Tuesday TV Talk

Last weekend, the Game of Thrones season finale aired on HBO.  As I know next to nothing about that Game of Thrones, the only thing I can post is this tangentially related clip of President Obama listing all of the characters that died on the show.  I’m sure it goes without saying that this is spoiler-ridden, but that probably won’t be an issue for most of you.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. flanny says:

    Last night I watched the second episode of this season of Endeavor and it was great! Any Morse/Lewis/Endeavor episode that includes a hippie commune squatting in a fancy old manor house is gonna be a good one. I did NOT guess who the poisoner was! The stuff with Jakes in the tunnel I thought was a pretty cheap trick, but I gasped at the explosion nonetheless.

    Also, heads up American nerds, the next season of British Baking Show hits PBS on Friday!!!

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    As I mentioned in the weekend post, I’ve been watching Damages. It’s made by the same people who make Bloodline, so if you like Bloodline, you might enjoy this one.

    I also watched Master of None. Not my favorite show, but pretty good. Ladies and Gentlemen and Indians on TV were my favorite episodes.

    Silicon Valley had its ups and downs this season, but Jared never failed to make me laugh. Bravo, Zach Woods!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Did anyone watch the James Franco Lifetime movie? I only watched half of it so far because it’s bad, and not in a funny/good way.

    It’s a remake of the Tori Spelling movie, Mother May I Sleep with Danger, but with vampires?!

    I watched the original since I had never seen it, and it was typical Lifetime. The remake is an interesting spin on the plot, but I’m not sure if I’ll make it through the rest.

  4. catweazle says:

    I watched the Game of Thrones finale with my mom and she spent most of it yelling about how much she hates Cersei.

    • old man fatima says:

      I actually really like Cersei. I said that at work today and everyone looked at me like I’m a monster so I had to be like “I mean, I wouldn’t be pals with her…” BUT I DEFINITELY FUCKING WOULD BE.

      • We share a hairstyle now, so I feel like I have to support her a tiny bit.

        • old man fatima says:

          The thing is, we all like Jamie and he’s just as bad. He does bad stuff solely in his own self interest, at least when Cersei does it it’s for her family. Also, her coronation gown was amazing.

        • I think where I cut Cersei some slack is that she really believes in what she’s doing. Which doesn’t make it easier for anyone who gets in her way, obviously, and she’s totally sealed her own doom, but still. Jamie has always bugged me for the exact opposite reason: what does he care about, really, and what does he do about it? NOT MUCH, on both counts. He just looks good in comparison to a lot of the other characters because he’s not unstable or cartoonishly evil, which in Westeros makes you a reasonable person.

      • catweazle says:

        Cersei and Jaime are both garbage but Cersei is a perforated bag of food trash left out in the sun for several days while Jaime is an extra thick Hefty bag of pre-sorted garbage. I enjoy watching what Cersei gets up to and she’s more sympathetic on the show than in the books but she’s still so awful that I can only root for her when it’s in opposition to something even worse like a religious zealot. Jaime on the other hand doesn’t really do much of anything other than wander around wherever his family tells him to go but at least he hasn’t thrown any children out of windows since season 1 and he gets points for bro-ing down with Brienne/freeing Tyrion. He’s kind of the Chuck Bass of Westeros.

      • ALSO while we’re on the topic of Games of Thrones, can everyone who’s actually watching the show clear something up for me re: Melisandre and Jon’s resurrection–uh, why aren’t all the characters FREAKING OUT about it? Like from the recaps I’ve glanced at, the in-show reaction seems to me “Oh cool, Jon’s back! Now go away, Melisandre, you’re creepy.” Is that actually the case? Because a legit sorceress legit brought someone back from the dead in the name of an apparently legit dark god, and in any real society, that alone would be enough spark chaos and start a war. Everyone should be having some major religious crises, at the very least. And was Melisandre just banished?? Letting her go off and do her own thing SEEMS LIKE A BAD IDEA, GUYS.

        • martinmegz says:

          Here’s what always bugs me: why do people in this bacchanalian GOT universe even care about people being gay? It seems like it should be such a nonissue.

        • Eh, I can buy it. There’s certainly enough real-world examples of decadent societies that still manage to be bigoted, and Westeros is very patriarchal and misogynistic, which is often closely tied to homophobia (the idea that gay men are degrading themselves by acting like women, etc). Plus all the religious fervor in recent seasons has been framed as the inevitable backlash to a morally bankrupt society.

        • There was a small portion of the episode that followed Jon Snow’s resurrection that mentioned how some of the men saw him as a God now but I think the reason it is not a much bigger deal is because a) news travels slow using ravens and he is in a very isolated area so most people probably don’t even know that he was ever dead and b) Jon’s not the first person to be resurrected. There is another character who has been resurrected 7 times by the priestesses so most people are like “meh, seen it before”.

        • Ok, that makes more sense then. I’ll probably always think the way the show (and the books, even more) handles Melisandre has been…unsatisfying, I guess, but that definitely gives more context for Jon.

