So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was pretty good! I got a lot done, and my hair looked especially cute. It’s also cooled down a little after a weekend of hellish temperatures, which always makes me happy.

How Was Your Day BONUS ROUND: what have you guys been reading lately? Hit me up with some book recs.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. hotspur says:

    I was reading “The World to Come” by Dara Horn but have semi-abandoned it. It was semi-literary but the voice just wasn’t working for me. As a placeholder in its wake, I tried “The Man-Kzin Wars” (vol 1), because the day I officially quit Horn, I read an essay lauding Man-Kzin as a paragon of military hard sci-fi, which is a genre I have no familiarity with. Let’s go for it, I thought! But oof, it was not my bag. Plus it includes romance/sex parts that induce every wince, and a character is named Dorcas, which has to be in tribute to “Stranger in a Strange Land,” which included a Dorcas, and I hated that book so, so much that I got PTSD shudders reading this one. I don’t recommend “The Man-Kzin Wars” to anybody!

    This morning I pulled “Rendezvous With Rama” off the shelf. I have heard it is classic sci-fi too and need an antidote to the bad sci-fi. I hope it works. After that, I’m putting a Steph Cha mystery on deck maybe? Or Tarzan (topical!). Or some nonfiction maybe.

    • Sota says:

      This just reminded me that in the old movie Seven Brides for Seven Brothers one of the girls was named Dorcas. When we were little my brother and I used to laugh and laugh that someone would be named Dorcas. We thought it was the most ridiculous name.

      • catweazle says:

        There is a character named Dorcas in A Winter’s Tale, so maybe you philistines should brush up on your Shakespeare!

        JK, I only know that from Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2.

      • hotspur says:

        Correct! Dorcas is the most ridiculous name,

        When I was 11 my parents made me and my sister watch 7B47B and I think we just sat there puzzled as to what about it they thought we would like. They really talked it up before leaving the room! So great, a true classic, we were gonna love it, etc etc. PUZZLED. Looking back, I suspect they just wanted to be rid of children for a couple hours and that was one of the only movies in my aunt’s house. (VHS ftw.)

      • old man fatima says:

        YES! She was my favourite because she was the prettiest and that’s all you care about when you’re 8.

        • old man fatima says:

          Everything that 8 year old baby Fatima wanted to be when she grew up:

        • Sota says:

          YES. Please tell me that you pose for photos like that just to make your 8 year old self proud.

        • hotspur says:

          Ahhh, Fatima, I just looked her up, and guess who she later went on to be…

          Catwoman, of the Adam West regime.

  2. catweazle says:

    I am just counting down the time until I can leave work because I got the new Lego Star Wars game yesterday and it is so fun! I played it for like three hours last night.

    I am a bad reader. I’ve been “reading” Amy Poehler’s book for a while now but lately I’ve been playing on my phone during my commute instead of reading which is terrible, but I accept myself for the flawed person I am.

  3. Sota says:

    Great Bob! I am almost done with the workday today and tomorrow I have a half day and then I am off till Wed. Also, I got a raise today! Woo! Which is amazing cause I didn’t think they were going to give me one and thought I would have to ask for a lot. I did still ask for more vacation time, which I will find out about later. Tomorrow my Boyfriend arrives for the long weekend and its my favorite holiday! So Yes, I am doing very well.

    • Sota says:

      Oh! For books, I just finished rereading HP Deathly Hallows over the weekend. I really want to read Ready Player One next, but I haven’t gotten around to buying it or getting it at the library yet.

  4. nastyemu says:

    I have been really busy with work lately, but today I am working from home so that is nice. I haven’t left the house all day!

    I just picked up “The Girl in the Spider’s Web” to read at the beach next week. It’s the first book in the Millennium series since Stieg Larsson died. I hope this new author doesn’t screw it up.

  5. My day is going so slow and my lunch today was very unsatisfying.

    I am currently reading Ravensbruck, which is a history of a concentration camp built for women prisoners during the holocaust. Spoiler alert – it’s super depressing. It’s very interesting though and I would definitely recommend.

