How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was good! I used Saturday to be productive and got a bunch of errands run, and then lounged gloriously all day Sunday and Monday, reading and watching shows and generally being a waste of space. It was exactly what I wanted.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. Kate says:

    We had a big–much bigger than I’d planned–party on the 3rd. Great weather! Cool and clear and perfect for the area fireworks. We had a few of our own fireworks, and the very best one was shaped like BB8 (adorable), and it went on and on with various parts of him flaring up at intervals. The finale was his tummy lighting up to spell USA. 🤗
    Also, Kelly wrote something funny for the hairpin over the holiday. Enjoy! https://thehairpin.com/searching-for-ben-franklins-dancing-ghost-647099ca58fb#.3o2vi95ia

  2. artdorkgirl says:

    I took a glorious four day weekend from constant research, and now I’m back at it, trying to sort through what I’ve done. It is boring and I would love to take a nap.

    We had a great bbq with so much food. In fact, there’s still some left (sadly, not the guacamole. There’s never enough guacamole). We decided not to go to the river for the fireworks and just watched them at home, which meant I could put the music on mute. Did anyone watch it? Can you explain to me why the country music band sang about “Motorboatin'” (why yes, I’m 12 years old)

  3. catweazle says:

    I was on call for work for the first two days and on both Saturday and Sunday morning some European assholes sent in work at 4:30AM and then some other douchebags sent stuff in around 6 or 7 so I got like no sleep. I did manage to power through all of OITNB as well as several episodes of Once Upon a Time which I recently started watching for god knows what reason (lies, I know what reason; Netflix is constantly recommending it to me) and I don’t love it so far especially since I just watched an episode that featured Giancarlo Esposito as a genie in full Middle-Eastern-face which was insulting to actual Middle Eastern people AND Giancarlo Esposito. But I’ll give it to the end of the first season to hook me.

    Other than that I was mostly trying to figure out what has been fucking up my lower back in the last week. It’s possible that I pulled or otherwise fucked with something while doing my lame-ass workouts but I also suspect it might have to do with my couch. But I am in pain! How do you guys deal with shit like this? I tried to cure it by doing yoga but that didn’t work. Today I plan to pick up some Icy-Hot. Beyond that I have few ideas. Should I go to a chiropractor? Is that too xtreme?

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also I didn’t do anything for the 4th because I was too tired. My mom tried to convince me to go to the party my aunt and uncle were having by saying the baby would be there and it almost worked but not quite. I am a little sad that I missed watching him watch the fireworks for the first time though 😦

    • FRQ says:

      The only advice I can offer is that my dad says chiropractic is BS (he’s a doctor). Maybe there’s some other form of physical therapist out there that could help?

    • martinmegz says:

      I’d start with a heating pad then look into what’s covered by your insurance. I feel like it’s common for doctors to look down on chiropractors, but a lot of people are helped by it. Of course I’m dismissive of acupuncture but a lot of people swear by that, too.

    • catweazle says:

      This Icy-Hot is hittin’ the spot, y’all

  4. flanny says:

    My “no plans” weekend went off without a hitch! There was a balloon festival in town this weekend, so when I went running there were always hot air balloons floating around. I made some delicious food to feed myself with. I also wrote quite a bit, which is nice.

    Sort of in conjunction with the writing, I took a drive around my town to visit neighborhoods I’d never been in, which meant driving near the old town cemetery. AND BOY WAS IT SCARY. As soon as I turned right onto a street I saw ahead of me the creepy iron gates with the name of the cemetery above it and then I had to go and drive along the cemetery for a couple of blocks and now I’m pretty sure I’m possessed. Why are cemeteries always above street level so when you’re driving along you imagine that you are on level with all the corpses? Why? Then last night I looked at the library’s online collection of old postcards and continued to be creeped out! Why do people in old pictures always look like they’re staring at you across time and space and they know horrible things that are waiting for you in the beyond? Why? And now, as I type, I am marathoning My Favorite Murderer, which is really a very great podcast that I think was written just for me, but is also the scariest thing. I am going to hate myself so much when it gets dark. Ugg, Flanny!

    • old man fatima says:

      Talk to me about this podcast. I’m always down for spooky things to put in my ears.