        • catweazle says:

          I would just assume that after you accept the existence of murderous snow zombies everything else is just ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

        • True. I’ve always had an issue with the way GRRM–and by extension, the show–incorporates the fantasy elements of the series, but I’ll spare you all from another rant about it. And the show has improved on things, frankly, so I shouldn’t complain.

  5. Man, I have been a complete failure at posting these. Thanks FRQ for picking up my slack!

    -Game of Thrones ended and I am super mad that they killed of Margery. She was the best! It really makes me debate continuing to watch it but it’s only like 15 episodes until they are done so honestly, I’ve put in this much time, I am obviously going to finish the show. Also, I feel like this season was not great at doing anything that felt unexpected or something that I didn’t see coming, which it usually excels at. I did love Arya getting her revenge on the Freys though, that was amazing.

    – Veep is hilarious and one of my new favorite shows. I love that the show does what you don’t expect by doing what they say they are going to do and avoiding surprise twists. For example, this season there was a sense that something was going to happen that would make Selena win the election and it just never happened. I am pretty excited about next season.

    – I have been rewatching Brooklyn 99, which continues to be hilarious.

    • FRQ says:

      Is there like a certain time/deadline when I should write these if I don’t see one as a draft? I always feel weird posting these ’cause I feel like I’m stepping on your toes.

      • I usually assume if I forget to do it Monday night that you will have set it to post before I would be able to do it in the morning (especially since I am on the West Coast). Honestly I just got a new job that has been keeping me really busy for the last few weeks so I haven’t had as much time and definitely don’t mind that you post them. Mostly I just feel bad for being like “I’m going to do this thing!” and then immediately not doing it.

        • FRQ says:

          Gotcha. Then I guess we’ll just say if I don’t see anything by Tuesday at noon (9am your time) I’ll put something together.

    • martinmegz says:

      I felt that way when they killed Ned Stark. I came to the show late so I even knew that he was going to die early on, but I was so angry I stopped watching for almost a year. I thought this season finale was super boring for the first 20 minutes but once the wildfire went boom things picked up.

      I just finished a rewatch of Happy Endings on Hulu and I love that show so much I might just start again. The Bachelorette continues to entertain me even though all the guys are this weird combo of metrosexual meatheads. “Idiots giving roses to other idiots,” as Happy Endings describes it.

    • old man fatima says:

      This episode was sooo goooooooood-uh. I was upset about Margery for sure, but I’m glad everyone who stayed alive got theirs. One of my coworkers was really upset because he wanted to know what Margery’s long con was. I said I thought she was just playing the game until she could get her and her brother safe, and then she’d start to plan for reals. What do you guys think? Do you think she managed to tell Olena and that’s how we’ll find it out?

      • Erika says:

        I think so. I think that’s why she was so pissed off that Loras was being forced to join the cult. Her getaway wouldn’t work then.

        (I’m obsessed with Dragon Age right now, and I almost wrote “Solas” instead of “Loras”.)

      • That was one of my big complaints about her death too. They had really built up that she was cooking up something and then blammo. I am clinging to hope that she and Loras snuck out when no one was looking and they are secretly alive and going to take Cersei out.

        • old man fatima says:

          I would be so mad if that happened, though. You can’t give us a big emotional blow like that and then later on be like “jkjkjkjkjk 😉 “

  6. collin0truckasaurus says:

    GAME of THRONES!!!!! The Bachelorette!!!! Unreal!!!!!
    Game of Thrones was such a good episode. The Bachelorette was pretty good this week. I haven’t watched UnReal yet.
    I’ll miss Game of Thrones so much but this was a really really great season!

  7. old man fatima says:

    I know everyone finished this the day it came out, but I just finished Orange is the New Black, and if anyone wants to chat about it I have A LOT of feelings! For example: why were all the guards cartoonishly evil? Was it because they’re vets??? And why wasn’t Caputo aware of anything that was happening in his prison? And why, when the captain was like “not on my watch” didn’t Caputo call his bluff and fire him? The others wouldn’t have walked out because they would also be homeless. The prison houses them! I want capers, why was this season so GRIM???

    • I wasn’t crazy about the evil guards who are also all veterans but I think on a level it was supposed to explain why none of them would break ranks and report the evil guy, especially when they didn’t even know if he was doing something wrong. I think it was intentional to show that Caputo was unaware of what was going on because he’d been critical of those above him for being too entwined in the bureaucracy to understand what was happening with the actual people and now the exact same thing was happening to him. As far as not firing the guards, he obviously definitely should have fired them all immediatly but it does become a problem of what does he do when they all walk out (yes, they would have lost their housing but they probably would not have been allowed to be evicted for at least 30 days and Caputo needs guards there NOW).

  8. Sota says:

    Are there any Harry Potter nerds here? Did anyone sort themselves into their Ilvermorny House yet? I got Gryffindor for Hogwarts and Thunderbird for Ilvermorny. It says that Thunderbirds are prone to adventure. That sounds like fun!

Comments are closed.