but isn’t visibly bruised, which is confusing. Am i dying?

    • catweazle says:

      In college I slipped on black ice and landed on my knee and there was nothing visibly wrong with it but it hurt to put even the lightest pressure on it for months and now, nearly 10 years later, it still twinges walking up and down stairs sometimes and gets stiff when the weather changes so learn from my mistakes and go to the doctor if it keeps hurting!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Mr. Costco and I went to a Mexican restaurant and they had the Olympics on. Watching athletes while shoving chips and a torta in my face was making me feel kind of bad.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        But then I went home and ate leftover Portillo’s cake. So I guess I didn’t feel THAT bad about never exercising. I need to reevaluate my priorities.

  5. Sota says:

    My weekend was glorious. I SLEPT SO MUCH! I really didn’t do much of anything except assorted napping and reading Deathly Hallows again. The one big thing I did was go to my cousin’s wedding on Friday evening. It was a beautiful wedding but holy hannah it was like a pinterest board threw up in there. It was absolutely stunning and gorgeous and well decorated, but there was just SO MUCH STUFF. I was exhausted just looking at all the thoughtful handcrafted creation/decoration/arrangements all over. My aunt said that the bride’s parents had a uhaul in the parking lot to haul stuff to the venue. WHAT. Crazy pants. The wedding industry must be doing JUST fine if that wedding is any example. In other news my spring/summer of too many weddings/bachlorettes/showers is almost done! I have one more wedding event the second weekend of July and then I am done with them for [hopefully] a while!

  6. Whoops, totally forgot to make this post! My weekend was ok. I went into work on Saturday, but I got a lot done, which will make my whole week less stressful. And then on Sunday I lounged and watched two movies I enjoyed: Hail, Caesar! (very typically Coen Brothers-y, in a good way) and Vanity Fair, which is on Netflix. As an adaptation of the novel, it’s not so great (Mira Nair basically turns Becky Sharp into a plucky heroine instead of the sociopath she’s supposed to be), but as just a movie on its own, it was fun to watch.

    • Martinmegs says:

      I assumed you’d posted it and was confused because I don’t remember you being that into video games.

    • hotspur says:

      Spotlight is on Netflix too. I watched it this weekend and it turns out to be very good. Who knew!

      • martinmegz says:

        I tried to watch it on a plane but I felt like I got the point after 25 minutes or so. Everything was so telegraphed. But obviously I’m in the minority on thinking it was a big snooze fest.

        • hotspur says:

          They did a great job of setting up the environment it happened in. It seems like such a no-brainer, “Write story saying church molesty, watch house of cards fall,” but the movie makes it clear why it wasn’t so simple. I think Spotlight will age as well as All The President’s Men, which it reminded me of. That movie is a little frayed around the edges at 40 years old, but still very watchable.

  7. artdorkgirl says:

    I had a nice, quiet weekend for once and watched Game of Thrones! OH MAN, THAT SHOW YOU GUYS.

    I’ve also had a chance to examine the T.Swizzle/Tom pairing and I’m coming down on the side of “really weird pr stunt.”

Comments are closed.