  6. artdorkgirl says:

    I give my final presentation for my fellowship and I’m kind of nervous. I’m the only art historian here! What do I do??? (I know what I’m going to do: show lots of pictures!)

    I’m also exhausted. Can I just start my nap now and sleep right on through the weekend?

  7. FRQ says:

    Tonight I’ll be going to a local cidery, which is great because I love cider, and it works for my shitty elimination diet. I am also preparing for tomorrow’s trivia night, which will consist exclusively of yacht rock. I anticipate copious amounts of Steely Dan and Kenny Loggins in my future. As for books, you’re asking the wrong person.

  8. old man fatima says:

    I’m reading Slaughterhouse Five. I’ve never read it before but always meant to, and now I have it! Fatiman’s brother is a librarian and his library got a donation of new Vonnegut books from some (probably dead?) person’s collection so they put all the old ones in the discard pile. This dude keeps me in books! It’s good. I feel like I would have liked it better in high school, just because I’ve read so many books by people that clearly emulate Vonnegut that his style seems old hat even though he did it first. Still a good book, though! That’s what I’m reading at home, and at work I’m reading Memoria de Mis Putas Tristes, Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ last book. It’s kind of a let down. Fatiman is trying to learn French, so we’re also reading Le Petit Prince together, which is an amazing book that everyone should read. I weep like a baby every time I look at it, though. It just makes me so emotional!

    • Simon Spidermonk says:

      I remember in my early twenties I went camping with a couple of friends and one of them had just finished reading Slaughterhouse Five (on my recommendation) and had decided to adopt “And so it goes” as his catch-all catchphrase. Get rained on and have to huddle in the tent? “And so it goes.” Can’t open a can of beans with our budget can opener? “And so it goes.” But without any winking irony, always delivered as if he honestly believed it made him sound like he was hooked into the world’s pain on a level we couldn’t understand. Hot dog turns black on one side and catches fire? “And so it goes.” Not quite the bombing of Dresden there, guy.

      • old man fatima says:

        Ugh. So it goes really annoyed me as a catchphrase. I can’t imagine having to suffer through it in real life, on a camping trip where you can’t get away!

  9. Martinmegs says:

    I am reading the new Die Hard oral history kindle single. I’m home today because I worked all weekend and I stayed up till 4 finishing the article from my Paris trip. I’m lazing around in front of the TV waiting for happy hour. My favorite band retweeted me yesterday (diff account than what some of you follow, my real name account) so my @ mentions are nuts. What a weird sentence that is. I’m going to take a nap now.

  10. flanny says:

    Today two of my coworkers and I took the day off and drove to Detroit to go to the art museum. Obviously it was very lovely and just such a beautiful day. I have a friend who just started working at the museum this summer, so every time a secret door opened I was like, “Oh, is that my friend?” And then I literally ran into her in a gallery! What a delight! Then we (not the friend, she was at work) walked to an ice cream place and tried to break into a church (both my coworkers are old enough to be my mother, I think), so all in all a good day.

    I am currently “reading” June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore. I was super into it when I started, but now I’m about halfway through and i haven’t picked it up since the weekend, so maybe I’m done with it. If I’m being honest, i just finished listening during my commute to The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place by E.L. Konigsburg because I am a literal infant. E.L. is probs my favorite writer of all time, but her books don’t sound as good as they read, I have to say. Nonetheless, I was sad when it ended. After five seconds. Because it wasn’t long. Because it is a book for children.

  11. Dangbattleship says:

    I just read The Thin Man, which somehow I had never gotten to despite liking Dashiel Hammett and detective stories, and it was fun. They drink so much! And apparently you could already get takeout at any hour in NYC in the 1930s.

  12. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day was overall fine, but at the end of the day I got a voicemail on my work phone and I was so so excited thinking it was about this job, but then it turns out it was from the work daycare and my kid got a spot. I should be happy but they’ve kind of dicked us around and we’d basically given up and said “fuck that place” but now I have to decide whether I really want to go there or not given that it would mean sitting in traffic with my kid longer and possibly her not getting home as soon. It was just the simultaneous disappointment and frustration and anxiety of this decision all at once.

Comments are closed.