      • flanny says:

        It’s basically just two ladies chatting about true crime, like serial killers and unsolved murders and children who murder their parents. They’re just chatting about it, though. They don’t try to solve it and there’s no moody music in the background. They’re just chatting. It’s pretty great.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Saturday we went and got some plants for the backyard garden and then we hung out the rest of the day in the glorious air conditioning. Sunday I went to get my nails done and brunch with a bunch of friends and they talked me into staying out all day and night with them while my husband stayed home with the kid. Monday we went to the grocery store and I bought some pants and then we had my in-laws over for grilling and watching my kid splash on the water table and apple pie. There were some fireworks but generally we just went to bed soon after the sun went down. It was very good overall!!!

  6. FRQ says:

    Overall, I had a good weekend. It started off shaky with a birthday party I wasn’t fond of. It was one of those situations where I didn’t know anyone but the birthday boy, so it involved attempts at conversation about topics I know little to nothing about. After that it picked up. Saturday I went out to dinner with friends and saw Swiss Army Man. It was enjoyable, but ultimately I didn’t really see the point of the movie’s events. I would still recommend it, since I liked the visuals, music, and the fact that the creators tried to do something different.

    Sunday I didn’t do much, other than run errands and work out, but I did hang out with friends in the evening. That same group of friends threw a 4th of July party the next afternoon, which was terrific. Unlike their other parties, it was limited to close friends, so there weren’t any irritating people in attendance. My only regret was staying there past midnight, as I am now suffering the consequences (I want to take a nap so badly).

  7. I biked a lot and drank a lot, so that was fun. I found a new trail I like and did a few group rides. Guys, bike people are very cliquy. I’m a little terrified to try to start joining more group rides because it sort of feels like it could be high school drama-filled. All I want to do is ride fast and far, which would be better in a group. Are runners like this? Is this just an exercise-specific thing? I have never been good at exercise so I haven’t experienced a hardcore group of competitive people before.

  8. martinmegz says:

    I spent most of the weekend watching Wimbledon but I managed to clean my apartment and get a little work done. I sent out a bunch of work emails yesterday like a loser, but where I live you can’t leave the house in a car on the 4th of July if you want to come home at some point. I watched Tina Fey’s movie Whiskey Tango Foxtrot and it is so good. I loved it. It’s not a comedy, but she makes some funny sarcastic remarks. If you like stories about people who blow up their lives and try something totally new, or if you are interested in the ethics of being a war correspondent, this is the movie for you.

    Today is rough because someone in the office is eating some kind of seafood medley that smells disgusting. Fish in the office should be a fireable offense.

    • catweazle says:

      Any strong-smelling food in the office should be outlawed! I am very sensitive to food smells because I find most food gross in the first place and then the smell of the rare foods I like just makes me really hungry so it’s just all-around bad.

    • Kate says:

      Ewww. Agreed.

    • artdorkgirl says:

      I always feel terrible because I’ll bring leftover curry every once in a while, and I’m positive people are cursing me. But I don’t want my leftovers to go to waste!!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I also watched Whiskey Tango Foxtrot this weekend! I really liked it too! It was so weird because they were trying so hard to sell it as a comedy but it was something else and that other thing is great!

    • Commentatrix says:

      Thanks for giving me a reason to watch WTF because between the lame jokes and the white people playing Afghanis the trailer for it made me cringe so much that I promptly dismissed the whole thing. But I still love Tina so it was hard to let that one go.

      • martinmegz says:

        Well it’s true that they made some errors in casting non-Afghans in those roles, but if you can look past it then the movie has a lot to offer! Actually I loved the guy who plays her Afghan interpreter so it’s a shame that the role was white-washed, but also the guy is really good. I’m conflicted.

  9. old man fatima says:

    I have definitely mentioned this before, but I was hit by a truck while riding my bike in 2006 and almost lost a leg. I haven’t been back on a bike since… UNTIL THIS WEEKEND!!!! We went to Fatiman’s parents’ place to just relax and go to the lake and sit around eating good food and reading, and Fatiman got his parents’ bikes and we went out into the boonies where there’s this may-as-well-be-abandoned running trail through the woods. I wanted to cry it felt so good! Uggghhhhhhh I’ve missed it so much! He is building me a bike with the idea of us going on bike adventures through the city, but I’m definitely not about to ride a bike in town any time soon. Definitely 100% going to ride a bike through the boonies again, though.

    • martinmegz says:

      What’s the latest with the basement neighbor who has good reason to mistakenly suspect you and Fatiman of being government spies sent to report on her actions?

      • old man fatima says:

        SHE MOVED OUT!!!! We met the new basement neighbour today as she was moving in. She seems really nice and we chatted and she loves Chompers. We even helped her carry things. A much better start to a neighbour relationship! Still, do you think we’re the reason other neighbour moved out??? Probably, right???

Comments are closed.